Swedish Covenant Reviews | Glassdoor

Swedish Covenant Reviews

Updated May 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Guaccio
17 Ratings
  1. "Some of the people are wonderful, management lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swedish Covenant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some wonderful people who actually care about patients work here, you can gain a lot of clinical experience here as a social worker, the parking is affordable and accessible, the social work and case manager continuing education options are good

    Cons

    Management of the SW/CM department micromanages and uses demeaning language towards employees, they also lead by fear and often create unnecessary chaos, HR sides with management, health insurance options were poor, some of the physicians were cruel in their communications with staff

    Advice to Management

    Learn true leadership skills and encourage, empower, and support your team.

    Swedish Covenant2017-06-21
  2. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Swedish Covenant full-time

      Pros

      Very diverse, friendly, family atmosphere.

      Cons

      Small, somewhat limited opportunities for growth.

      Swedish Covenant2017-05-17
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Swedish Covenant full-time

        Pros

        Staff are friendly and supportive

        Cons

        Benefits are not as good as other places

        Swedish Covenant2017-04-30
      • "Decent small hospital but lacking organization and communication"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Social Worker 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at Swedish Covenant full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Swedish Covenant is in a nice neighborhood near decent public transit if you don't drive. If you do, there's a garage in which employees get discounted parking.

        Cons

        Poor HR department. The orientation is outdated and is sorely lacking in any type of cultural sensitivity training. My offboarding process was awful. I had to specifically request an exit interview. I was given zero information regarding my health insurance or COBRA and was not asked for a forwarding address. I worked just one day of my final pay period and even though my health insurance was terminated the next day,...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Improve both your new employee orientation and offboarding procedures. Implement cultural sensitivity training, particularly around LGBT issues.

        Swedish Covenant2017-04-28
      • Helpful (1)

        "Admin"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Swedish Covenant full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Excellent administration. One of the last privately owned hospitals in Chicago. Admin has Ability to make decisions rapidly because of that

        Cons

        Fluctuations were present with physicians. However, now I have heard this has been resolved.

        Swedish Covenant2017-02-25
      • "Tech"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at Swedish Covenant

        Pros

        Work life balance, Location, Work Culture

        Cons

        Information Technology and EHR, more technology in my smartphone than the medical record system in its entirety

        Advice to Management

        professional disservice to myself to work with outdated technology

        Swedish Covenant2017-03-14
      • "staff nurse"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Swedish Covenant full-time

        Pros

        non profit, care about nurses

        Cons

        low pay, no enough funding to support employers with master or phd

        Advice to Management

        night shift lacks from a strong/ experienced lider

        Swedish Covenant2017-02-13
      • "Clinical Dietetic Intern"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Swedish Covenant

        Pros

        Amazing management, knowledge staff, and driven employees.

        Cons

        The workload can be stressful

        Advice to Management

        Keep it up

        Swedish Covenant2017-02-09
      • "Teacher of McCormick Montessori Child Care Center"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Swedish Covenant full-time

        Pros

        Able to pursue professional development and encouraged to do so.

        Cons

        Stresses that come with working with children.

        Swedish Covenant2017-01-25
      • Helpful (1)

        "Unit Assisant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Unit Assistant in Chicago, IL
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Swedish Covenant full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Community based non profit hospital. Good place to start training.

        Cons

        Salary, poor management, lack of funding compared to private hospital

        Advice to Management

        More consistency with management of employees and implementation of hospital policy. Better scheduling

        Swedish Covenant2017-01-28
      Found 77 reviews