Support.com Remote Services Technician Reviews | Glassdoor

Support.com Remote Services Technician Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Support.com CEO Richard Bloom
Richard Bloom
29 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Decent entry level job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Support.com full-time

    Pros

    Work from home. Entry level. Everyone is nice and willing to help.

    Cons

    Buying equipment if you don’t have it. Starting pay is kinda low.

    Support.com2019-06-10

    Support.com Response

    June 24, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your support and wish you well in your new endeavors.

  2. "Great Start, no reason to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Consistent schedule and Work from Home, Great place to learn the ropes for starting out Work from home and account management tools.

    Cons

    no third shift anymore. job is no longer specialized but now generalized to eliminate the tier system. new techs get a watered down wage. old techs are phased out for lowest pay potential.

    Advice to Management

    No Comment.

    Support.com2019-09-09
  3. "Good starting WFH job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician 

    I have been working at Support.com full-time

    Pros

    Consistent schedule, don't fight for hours; healthcare, PTO

    Cons

    management, pay could be higher

    Support.com2019-08-24

    Support.com Response

    September 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your comments, we wish you well in your new endeavors!

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Many Improvements Could Be Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Services Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *You could work from home *Everything was pretty relaxed as long as you did your job *Your breaks and lunches were set in the schedule so you could work independently through the day without somebody reaching out to you.

    Cons

    *You're shamed if you have to call out when sick. No sympathy at all. Just shame. *You're shamed if you have to go to the bathroom outside your breaks/lunches (I have kidney problems not something I can control) *It's extremely hard to get in touch with a supervisor when you need help *The only time supervisors chime in is to make everybody feel like they are doing a horrible job.

    Advice to Management

    *Communicate better with the employees and answer questions *Stop shaming people for things they can't control. *If somebody hasn't been given a warning about their metrics, talk to them first before firing them.

    Support.com2019-07-19

    Support.com Response

    July 22, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As an organization, it is important that our employees come to work as scheduled. We supply our employees with 5 PTO days and 7 Floating Holidays to cover missed time. It is important that employees use their time allotted and avoid missing additional ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Don't work there,warning you find something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no good reasons, it is terrible .Hurry up and find something else.

    Cons

    They don't pay you enough.

    Advice to Management

    They are terrible

    Support.com2019-06-21

    Support.com Response

    July 1, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    While we do appreciate your feedback, you have provided little for us to comment on. We wish you well in your new endeavors

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Do your Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Remote Services Technician in Kansas City, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Support.com part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hired on very quickly and training is very detailed.

    Cons

    Did not mention that a majority of the position is sales and not tech support

    Support.com2019-05-16

    Support.com Response

    May 20, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. All our job descriptions for the work from home contact center role state that there are upsell requirements. During our interview process we discuss this in depth, as well as in all our offer paperwork. I am sorry you did not feel this was as clear ...

    Show More
  7. "Good Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician- Comcast in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is good Schedules are nice

    Cons

    Pay is a little low

    Advice to Management

    keep up the work

    Support.com2019-04-12

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your thoughts.

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Only Make this Place a Stop & Go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Earn a paycheck, Equipment reimbursement bonus every paycheck, Work-From-Home based position

    Cons

    Training is unsatisfactory (there was not enough things covered about some areas like ACSR even-though the RST's hardly ever used it) Hidden surprises (Ok, this is why I'm wanting to leave...when SDC hired me, you promised me that I would work strictly as an CST in supporting security systems from the day I was hired; but, your company pushed the RST job on me because you made me buy the fact there was no... available training slots for a CST which I was fine with since I was looking for gaining first-hand tech support experience anyways. You also promised me that I would be hired and trained to troubleshoot network issues with no sales involved. Guess what...you had a couple of your main NED Tier-Tier 1 managers come into our training in our final week of nesting to tell not only me; but, 20 other people with me that you're demoting us to Tier 1 from Tier 2 WG all because you want to combine my department to reduce the call transfer metric numbers and because you want to push sales to customer's who are calling in already having issues with their existing service that they threw $100 to $200 for.) Pay rate is too low to the point that the annual salary would be below my state's poverty line salary (While I took this job to gain entry level support experience so I can move up the ladder in my technical career, the pay rate here is a slap in the face for the work I've done...I was paid $9/hour during training and paid on a bi-weekly basis which comes out to around $660 for 2 weeks of work or around $1320 a month for Tier 2 work...this is an outrage, Tier 2 should pay on average around $15-$20/hour while Tier 1 should be $12-$15/hour

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep Tier 1 and Tier 2 different as far as troubleshooting (don't combine the two departments, there is a reason behind the meaning of Tier 1 and Tier 2 differentiation), Get rid of the sales requirement for the technical support representatives - sales is for the sales department with Comcast (technical support technicians are hired to fix problems, not to become salesman), and quit lying/keeping information from... new hires because they will find out the truth eventually (that is probably why your turnover rate is high because your company doesn't care to tell 100% of what each job is all about).

    Show More
    Support.com2019-04-16

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the experience has not been what you were expecting. All new hires are informed (and it is stated in our handbook) that job expectations and assignments may change due to business needs/changes. We do not hide this from our employees, and ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "If you are desperate for a temporary job then this will do."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training. I basically used the 4 weeks of paid training to earn money while I found a real job. Their pay is a joke and a slap in the face to their employees.

    Cons

    Pay is too low. No raises. Outsources jobs to India that could be done in America. Trainers read from a script and when it comes to being tech savvy are wildly underwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Go to college and get a real job.

    Support.com2019-03-29

    Support.com Response

    April 2, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your comments, but they are not accurate. We do not outsource any of our work, as it is all US based. All trainers are technically savvy and trained to present material in an engaging manner.

  10. Helpful (11)

    "The Stress Breaks You Down Over Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Work from home. This the main reason to take this job. (Don't treat it as a job you can multitask with or expect decent breaks, so not the best for new parents.) *Good, helpful coworkers who will keep you sane and make the worst moments better. (Not to be confused with managers, who are hit or miss.) *When you can work late-shift and keep it, the job isn't back to back. There was a time I was actually... starting like the job. *For several months, there was no mandatory overtime and plenty of opportunities to take off. *Sometimes you'll get a nice call from an elderly person and you can walk them through the whole system while they are very nice to you. (Technically this hurts your stats though.) *They are so understaffed that you can get away with being imperfect or going "off script" so as long you don't do something incredibly stupid like mismanage private information or act rude toward a customer. *Decent benefits.

    Show More

    Cons

    *You actually work for Comcast (one of the worst companies in the country) and assist with their Xfinity Home security product which can be flaky garbage (meaning false alarms with charges from the local police or missing camera footage when customer desperately needs it - both happened many times), as your customers will tell you again and again in a very angry tone and maybe even blame you for it. Perhaps this can... be pinned on the job itself or Comcast, but expect a great deal of emotional labor. Sometimes you'll want to say out of pity "Yeah, just cancel this crap - oh wait, you signed a contract, so I guess you are stuck". Comcast is simply evil and if you for a moment start to believe in the product, a call will come along to remind you it's mediocre at best and sold in a scummy way. *The Comcast phone system is a nightmare for their customers and often you will be where the customer ends up after long wait times, a bunch of pointless automation transfers, and misdirects. Sometimes these customers will not have Xfinity Home at all or will have been dealing with an emergency situation during all that time trying to reach us (they can't call the department directly). Why they can't just call XH directly I don't understand (and many, many people who call in will also ask this question). See above point. *12/hour at best for work that is probably worth more and is often more complex than Tier 1 Help Desk implies. *Because of really dumb policies, you are often stuck between sacrificing your stats and assist with things you are not technically not suppose to do VS not actually helping the customer and pushing their problems down the line or onto a 30 minute wait time to another department. I usually choose the former and still had decent enough stats. *Training did not prepare me AT ALL for the job. Going through powerpoints about Comcast policy and stuff, much of which is more about TV or Internet. Not to say it is useless information, but it's trivia at best compared to what the job is really about. Their strategy seems to be throw you into the deep-end with back to back calls. First few days was an absolute nightmare and you'll feel like they've gone crazy for letting the customers put up with you. *Tools can mess up pretty bad and seem to just get worse over time (they restrict access to basic features which were available a mere year ago). Depending on how they mess up, the answer can be something like "wing it". I've had some serious trouble here with tools taking minutes to load and transfers simply not working at all, and I think I had it lucky compared to some folks. This and the above point go back to the idea that will have to deal with a lot of anxiety. There are times where I became almost light-headed from stress and I'm not the kind of guy who ever really got that way with anything. Impossible, nightmarish situations that make you cringe just thinking about them even after you quit. *And here is why I quit, the final straw: Expect your shift to change on you, again and again. You want to work night shift? If that was your goal from the very start? Well, one day, they will force everyone to bid on new shifts and there will be NO night shifts at all, just evening to midnight and early morning to afternoon. These will may be 12 hour shifts instead of 8, even though the latter is what works for you. On top of this, I could expect anywhere from 3 to 4 hours of mandatory overtime and I fear that number just kept growing and growing. You'll also get a new manager. Who may also be useless for anything except for whining, showing up in chat only to chastise people and then go quiet for several hours. Was losing my shift which I had worked so hard for (getting top tier stats), in the middle of a process that meant changing my shifts radically over four times in six months, with three different managers/sets of coworkers. *Turnover rate, as you might imagine, is very high. You'll see many of your friends (who are often more helpful than managers and really keep you sane at the worst moments) disappear and the work load increases. More mandatory over time. When I first started there was a huge hiring spree and they promised to do away with the worst aspect of the job. People would say "you think that's bad, at least they don't do this or that anymore". But slowly it all came back due to there not being enough people. When I left the morale was BAD. It got to the point where even the main chat was getting close to outright trashing the company. *No raises and promotions are quite rare. I wasn't aware of any change in position during my time there. This reinforces the turnover rate. *To get to managers, they are either overworked or simply lazy jerks. I've had great, friendly managers who were always there and I've had managers who were both stuck up and completely useless and absent. In many cases I've been stuck with a customer who was 100% determined for a manager, only to be completely ignored by my own or other managers. Not a good feeling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is hard to answer because I'm guessing most of the problems with this job comes from either Comcast or the friction between Comcast and Support.com. Their partnership with Comcast is probably what keeps them alive and Comcast has most of the power in that relationship. As the job got worse, it seems like Comcast's demands are the reason why. Comcast really doesn't seem to care about their customers or know how... to make a good product. One thing I will put on Support.com is the poor or at least inconsistent management, for reasons explained above. Also there is a tone some of the company messaging could be like, "Come on guys, you got to work harder for the company!" The crap your employees are going through for low pay with no raises, do you really think this is what people want to hear?

    Show More
    Support.com2019-04-04

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we support many clients. All employees work for and are supported by Support.com. All schedules are based upon performance and maintain performance. We also have a shift auction process that allows for employees to select the shift ...

    Show More
Found 143 reviews