Support.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Support.com Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 973 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Support.com CEO Richard Bloom
Richard Bloom
176 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Services Technician in Gary, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work from home, good hours sometimes.

    Cons

    the attendance policy is crazy and bosses don't always do their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    stop being so harsh

    Support.com2019-04-02

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. Our attendance policy is actually very fluid once you graduate training and nesting. We do hold employees accountable to coming to work, but our policy is one of the most fluid in our industry. We wish you well in your new endeavors.

  2. Helpful (11)

    "The Stress Breaks You Down Over Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *Work from home. This the main reason to take this job. (Don't treat it as a job you can multitask with or expect decent breaks, so not the best for new parents.) *Good, helpful coworkers who will keep you sane and make the worst moments better. (Not to be confused with managers, who are hit or miss.) *When you can work late-shift and keep it, the job isn't back to back. There was a time I was actually... starting like the job. *For several months, there was no mandatory overtime and plenty of opportunities to take off. *Sometimes you'll get a nice call from an elderly person and you can walk them through the whole system while they are very nice to you. (Technically this hurts your stats though.) *They are so understaffed that you can get away with being imperfect or going "off script" so as long you don't do something incredibly stupid like mismanage private information or act rude toward a customer. *Decent benefits.

    Show More

    Cons

    *You actually work for Comcast (one of the worst companies in the country) and assist with their Xfinity Home security product which can be flaky garbage (meaning false alarms with charges from the local police or missing camera footage when customer desperately needs it - both happened many times), as your customers will tell you again and again in a very angry tone and maybe even blame you for it. Perhaps this can... be pinned on the job itself or Comcast, but expect a great deal of emotional labor. Sometimes you'll want to say out of pity "Yeah, just cancel this crap - oh wait, you signed a contract, so I guess you are stuck". Comcast is simply evil and if you for a moment start to believe in the product, a call will come along to remind you it's mediocre at best and sold in a scummy way. *The Comcast phone system is a nightmare for their customers and often you will be where the customer ends up after long wait times, a bunch of pointless automation transfers, and misdirects. Sometimes these customers will not have Xfinity Home at all or will have been dealing with an emergency situation during all that time trying to reach us (they can't call the department directly). Why they can't just call XH directly I don't understand (and many, many people who call in will also ask this question). See above point. *12/hour at best for work that is probably worth more and is often more complex than Tier 1 Help Desk implies. *Because of really dumb policies, you are often stuck between sacrificing your stats and assist with things you are not technically not suppose to do VS not actually helping the customer and pushing their problems down the line or onto a 30 minute wait time to another department. I usually choose the former and still had decent enough stats. *Training did not prepare me AT ALL for the job. Going through powerpoints about Comcast policy and stuff, much of which is more about TV or Internet. Not to say it is useless information, but it's trivia at best compared to what the job is really about. Their strategy seems to be throw you into the deep-end with back to back calls. First few days was an absolute nightmare and you'll feel like they've gone crazy for letting the customers put up with you. *Tools can mess up pretty bad and seem to just get worse over time (they restrict access to basic features which were available a mere year ago). Depending on how they mess up, the answer can be something like "wing it". I've had some serious trouble here with tools taking minutes to load and transfers simply not working at all, and I think I had it lucky compared to some folks. This and the above point go back to the idea that will have to deal with a lot of anxiety. There are times where I became almost light-headed from stress and I'm not the kind of guy who ever really got that way with anything. Impossible, nightmarish situations that make you cringe just thinking about them even after you quit. *And here is why I quit, the final straw: Expect your shift to change on you, again and again. You want to work night shift? If that was your goal from the very start? Well, one day, they will force everyone to bid on new shifts and there will be NO night shifts at all, just evening to midnight and early morning to afternoon. These will may be 12 hour shifts instead of 8, even though the latter is what works for you. On top of this, I could expect anywhere from 3 to 4 hours of mandatory overtime and I fear that number just kept growing and growing. You'll also get a new manager. Who may also be useless for anything except for whining, showing up in chat only to chastise people and then go quiet for several hours. Was losing my shift which I had worked so hard for (getting top tier stats), in the middle of a process that meant changing my shifts radically over four times in six months, with three different managers/sets of coworkers. *Turnover rate, as you might imagine, is very high. You'll see many of your friends (who are often more helpful than managers and really keep you sane at the worst moments) disappear and the work load increases. More mandatory over time. When I first started there was a huge hiring spree and they promised to do away with the worst aspect of the job. People would say "you think that's bad, at least they don't do this or that anymore". But slowly it all came back due to there not being enough people. When I left the morale was BAD. It got to the point where even the main chat was getting close to outright trashing the company. *No raises and promotions are quite rare. I wasn't aware of any change in position during my time there. This reinforces the turnover rate. *To get to managers, they are either overworked or simply lazy jerks. I've had great, friendly managers who were always there and I've had managers who were both stuck up and completely useless and absent. In many cases I've been stuck with a customer who was 100% determined for a manager, only to be completely ignored by my own or other managers. Not a good feeling.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is hard to answer because I'm guessing most of the problems with this job comes from either Comcast or the friction between Comcast and Support.com. Their partnership with Comcast is probably what keeps them alive and Comcast has most of the power in that relationship. As the job got worse, it seems like Comcast's demands are the reason why. Comcast really doesn't seem to care about their customers or know how... to make a good product. One thing I will put on Support.com is the poor or at least inconsistent management, for reasons explained above. Also there is a tone some of the company messaging could be like, "Come on guys, you got to work harder for the company!" The crap your employees are going through for low pay with no raises, do you really think this is what people want to hear?

    Show More
    Support.com2019-04-04

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As an organization, we support many clients. All employees work for and are supported by Support.com. All schedules are based upon performance and maintain performance. We also have a shift auction process that allows for employees to select the shift ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RST 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most of the supervisors are great. I have a wonderful time interacting with my customers as I work on solving the issue they called in for.

    Cons

    Sometimes the tools do go down but not to often. P4P is ok but SDC does need to consider pay raises would be more beneficial with cost of living.

    Advice to Management

    Reading all these other reviews are bogus. I have been here for almost 4 years and feel SDC is a great place to work for. As with any company they have rules and as long as you follow them you have nothing to worry about. SDC you keep doing what you are doing and don’t worry about the haters. However, please do consider offering raises, new hires make the same amount I make and I have been here for almost 4 years... :( and if I am happy where I am I should not have to advance to get a raise.

    Show More
    Support.com2019-03-21

    Support.com Response

    April 2, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback and your honest comments. We have increased our pay for performance program so that all employees have an opportunity. We are also looking for opportunities to improve our compensation structures. We appreciate all of our employees and want to thank ...

    Show More
  4. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Move up if you're smart

    Cons

    Work with literal cavemen Easy, but expected to sell

    Support.com2019-03-25

    Support.com Response

    April 2, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    While we appreciate comments, insults are not necessary. We are proud of our employees and all of their efforts. We do not hide the fact we expect upselling. It is part of the interview and job description.

  5. Helpful (9)

    "Terrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trainer, Remote Support Technician, and PTE 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working from home is the only "pro"

    Cons

    Too many to list. Managers have no oversight in their departments, especially the training department. I worked as a trainer for years and not a single time did a manager come in to watch me and see how I performed. I was then moved off the training team and put into the lowest position possible despite being ranked #1 through #3 consistently out of 1500+ people as an actual tech (not a wireless tech). Pay is... garbage. They save so much by not having to pay for a building, furniture, electricity, computers, etc. and all of the money saved goes right to the top. P4P is a joke. Very demanding hours and very strict with attendance. During training I had a woman whose father passed away suddenly and I was told to fire her because she missed her first day. They are cutthroat and don't care about people at all. Stock program is a joke. I worked there for 6 years and accumulated approx. $20 worth of stock. Never a single pay increase outside of being promoted, and even then it was less than 10%. They moved trainers from salary to hourly employees when the salary limits were decreased on who they are forced to give overtime to and due to the change we lost our paid time off and were told we were getting the exact same as if we were salary, when we weren't. Blatant lies. They have no control over their employees due to no oversight. There are only a couple supervisors who would respond to questions or requests despite having 10+ available at all times. They have been sued multiple times and lost millions several times due to scams they were apart of. Look it up yourself, they were in cohorts with Office Depot. They might as well be scamming their employees with the low wages along with their customers. Whoever said the negative reviews are wrong is lying. An earlier response Support.Com said they do not outsource, but they do. That's where most of the PTE work went, I know because I trained them. The company they partnered with was iOpex. They even sent another trainer to the Philippines because they were having trouble controlling their outsourced help. The managers do not listen to their front line employees nor the supervisors. They are heartless. Bar none the worst company I ever worked for, I should never have poured 6 years of my life in to this company. The only good thing to come of it was me using it as a stepping stone into a much better tech company that actually pays their employees a living wage. The management of the training department should be fired. They have no idea what is going on in their own department, again, no oversight whatsoever. Management is out of touch with the front lines and the needs of the business. It's no wonder their stocks have only gone down year after year.

    Show More
    Support.com2019-04-20

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. Being a virtual environment provides us an opportunity to review all trainer classes whether real-time or recorded sessions. All trainers are observed on a regular and consistent basis. Our attendance policy in training is very strict, but we have a ...

    Show More
  6. "Remote From Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Support Tech RST in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home, with benefits. Great training.

    Cons

    Terrible management. No raises, ever.

    Advice to Management

    Work together, learn how to communicate with your employees in a way that makes them feel more human.

    Support.com2019-03-19

    Support.com Response

    April 2, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry this position did not work out for you. We wish you the best in your new endeavors.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place for growth if you can keep up with everything."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Support Tech RST in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and remote work. People complain about the so much with this company and I can understand why. However, saying they lie or not transparent is completely false. If you look in the Spirit page all the information is right there including what you agreed to when you accepted you position in the company. Everything from how coachings are conducted to NPS spreadsheets and meeting notes from the companies IT... department. Recently we experienced a tool outage. The meeting notes addressed this and they are currently looking for solutions to not only prevent this from occurring again but looking at ways of identifying them before they happen. If you wanna stay up-to-date in this company you NEED to be an independent worker and look for the information on your own.

    Show More

    Cons

    Limited pay. In order to move up you have to have at least 6 months of employment. This is the standard for most companies tho.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to those supervisors who are too lax in their roles. It can create a feeling of uncertainty in agents when coaching. Would love to see roles open up in HR and hiring.

    Support.com2019-03-14

    Support.com Response

    March 19, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and insight. We appreciate that you recognize we are very transparent with our employees, and we are looking for those self-managing work-from-home employees who appreciate transparency from an employer. We do value our ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Technical support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech Support in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is all the pros this job has to offer! There aren’t any others!

    Cons

    The trainers are terrible, the management isn’t much better, and don’t ever let them put any kind of software on your computer, Because once they do, you can render that computer useless! The pay is $9.50 an hour which includes $.50 an hour extra for the use of your computer and Internet service. If you do last 90 days, you can get benefits, but by the time you are finished paying for those benefits, you will have... hardly any money left! Don’t fall for the $1000 bonus, because if you miss any time, you’re not gonna get it!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start paying people what they are worth, and it’s not $9.50 an hour. That is not competitive pay that’s poverty!

    Support.com2019-04-15

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. While we have tools for you to use, they do not affect the performance of your system. Our attendance bonus of $1000 dollars is straight forward. Missing time will disqualify you, as we state to all new hires. We wish you the best.

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Only If you're desperate and need a job, but it will look good on your resume."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician in Moorhead, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You work at home. There isn't anything else. Seriously. The benefits are terrible.

    Cons

    - EXTREMELY high expectations for EXTREMELY low pay - Not only will you be troubleshooting peoples internet/home security issues, you will be subjected to abusive customers. (While this is often expected in this line of business, it would be acceptable if SDC would actually PAY what their techs are WORTH.) $10.50 +.50 (non taxable reimbursement) an hr. is a slap in the face of people who are college graduates who... can't afford to feed themselves on top of monthly student debt payments of $550 dollars. - After pulling just %10 of my check for 401k I have about $650 per check. I get paid every 2 weeks. Whoopie doo! A whole $1300 a month after taxes! Boy I sure am glad I'm wasting my education with SDC! - You are a slave, they flex your schedule according to what they need (Monthly Mandatory Schedule Alignments. - Need your schedule you were originally put on? Too bad, your need elsewhere. Did I mention they pay you scraps? While Comcast charges their customers outrageous prices for their products. - Not only is the pay so low, you are completely demoralized after you receive your check. (no wonder their turn over rate is so high.) Oh, did I mention the pay? Its California law, minimum wage. $11.00 an hr - I don't understand how they can pay their technicians so little. - Their tools hardly work half the time. Their biller and their proprietary diagnostic tool are the worst. Yeah, and the pay is terrible. - Be prepared to be expected to go ABOVE and BEYOND and give each and EVERY customer the very best of customer service; adhering to strict S4X guidelines. (ALWAYS ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT YA KNOW!)They will be watching! You will be QA'd once a week and a monthly QA calibration! While SDC in return expects you to work for a pittance. Compensation for your hard work? A pay check that is just enough to keep you from drowning in a burden of financial need! Oh the joys of SDC! No wonder half of their employees are from the Philippines, they have a digital sweat shop. How nice for SDC. - The other things you heard from negative reviews are true. -SDC was sued because of a protection plan they offered was bunk. - Don't ever expect to make a savings for your retirement from this e-Sweatshop. - There is plenty more to complain about, I will save you the tl;dr story.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your techs what they are worth. Those of us who are college graduates deserve what are education is worth. If you want good technicians who will put up with abusive customers AND juggle trouble shooting ALONG with your S4X (overly critical and over the top, over demanding) customer service policies, then PAY us what we are worth. Yes, I am currently looking for a new job. I made it past your nesting. Why?... Because I'm just THAT good. Your loss, to lose someone like me. I'm one heck of technician. As well as the other 20 students you lost during your initial training period. You should of treated me and others like us better in terms of real compensation. At least then your employees would stay.

    Show More
    Support.com2019-04-12

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. Along with our hourly rate, we do have a pay-for-performance program that allows all top performing employees to earn additional monies for their performance. Our benefit offerings are some of the best in the contact center industry, depending upon the ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (4)

    "DO NOT WORK FOR THEM! UNPROFESSIONAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Support.com full-time

    Pros

    Literally nothing except maybe working from home

    Cons

    You are hired as a tech support agent and then expected to upsell and do anything but tech support! Their training program is so horrible that it won't prepare you for the real job. My trainer made my class of trainees feel like children. Such a horrible culture. Seriously read all the other negative reviews! Don't waste your time unless you need a job and there is no alternative! What's bothering me though is... some of Support.com responses to former employees reviews! They can't accept criticism and flat out tell former employees that they're lying - very professional really... Glassdoor should ban them from responding to these reviews. They have no right to defend themselves when they're making up lies just to make themselves look good. I saw one of their responses about how upselling is usually discussed during interviews and that they also do role plays during interviews... HAHA what?! I was never told I had to upsell during my interview nor did I have a role playing session with the interviewer! Advice to Support.com to seriously just stop responding to reviews. You are just making excuses and lying to people. And I wouldn't be shocked if the person responding to reviews agree with all the negative reviews but as a part of their job, they're forced to make up excuses and respond with such silly arguments that make absolutely no sense. So again do not get fooled by Support.com and do not get fooled by their comments to negative reviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. I would rather actually advise your client to ditch you for a better support company

    Support.com2019-04-08

    Support.com Response

    May 3, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As an employer and employee or former employee, it is critical that people are honest with their feedback. No feedback has been challenged as false unless it actually is. We value every bit of feedback provided, but we also defend our practices when ...

    Show More
Found 973 reviews