Sutherland Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Sutherland Chairman and CEO Dilip R. Vellodi
Dilip R. Vellodi
2,098 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work environment helpful coworkers(in 260 reviews)

  • "work from home and offers career development(in 198 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "night shifts, other than that not much(in 125 reviews)

  • "Low pay,work pressure,very bad cab facility,no job satisfaction(in 77 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sutherland and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "low pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sales Representative

      Aug 5, 2017 - Sales Representative in Syracuse, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy to get a job. Easy drug test.

      Cons

      Bad location. Hire ex cons. Low pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      If Hell was a place on earth

      Aug 28, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The direct deposit was never late.

      Cons

      Low pay—— a literal pittance of a salary Taxing working conditions The extraneous workload didn’t even compare to the salary High turnover Inadequate training Inept managers Incredibly stressful and toxic work environment

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Good day. We appreciate this candid feedback and can assure you that we do not condone this type of behavior. In fact, we aim to put our employees first, and to provide a positive and comfortable work environment in which our employees can learn and develop professionally. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Have a great day!

    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Stepping stone not a career

      Dec 13, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Diverse teams that offer many unique perspectives - Company issued laptop for most WFH roles during COVID-19 - somewhat decent, though expensive, benefits (for just myself w/ no dependents my coverage was about $145/month)

      Cons

      - Low pay - Poor communication from management - Old, slow equipment (especially flimsy headsets) - Unreliable systems - Micromanagement (most hourly employees use a system that tracks what they do with every minute of every day) - Biometric timeclocks - Lack of trust - Unethical behavior (favoritism, inappropriate relationships, selective policy enforcement, subjective performance review and QA standards)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Good day. Your review lets us know where we do well and where we may have opportunities to improve, and we value your feedback. We have made note of your concerns and suggestions and will share with the appropriate team. Thank you for sharing. Have a great day.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Eh

      Oct 8, 2020 - XBox Support in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, helpful coworkers.

      Cons

      Holiday work, unrealistic review expectations, low pay,

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Good day. We are disappointed that you did not have a more positive experience with us. We thank you for sharing your concerns and your suggestions on where we may have opportunities to improve. We wish you all the very best!

    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not Bad

      Oct 27, 2020 - Live Chat Agent in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work at home is great

      Cons

      Low Pay..no match 401..no lunch or snacks..no company events.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on where we do well and where we can further improve as our insight can assist us in improving the employee experience. Thank you for being part of our One Sutherland team! Have a wonderful day!

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A legitimate work from home job..

      Aug 14, 2019 - Technical Support Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Work from home - Company provides the necessary IT equipment and support - Normal hourly pay - No cold calling - Willing to provide the technical training necessary for you to successfully fulfill your role.

      Cons

      - Extremely low pay - Odd schedule (even training happens from mid-afternoon into the late evening) - Poor work/life balance (despite WFH)

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello, and thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your candid review and take your concerns seriously. We are disappointed to learn of the negative aspects of your experience here at Sutherland, but we will take this opportunity to improve. Thank you again for taking the time to share this feedback. We wish you all the very best!

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worst Management Ever

      Dec 28, 2019 - Insurance Counselor in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Close to restaurants Big parking lot Clean glass windows Lake in the back The geese are friendly

      Cons

      Scheduling Leadership demeanor Terrible Human Resources Management Unfair goal expectations Shady Business Practices Low pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Sdr

      Feb 19, 2020 - SDR 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working remote from my house

      Cons

      Management, low pay, long hours, benefits

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No Thanks

      May 9, 2019 - Tech Support Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work At Home. Nothing else.

      Cons

      I started in the COX work at home program with sutherland. Hiring process was fairly easy except for some reason, sutherland requires a drug test unlike any other work from home job. So be prepared to pass that. Training was a joke, lasted about a month and was 4 hours classroom, 4 hours self paced per day. After training nobody still had any idea what we were doing. Started at $8.50 per hour in training and based on attendance you MIGHT get up to 10.50 once in production, otherwise just $10.00 per hour. This is horribly low pay compared to any other call center job. To get anything above $10.00 you must rank in top 10% of all CSAs and have lots of sales. Trainers were great, everyone was super nice. Customers were absolutely ridiculous. I have been in customer service for years and these people are a different breed. As soon as they get on the line they start screaming. If you wanna get screamed at for minimum wage, this is the job for you. COX uses a system old as dirt called ICOMS to do everything with. This is a program that was considered outdated 18 years ago so the process is similar to medical coding/billing. You have to remember a bunch of codes to enter to "build" services. All services and/or equipment have their own codes. So you have to look these up for whatever you are trying to do on the account and add them to the system. Also, the benefits you do get, don't start until roughly 2-3 months after you start working. With Sutherland/cox you have multiple logins that you have to keep track of, it is very disorganized. They do send a computer mini tower called a thin client but this is only used to access a virtual computer desktop you will actually be working with. So the experience is extremely laggy because you are essentially using a desktop on a server somewhere, not actually on the computer. The system is so locked down that you literally cant open a text file or use notepad on windows. The entire experience was horrible and just blah. You are also expected to attempt to sell at least 2 items per call. Keep in mind you are tech support, so when the customer calls they are already having problems with their services. Wy would they want to buy more that don't work? Also, you are not allowed to use the hold button at any time for ANY reason. This makes it super difficult to get your job done when you have someone screaming at you, and you are trying to research how to fix their issue with the messed up knowledgeable they use. Im so glad I found something else paying 4$ more per hour. This is a workhorse position, you may as well be in a sweatshop. The CEO and founder of Sutherland is from and started the company in India and this reflects in the way the company is run. Super low wages, ridiculous expectations. The trainer i had said only 13 out of 30 people from the previous class actually stayed to work past the first day of phone calls. That should tell you something. It isn't the people you hired, its your program.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Sutherland Response

      Sutherland Experience Team

      Hello. Thanks for your feedback. As an employee-first company, we strive to provide competitive total rewards and recognition. We take issues affecting this seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thanks for your review. We wish you the very best!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fake work environment

      Feb 22, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1 Hour long lunch and can leave, Vending machines everywhere, If you work for the right program you can work 9-5 with weekends off

      Cons

      Low pay for high stress work, Can't have cell phone on you even if it's turned off, no free cafeteria, parking is far from entrance, have to use a badge to go in and out of every single door, unprofessional disorganized management and strict rules and policy changes everyday makes it easy too get fired quick

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sutherland Job Seekers

    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative for Hughes.net
    Learn About the Job
    Consultant - Customer Service
    Learn About the Job
    W@H Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sutherland? Share Your Experiences

    or