KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Supplemental Health Care

Engaged Employer

Supplemental Health Care

Add a Review

Supplemental Health Care Employee Reviews about "ceo"

Updated Sep 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 587 reviews

4.4
89%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Supplemental Health Care CEO and Chairman of the Board Greg Palmer
Greg Palmer
61 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "pay is good and competitive(in 39 reviews)
  • "benefits are good(in 28 reviews)
  • "Great Culture and Team Environment(in 17 reviews)
  • "They held a great training so I felt more than comfortable with the position.(in 15 reviews)
  • "Great people(in 15 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Supplemental Health Care and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "ceo"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A Loyal Company

    Aug 28, 2013 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Market manager in local office is amazing, very supportive and absolutely no internal drama/gossip -Upper management (RVPs, CEO, COO, etc.) travel a lot and make an effort to know everyone -Most people in company are accessible, supportive. If you need something, you can generally ask for it and someone will try and make it happen for you. -SHC genuinely cares for their employees, which is VERY hard to find these days

    Cons

    -The training program/modules are appalling -Strong incentives, with mostly unrealistic expectations -A lot of external hiring done for positions that could easily be filled internally

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    This company is like family all the way up to the CEO

    Mar 13, 2011 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can get recognized and promoted here if you do a good job. It was not always that way till the new CEO was picked. She worked her way up and understands the company and cares about her emplolyees. The benefits are terrific and doing the right thing is considered good here.

    Cons

    It is a lot of work and to do really well you need to work extra hours. However it is worth it in the end. Salaries are not the highest either.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Incompetent leadership and poor working conditions

    Jan 25, 2011 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about this company are the benefits. Good health care plan and affordable. Co workers are supportive and good at their jobs. The work we do makes a difference in patient care for facilities that really need our assistance with nurses and therapists.

    Cons

    As stated by another poster, this company is on a swift, downward path. Since April, the new senior management team has failed to create a cohesive vision, a strategic road map or any semblence of a plan for this company. The total lack of leadership from the RVP up to the CEO is astounding and equally sad. Under the former CEO, goals were clear and the division offices were allowed to do the jobs we were hired to do, with continued and sustained success for 6 years. The recession is only partly to blame for the downward spiral we are in now. Under the new CEO and her team of cronies and yes (wo)men, overall morale and productivity has taken a nosedive. I don't know anyone who isn't secretly shopping for other options, myself included. There is mistrust throughout the organization, with managers demeaning the RVP's, RVP's demeaning the president and everyone lamenting about the terrible leadership (or lack thereof) from the CEO. Division offices are stressed out and micromanaged to the point of immobility. Innovation and creativity are on hold and actively discouraged. The prevailing management tool is to beat up on the division offices and harass them with 'coaching plans' that serve no purpose other than to shift blame away from the people at the top. Here is a hint: Beat people enough and they will ONLY do exactly what is asked of them until they can get out. The declining numbers and high turnover bear this out. The best hope for this company is that someone on the board wakes up and realizes that their investment and our employment is being mishandled by an incompetent and amoral group of buddies. 'Let's do it team!' is not a plan or a battle cry, it's the last resort of a leader without much else to say.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    BEST company ever!

    Aug 2, 2016 - Senior Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture and room for advancement, Supplemental Health Care cares about their employees and their nurses!

    Cons

    The CEO just retired and he was so loved... we are hoping that our new CEO will be as good!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company!

    May 21, 2017 - Director of Operations in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I would say there are 5 reasons why I love working at Supplemental. #) Amazing co-workers #2) I feel like my job makes a positive impact #3) No two days are the same #4) My boss is always challenging me #5) At least once a day someone is being recognized for a job well done. Also, our new CEO Lesa Francis is amazing!

    Cons

    I think we are a little too compassionate with some of our lower performing employees.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Used to be a great company to work for, now it's going downhill quickly.

    Jul 8, 2010 - Market Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The salaries tend to be competitive for internal employees such as recruiters and staffing managers. Benefits are ok, somewhat costly to the employee but there a few good options. 401k with partial matching is good.

    Cons

    Company was on the right path under the former CEO. He created a great culture, had fair ways to earn raises and get promoted through proven performance and certification, invested a lot in training and development of the recruiters and managers and made sure everyone had a voice. Under the new CEO, it appears that much of this going away. It's become challenging to respect upper management's decisions and direction when many of the respectable processes and procedures have gone away. It has turned into a situation where it's all about who you know and you 'likes' you rather than what you have accomplished. It's pretty clear when the lowest performing RVP gets promoted into the Senior VP role and the CEO is only appointed as the CEO because she is/was related to a board member. The CEO is not professional nor ethical enough to run one office let alone a $220 million dollar company. It's becoming more difficlut to stay focused at work each day when you cannot trust or respect upper management. I wouldn't recommend anyone coming on board at all. They've already lost several managers that were well respected and I think more are planning their exit strategies.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to work.

    Sep 14, 2017 - Bid Sourcer in Sandy Springs, Optional[GA]
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers and quality managers. Awesome, inclusive environment. Diverse corporate culture. Amazing benefits. Abundant incentives. Awesome perks. So many options for upward mobility. Great work/life balance. I've never felt more valued as an employee. My feedback is taken seriously, my managers stay open to new strategies and value any input I have. I've been with the company for six months and I have yet to have a bad day. It's great to see a company live up to their corporate outlook (I.C.A.R.E.). It feels like a family here-- the CFO, CEO, and C-Level Directors are constantly involved in our day to day activities and always include us on changes and new approaches. Wonderful company to work for, great people, great outlook, great work ethic, and great future. I'm proud to be a part of Supplemental Health Care!

    Cons

    Couldn't name one if I tried!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Accountability and Experience Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience at Supplemental Health Care. It is great to hear that you are proud to be a part of our team. We’re happy to have you! Thanks again.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    What Happened to Your Values?

    Sep 16, 2020 - Staffing Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Heath care benefits and salary

    Cons

    Company culture changed over time and not for the better. When the pandemic came, leadership assured employees that their jobs were safe. This was communicated to employees by the Chairman of the Board through his monthly chairman chats via Zoom. The 401k match and other benefits were stopped for cost-cutting measures due to the pandemic, and our metrics were increased. This was understandable because of what was happening. Out of the blue, 20% of the company was laid off in July, and then within weeks, they started hiring again. What the heck!? What happened to your core values of integrity and respect? Your slogan of Worry Less, Care More, should be Care Less and Worry More to all employees at this point. Btw - Lesa Francis is no longer the CEO.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Supplemental Health Care Response

    Thank you for sharing your review. If you would like to email us at feedback@shccares.com with any additional feedback we would appreciate that as well.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Workers are rewarded

    Apr 21, 2016 - Recruiting Manager in Carolinas
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good bonuses and decent salary structure. Coworkers are nice, and the office has a good feel to it.

    Cons

    A lot of superfluous training, very demanding and aggressive fiscal goals, and not enough in the way of establishing corporate culture in a positive way. Also, lots of turnover on all levels. CEO and Senior staff all resigned recently

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Use to be a great place.... USE TO BE

    May 14, 2016 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros