KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Supplemental Health Care

Is this your company?

Supplemental Health Care

Add a Review

Supplemental Health Care Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 of over 480 reviews

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Supplemental Health Care CEO and Chairman of the Board Greg Palmer
Greg Palmer
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall a great company to work for(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great people people to work with and a culture that supports family/work/life balance and the pursuit of excellence(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Most of the upper management didn’t care enough about the large amounts of technical debt(in 18 reviews)

  • "Work life balance could be better :)(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Supplemental Health Care and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!!

      Oct 27, 2020 - Strategic Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, many resources available to make you succeed, upper management is great to work with.

      Cons

      Can not think of any

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Subpar Company

      Feb 14, 2019 - Staffing Manager in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Uncapped commission and office culture. Coworkers are really what makes this place tolerable.

      Cons

      Leadership is terrible. They do not care about employee engagement. When leadership comes to your office for meetings and not once speak with the employees, tells you a lot. They are non-existent when it comes to employee care. They are not honest, do not disclose important information, and many other things. Health benefits are great but their PTO, holiday schedule and WLB is not worth it. Anything that'll stop them from paying their employees they will do. Utilizing your personal car, cell phone, etc with no reimbursement UNLESS you ask is not ethical. Managers have to "sneak" to let you work from home. People have been there for YEARS, never get raises, no room for growth and skill enhancement. There is NO formal training, you have to learn everything on your own, it doesn't help that you can't even reach out to upper management because they don't know how to do the job either. Base salary is terrible, they don't want to pay their employees decent wages. Will try to cut cost and corners however they can. Also, not honest with their contracted staff, they are breaking a lot of employee laws.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      Thank you for your feedback. We take all reviews seriously and would like the opportunity to more closely examine the experience you had while working with SHC. If you would be willing to send us specific examples of what you felt were dishonest or unethical behaviors to feedback@supplementalhealthcare.com we would greatly appreciate that. It is important to us that all of our employees are heard, supported, and receive the appropriate training. We pride ourselves on putting people first in everything we do and do not tolerate unethical or unlawful behavior. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Okay Company Overall, Salary Was Too Low

      Oct 18, 2019 - Software Engineer in Park City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Super flexible hours, my direct manager was fantastic. Opportunity to learn new technologies, opportunity to own your own projects. Awesome coworkers.

      Cons

      All of the engineers aren’t paid enough for the amount of work they put in. The company culture is a bit outdated. Most of the upper management didn’t care enough about the large amounts of technical debt.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      We appreciate your honest feedback and will make sure to get this information to the appropriate people within SHC. It is feedback like yours that provides us with the information we need to continue to improve.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      The Worst Place To Work

      Nov 5, 2018 - Staffing Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a paycheck.. a paycheck you could earn elsewhere but it’s a paycheck.

      Cons

      I don’t even know where to start! 1. The true Supplemental way- if someone complains about something, ask them to ignore it. If it’s broken, let it be. Don’t fix it. 2. If your employees are asking for a raise or even new desks around the office, ignore them until they stop asking!! 3. Very very high turnover, not surprising because management doesn’t care about employees 4. Only 6 holidays off so of course it’s quite motivating for employees to be at work the day after thanksgiving or even on Christmas Eve! 5. No holiday parties, no fun bonding activities, no team events, nothing. 6. If you bring in money for the company, you’re invincible. You could kill someone and get away with it. 7. No career growth 8. If you want a raise or a promotion, you must put together a 10 page essay describing why you deserve it and then follow up with management for weeks, just for them to come back and say “it’s the end of the quarter and we can’t approve it” 9. Just a general lack of care by upper management. They’ve put some real nut jobs in higher up positions and the idiocy trickles down. 10. They would rather spend money constantly training new people than trying to retain current employees

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      Thank you for your review. It is important to us that all of our employees feel supported and appreciated throughout their career with SHC. We take all of our reviews seriously and would like some additional detail on the specific issues you have mentioned here, if you are willing please email us at feedback@supplementalhealthcare.com. Thank you again for providing the information we need in order to continue to improve our business.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Sr. Market Manager

      Nov 6, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company has a great culture, great upper management and executive leadership that look out for the whole company not just specific divisions.

      Cons

      Need more career paths for Management that are in leadership roles.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate any advice our employees are willing to give to help us continue to improve. If you would like to email us more detail about the lack of growth opportunities for management you can do so at feedback@supplementalhealthcare.com. Thanks again for the kind words, we are happy to have you as part of the SHC family!

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Fortune 500 company with a down-to-earth, small business atmosphere

      Feb 17, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management and employees made working there very enjoyable. Everyone is very helpful, and will do whatever they can to help you succeed. The President & CEO is normally one of the first people in the company to congratulate employees on new accomplishments; whether you are a tenured, salaried manager, or an hourly new-grad. There aren't enough companies out there that are ran with the integrity, morals, and ethics that this company exercises. Health insurance benefits and paid-time off are excellent with this company also.

      Cons

      This is a medical staffing company, so maintaining a consistently high revenue in billable hours of external employees is integral to future advancement and growth within the company. If you are competitive and have a nac for sales, this is a great place to work. If you don't enjoy sales, this company may not be the best fit for you, as most positions are performance and result-driven.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Senior Staffing Manajger

      Sep 14, 2018 - Senior Staffing Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I learned a great deal about Nurse and Therapy recruitment.

      Cons

      No Diversity in Management. Upper Management does live the CORE Values they stress. There was no room for growth.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Supplemental Health Care Response

      Thank you for your review. We take all of our reviews seriously and would like to be able to look into this further. If you would be willing to send us additional details about the challenges you experienced while working for Supplemental Health Care to feedback@supplementalhealthcare.com we would greatly appreciate that. Our ICARE core values are essential to ensuring that we are able to provide quality staffing relationships internally, with our clinicians, and our client locations. We appreciate the feedback you provide to help us improve.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Loyal Company

      Aug 28, 2013 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Market manager in local office is amazing, very supportive and absolutely no internal drama/gossip -Upper management (RVPs, CEO, COO, etc.) travel a lot and make an effort to know everyone -Most people in company are accessible, supportive. If you need something, you can generally ask for it and someone will try and make it happen for you. -SHC genuinely cares for their employees, which is VERY hard to find these days

      Cons

      -The training program/modules are appalling -Strong incentives, with mostly unrealistic expectations -A lot of external hiring done for positions that could easily be filled internally

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Revolving Door

      Apr 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Internal office staff was always a great group of folks. They valued family/personal time, which was refreshing. Corporate HR, including payroll was always exceptionally helpful and should be valued.

      Cons

      Things were constantly changing. People came and went, and it was not always due to a poor hire. Some upper management was down right patronizing and highly unprofessional. It seemed that these were the "leaders" that continued to get promoted. Just because you can drive revenue doesn't give you a free pass to disparage others- especially publicly.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great team support

      Nov 12, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Upper management cares and supports the field office, company is dedicated to providing quality health care providers, Company invests in training and compliance

      Cons

      Health Care is a tough business to be in right now with the ACA beginning in a few weeks. It's very competitive and not for the faint of heart.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 25 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Supplemental Health Care Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Supplemental Health Care? Share Your Experiences

    or