Support.com "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Support.com Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
31%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Support.com Interim President & CEO Richard Bloom
Richard Bloom
190 Ratings
Pros
  • "work from home means less time driving(in 621 reviews)

  • "I basically used the 4 weeks of paid training to earn money while I found a real job(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no raises or promotions offered in this role(in 112 reviews)

  • "I'm not new to work from home-I've been doing this for close to 5 years(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Love working from home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Corpus Christi, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is my first work at home position and I love it. Promotion for within as long as you are willing to go for it. Learn what you can learn as they are always willing to help you, but you have to want it There are pay for performance and if you are willing to perform you will make extra pay for that great performance. 401K, Medical, Dental, Vision. All the bells and whistles you could ask for.

    Cons

    You will always have ups and downs in any company. What matters is what do you make if it? What can you learn from these ups and downs and are you willing to stick with the company when they go through the downs. It is what you make of it!

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-05-03

    Support.com Response

    May 17, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback! We are so excited about many of the recent changes we have made to our organization. Thank you for noticing and being an active part of these changes! We continue to grow and develop as an organization and leadership team!

    Continue reading
  2. "awesome work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Support Tech in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    every one seems to genuinly enjoy their job I really enjoy my job fair hours fair pay comfortable while working from home lol great coworkers

    Cons

    Schedule changes once every 6 months or so

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-12-05

    Support.com Response

    December 11, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your suggestions and will share with our training department. We appreciate the recognition you have provided on our work-from-home environment! All feedback will help us with our commitment to continuous improvement.

    Continue reading
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote Support Tech RST in Auburndale, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work from home means less time driving

    Cons

    sales was added to my job half way though my tenure

    Support.com2020-01-16

    Support.com Response

    January 21, 2020Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your review. All of our call center positions have a sales component to them. This is indicated in all of our job postings, during our interview process and again at the time of hire. This is not new or hidden, as we need to ensure our employees are comfortable offering the latest options to our customers.

    Continue reading
  4. "It's the job you "want" to love: Updated 2020 review."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Technology Expert 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home. P4P payout system. Enjoyable (from a standpoint of doing what I like to do). There is room to do other things in areas that you excel in. If your talents get noticed, you may get pulled to do special projects from time to time (just don't expect a raise to happen).

    Cons

    My biggest gripe is that the base pay is subpar for what other like companies in my area will hire for even when working in a state aligned with the federal minimum wage. There is no cost for living raise. This would be good if it were even 10% or so a year, but it's non-existent. Even though they have a decent P4P system, it still stands that there should be a CoL raise.

    Continue reading
    Support.com2020-01-07

    Support.com Response

    January 13, 2020Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate you taking a moment to provide a review. As with all organizations, compensation reviews are critical and discussed on a regular basis. We also take into consideration working from home and the cost savings associated with this aspect of the role. While we have entry level positions, we also have positions that offer a pay rate change for qualified employees. I encourage you to continue to grow your skillset and look for promotional opportunities within the organization. Again, thank you for your continued support and the service your provide our customers!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great to work from home but no respect for off work time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Remote Services Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home brings many pros

    Cons

    Forced overtime - even on your offdays with minimal notice, metrics based job - you will land a schedule based off your performance, no promotions from within

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-12-26

    Support.com Response

    December 30, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very transparent in our scheduling process, in our job requirements, our interview process, our offer process and throughout your career with SDC. As our business can change with seasonality, we prepare our employees that we will have times of extra hours and reduced schedules. All notices are provided a minimum of two-weeks prior to the change, and employees are encouraged to sign up on their own before mandatory hours are added or reduced. We are a performance driven workforce in our call center roles, so regardless of time in service, you have the opportunity to pick your schedule based upon your performance from day one of production! We are an organization who promotes 97% from within, so promotional opportunities abound.

    Continue reading
  6. "So Far So Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Technical Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, low stress

    Cons

    Medical benefits are not competitive

    Support.com2019-12-20

    Support.com Response

    December 23, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your response. Like many employers, we are all facing the rising costs of medical care. We do have three programs for our employees to select from, each with varying coverages, co-pays and premium costs. SDC shares in the cost of the premiums with the employee. We continue to review as costs rise. Thank you for your support, and welcome to our team.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic even in training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, that's it.

    Cons

    Petty trainers, supervisors and management Metrics scores based on equation they won't release You get treated like trash from your trainer and supervisors. They legitimately don't care about employees.

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-12-26

    Support.com Response

    December 30, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    We are committed to continued improvement in all facets of our organization, and feedback is critical to making these improvements. It is difficult when comments are not factual and more emotionally based. We have an excellent work-from-home training program, one which we have been recognized for. All of our trainers, and leadership team are "master certified" in training and development, and all have attended leadership training as well. We pride ourselves in providing our employees with a great experience. All of our metrics are in view for all employees on their own personal dashboard and most recently on their individual scorecard. This allows an employee to see how they are performing against expectations. We care deeply for all employees, and I am sorry you feel otherwise.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not a good look"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Representative in Ocala, FL
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home no doubt

    Cons

    They take 30 mins off the end of your shift and give you 30 min lunch which is not much time at all, taking assessments after a module lesson and must pass with 80 % to keep your job, very frustrating to know, as if we don’t have enough to worry about, I was with the company 5 days and then terminated because I failed the 1st assessment.

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-12-07

    Support.com Response

    December 11, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As with any training environment, assessments are a necessity that cannot be overlooked. We also give our trainees multiple opportunities to pass the assessments which are module driven. Our success rate is over 98%, which implies we take tremendous efforts in hiring the right candidate for the right role. We have never taken 30 minutes from the end of a schedule for a lunch period. Our schedules are a full 8.5 hours with a 30 minute lunch and two 15 minutes paid breaks. Best of luck in your new endeavors.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Steer clear of this sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Comcast Tech Support in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work from home, but in 2019 those jobs are widely available.

    Cons

    Support.com does not have their employee's best interests at heart. They will not go to bat for you with the companies for whom they provide support. You will be paid a below industry standard and static wage that has not changed in almost a decade. You will be taking live calls on issues entirely unrelated to that which you were trained for, and they will not provide you with the necessary access or training to resolve those issues. I was hired by Support.com as a Tier 2 internet tech support agent for Comcast, but when I quit 2 weeks ago, I was also required to do Tier 1 work, phone service support, billing support, sales support, activations support all in addition to excessive out-of-scope calls dumped on us without repercussions or accountability. Comcast used us as a catchall to conceal their customer service mismanagement, and Support.com allowed it - for years. Your schedule also changes frequently, and unless you are able to keep the highest metrics (like I was), you will not be afforded the opportunity to work the same days and times for more than a few months. Also, in regard to their substandard compensation (before the PR response comes in), they do have a pay for performance system which I factored into my assessment, as I was able to achieve those bonuses nearly every month of my three-year tenure.

    Continue reading
    Support.com2019-12-07

    Support.com Response

    December 11, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    We appreciate feedback from both current and former employees, and we also understand everyone's view is individual. We do support our employees, and we expect our employees to support our organization and embrace it as their own, while providing excellent customer service regardless of the service requested. Tier support has changed over the years and customers expect a "one call resolution" to their concerns as opposed to a constant transfer. This is the mindset we follow. We provide our employees with state of the art applications to resolve all issues. We as with our clients have a unique library of solutions that when used will resolve most concerns. We are also very proud of our ability to make as few or as many scheduling changes as an individual likes, with our schedule auction process. Like any call center, we have shift alignments that align with call volume, but unlike others in our industry ours happen less often and always come with significant notice. We do allow our employees with high performance metrics to have first choices in schedules, and we offer a variety of scheduling options, from 3 days to 6 days depending on your specific need/want. We wish you well in your future endeavors, and thank you for your service.

    Continue reading
  10. "Easy at Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Remote IT Support in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Support.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Supervisors always available

    Cons

    Compensation Always push metrics Schedule tends to skew towards supervisors

    Support.com2019-10-18

    Support.com Response

    October 21, 2019Support.com Leadership Team

    Thank you for your feedback, we believe in continuous improvement, and every bit of feedback helps with this process!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 640 reviews