Swank Motion Pictures Reviews | Glassdoor

Swank Motion Pictures Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Swank Motion Pictures CEO Tim Swank (no image)
Tim Swank
32 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Dress code is on the business side of business casual(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I truly enjoy the people that I work with. We work well as a team to get the best products to our customers. I get to work on interesting projects and I am always learning something new. I also appreciate that Swank makes giving back to the community a priority with the Swank Gives Back program.

    Cons

    The communication between departments could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    I love casual days, please keep giving them to us.

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-06-07
  2. "Solid place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family oriented Lots of good food Work keeps you busy Challenging

    Cons

    Language is loose Sarcastic joking can get a little out of hand

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-09-27
  3. "I think the company culture could be more relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is reasonable and the people are nice

    Cons

    Company culture seems a bit hierarchical.

    Advice to Management

    Relax

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-07-20
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great company but no advancement opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits and co-workers for the most part.

    Cons

    No work from home, No career advancement opportunities No training to move into other roles/groups Some departments are "good ole boys" and are biased gender-wise

    Advice to Management

    Train from within and promote from within. Leverage the experience and company/department knowledge of your employees to help retain talent instead of pushing them away.

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-02-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nice people; good work / life balance; family owned and operated

    Cons

    limited opportunities for advancement due to size of company

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-01-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, ok management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employee perks like lunches, benefits, volunteer time off, casual days

    Cons

    no option to work from home

    Swank Motion Pictures2019-02-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "What a joy to work for Swank!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Swank treats their employees very well! At this company, I really feel valued and recognized. Over the course of my employment, I’ve seen the company continue to grow and change for the better. They listen to their employees’ concerns and do their best to make appropriate changes. At any ideal job, you hope to come into work every day happy, challenged, and encouraged by your team and leadership. Swank checks... all of these boxes! In addition, the benefits are really great. Not only are 401K contributions matched, but they offer a health fair 2x/year, one week off between Christmas and New Years, and parties for every milestone you can think of. It's the sort of place where time flies and before you know it you've been there for years. I highly recommend working for Swank!

    Show More

    Cons

    While the hiring process can take quite some time, it means they're more likely to get the right candidates for the job. Hours are not really flexible, although they try to be as accommodating as possible throughout the work day if you have appointments, etc.

    Swank Motion Pictures2018-08-12
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Come for the opportunity, stay for the co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers that are willing to help me learn the ropes as soon as I started working here. I made an effort to join a couple of the co-rec teams and we have all had a great time. Really enjoy the work that I'm doing too which is a double added bonus.

    Cons

    It's taken me longer than I anticipated to learn the verbiage of the contracts we're writing, but that probably because of a lack of experience on my part. Again, co-workers always willing to clear things up. Also, their weird about eating at your desk

    Advice to Management

    Though I understand why I had such "hands on training" it was frustrating trying to learn the verbiage with little direction. Having a sales talk or a set of commonly used expressions and what they mean would have seriously shortened my learning curve. Other than that, I felt like I was adequately prepared to sell new clients.

    Swank Motion Pictures2018-06-01
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Thorough Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time

    Pros

    Very thorough interview process with many steps. The reason for this is that they want to make sure you have the skills and will also fit with the culture. I respect that they don't rush decisions. It is a great sized company. Small enough to be nimble while large enough to do meaningful work.

    Cons

    No cons. Wish more people knew about what a great place this is to work.

    Swank Motion Pictures2017-12-15
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Wonderful First Impression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Swank Motion Pictures full-time

    Pros

    The training process was thorough and made me feel at home right away. Work/life balance is great, never expected to work more than 40 hours. Incredible employee appreciation. Food is never hard to come by because there are so many celebrations honoring employees I feel challenged but not overwhelmed. My supervisor and team leader are very supportive and do not micro-manage.

    Cons

    Career advancement could prove difficult because it is a smaller company, making this somewhat inevitable. However, I believe that anyone that puts in their full effort has a good chance to go places with this company. It's just a matter of being patient and proving you are an asset to the company.

    Swank Motion Pictures2017-11-09
Found 48 reviews