Sutter Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Sutter Health President and CEO Sarah Krevans
Sarah Krevans
449 Ratings
Pros
  • "competitive pay & great benefits(in 118 reviews)

  • "Caring company with good benefits(in 89 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "upper management is squeezing the budget so tight it is not safe for patient care(in 47 reviews)

  • "Each unit or has their own rules, nothing is straight across the board hospital-wide, in terms of work-life balance(in 21 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sutter Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good Place to Work

      Sep 8, 2019 - RN Staff Nurse in Santa Rosa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people who worked at Sutter were like a family. They all cared for each other and looked out for each other. We worked as a super close team!

      Cons

      We ended up on strike a few times when the upper management tried to cut benefits.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      mixed feelings

      Dec 4, 2020 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      love the people i work with, my manager is amazing

      Cons

      upper management is squeezing the budget so tight it is not safe for patient care

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great People, Short-Sighted Upper Leadership, Bad Systems & Processes

      Jun 24, 2019 - Internal Consultant in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      By far some of the most wonderful people I've worked with at the middle and frontline level. Meaningful work for someone not from healthcare originally. Good pay, amazing benefits, good PTO/leave, paid conferences, tuition reimb. I get the impression that clinicians have had it better at Kaiser/UCSF/Stanford but as someone from outside the industry free insurance is a godsend.

      Cons

      Bad HR processes, tough to get promoted, especially since you have to apply internally even if you're just moving locations. Sick/PTO time is one bank. Upper management seems out of touch with what actually goes on in the workplace, too focused on results and "culture" nonsense to care, short-sighted. The healthcare industry seems like it lives in feast or famine, currently in famine so micro-layoffs of staff, which is the wrong and easy way out is a key strategy and you wonder why unions happen? Feels like pushing a glacier to change things, very conservative organization when it comes to regulations, a bit demoralizing when you see the bad processes workers have to put up with to get their job done, same with overburdened middle managers.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Upper management asks the world and makes everything impossible

      Aug 7, 2020 - Lead Network Engineer in Rancho Cordova, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved working with the team of engineers and architects

      Cons

      Upper management asks the impossible. Middle management refuses to stand up for themselves and explain why things can't be done.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      All talk, no walk

      Aug 18, 2019 - Supervisor in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good benefits - Many opportunities for internal transfer to other positions

      Cons

      - No standardized training for various positions - Upper management seems very unaware and uncaring for "on the frontlines" employees - Non-clinical management of clinical departments leads to frustration and mismanagement of clinical practice - A LOT personal dissatisfaction due to BIG EGOs and PERSONALITIES

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      company is fragmented

      Feb 11, 2020 - Registered Nurse in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      helps the local communities.

      Cons

      micromanagement upper management not trained to be managers, HR is a joke all about money - toxic place, toxic people

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Started great...went downhill

      Feb 26, 2019 - Patient Service Representative in West Valley City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They started out great, until they started expanding at a ridiculous rate.

      Cons

      I started at Sutter when it was only the Murray location and as it started to expand it went downhill. The more they grew, the less the cared for their employees. Quality went downhill when serving the patients due to their constant changes and demands. I get there are going to be changes, but when you're constantly being told to make several changes in a week and then expected to maintain your scores so you can get your bonuses, it was ridiculous. Employee morale went downhill and upper management was a joke. No connection with employees whatsoever. After 5 years with this company, I was happy to say goodbye.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      The pay could be better

      Aug 16, 2019 - Surgery Scheduler in Orinda, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potential to grow with the company,decent benefits

      Cons

      The upper management that you see once a year do not want to make any real changes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Shady

      Sep 27, 2018 - PSR in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my work environment and the other employees and clinicians. The benefits were good, but the pay was far below what others were making.

      Cons

      My experience at Sutter was all roses and great for the first 3 years that I worked there. I was praised for my work ethic and received many compliments from the staff and patients. However, as the economy decline hit the healthcare industry in 2011, I noticed things began to change. I went from being the "golden child" of my site supervisor to getting written up for things that I didn't do. I even had evidence to prove it, but they wouldn't even look at it. To make a long story short, Sutter was hiring an outside private practice physician to come on their team. Part of his agreement to come on board meant that the site supervisors had to find positions for all his staff because he didn't want to leave them with out a job. They had me train his receptionist, and then they made up something to fire me, and gave her my job. (I was notified that this was happening to me by another employee who was in the click that apparently knew I was getting fired before they actually did.) This was very unprofessional and shady on their part to gossip about employees like that. I also witnessed a nurse who worked in our department for many years and for Sutter for 27 years get fired because she was at a too high level of pay for their liking. They don't care about their employees, we are only numbers and dollar signs to the upper management. When I spoke to Human Resources to ask for help in this matter, they told me that they couldn't help because of the budget cuts they would be with out a job too. All in all if you are in the "click" as mentioned above, you would get promoted to supervisor with no high school diploma, or get promoted when you don't show up for work half of the days of the week. (I have seen it all!) As far as going to school to get advanced degrees, Sutter states that they will support that and even help pay for your classes, but if they won't let you leave 30 minutes early to get to a class, one time a week, how can you go? The bottom line was that they would't let me leave early because I was the only reliable employee they had in that office. Thank you to Glassdoor for allowing me to vent my story about Sutter Health.

      11 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible place to work

      Jun 2, 2019 - Regulatory Affairs 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good health insurance is available to employees

      Cons

      Ill-equipped, unethical managers ride off their employees' hard work. Upper management looks the other way. Stay away!

      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sutter Health Job Seekers

    Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Patient Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Sutter Health? Share Your Experiences

    or