Susan G. Komen Reviews | Glassdoor

Susan G. Komen Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Paula Schneider
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working for a non-profit who is focused on saving lives and making a difference to those living with breast cancer is rewarding(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great Place to work, I loved being a part of a good cause(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "at the Affiliate level (varies greatly from(in 14 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is not realistic, especially if you are supervisory or above(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hello"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Susan G. Komen full-time

      Pros

      awesome work environment and great staff mini

      Cons

      none at all ya ya

      Susan G. Komen2018-10-22
    • "Organization continues to struggle"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Jack of All Trades 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Susan G. Komen full-time

      Pros

      Opportunities to do a lot of new things, regardless of experience

      Cons

      Culture, equitable compensation, poor financial managemen, lack of transparency

      Advice to Management

      Don’t spend money you don’t have

      Susan G. Komen2019-04-07
    • "Bad culture, bad management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Susan G. Komen full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Most of the people that work here are good people.

      Cons

      Management seems to lack empathy for work culture.

      Susan G. Komen2019-04-03
    • "Special Events Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Susan G. Komen

        Pros

        Great Place to work, I loved being a part of a good cause

        Cons

        it is an unpaid internship

        Susan G. Komen2018-10-05
      • "Executive Director"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Susan G. Komen full-time

        Pros

        Great mission, solid impact numbers, great research portfolio

        Cons

        Haven’t been able to adapt to change, used to have global reach,

        Advice to Management

        Learn from seasoned leaders

        Susan G. Komen2018-09-26
      • "Event Coordinator"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Susan G. Komen full-time

        Pros

        Great people to work with

        Cons

        Low pay working for this organization

        Susan G. Komen2018-09-20
      • "Komen review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Susan G. Komen full-time

        Pros

        Working on a good cause; public health approach to education/awareness is getting better and more recognition versus just handing out pink pins and sweaters

        Cons

        Affiliates are to be directed by National; no room for creative programming

        Advice to Management

        Focus on the Bold Goal and direct programming to survivors and patients; provide mammograms and navigation

        Susan G. Komen2018-09-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Moving in the right directon"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Susan G. Komen full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Corporate HQ employees qualify for flex time. You can either work 7.5 hours a day and work from home 1 day a week or work a compressed schedule and get a day off every other week. Benefits are solid. 21 days PTO to start which I feel is very generous. Overall my coworkers have a lot of heart, and I feel like the vast majority of the people who work here are here for the right reasons. It's eye opening how much Komen...

        Show More

        Cons

        I think a lot of change has happened in a very short period of time. A lot of the change was necessary in order to make us more efficient, but I feel like some of it could have been handled more delicately. Overall I think things are moving in the right direction in order to do right by the communities we serve.

        Advice to Management

        Realize that change can be a scary thing, even when it's obviously for the good of the mission.

        Susan G. Komen2018-06-18
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great Place to work and make a difference!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in Dallas, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Susan G. Komen full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Working for a non-profit who is focused on saving lives and making a difference to those living with breast cancer is rewarding. It's hard work but worth every minute! The organization is changing and evolving under Paula Schneider and starting to really move forward. The benefits and PTO is great. The pay is competitive. The biggest challenge is getting the word out on all of the great things being done on a daily...

        Show More

        Cons

        The HQ (main entity) is small ~220 employees. The good news is it allows for opportunity for learning new skills as everyone has to roll up their sleeves but there aren't a lot of layers for promotion opportunities. So, there are some internal promotion opportunities but sometimes people need to leave to open up promotion opportunity.

        Advice to Management

        Keep focused on the bold goal and mission work!

        Susan G. Komen2018-06-05
      • Helpful (3)

        "Stay away"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Susan G. Komen full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great mission, dedicated staff. Loved the interaction with the affiliates.

        Cons

        Board is living in the 1990s, pre-Planned Parenthood fiasco. Most toxic employees are often promoted, not dismissed.

        Advice to Management

        Get rid of the clueless board members and staff. Change needed.

        Susan G. Komen2018-06-25
      Found 92 reviews