Swedish Medical Center Reviews | Glassdoor

Swedish Medical Center Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Swedish Medical Center CEO Richard Hammett
Richard Hammett
13 Ratings
  1. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Very supportive, celebrate your wins and support growth, great about career path support and giving opportunities to grow in your career, they make decisions based on facts and data instead of random

    Cons

    Not highest paying but great benefits, farther from my home but worth the drive!

    Swedish Medical Center2018-10-27
  2. "Collaboration and supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Departments work together to provide great care to patients. Leaders and staff are committed to treating each other, patients and visitors with respect.

    Cons

    Not a con, just a high level of expectation regarding accountability in a fast- paced environment. That doesn’t work for everyone, but for those that do, it feels very supportive!

    Swedish Medical Center2018-10-27

    Swedish Medical Center Response

    January 14, 2019VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Employee voice is of the utmost importance to us at Swedish Medical Center. We thank you for your support of the hospital and the patients we serve.

  3. "Love the culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It’s not a job when you love what you’re doing and doing it with Co-workers who are like family. When the group, together strives for excellence, working hard to enjoy being the best. Who wins? Everybody, especially our patients.

    Cons

    Parking and traffic but the parking will be alleviated with the newest parking garage.

    Advice to Management

    Be more accessible and available.

    Swedish Medical Center2018-10-26
  4. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Leadership from CEO down really listens and cares about employees and patients.

    Cons

    Not really a con - but it is a busy, fast paced place. Level 1 trauma so has high acuity.

    Swedish Medical Center2018-10-26
  5. "lab assistant ll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Lab Assistant in Edmonds, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swedish Medical Center for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great company, pays well, there is always room for advancement , respects its employees and appreciates the diversity in everyone. I wish I didn't have to move to a different state otherwise I would never leave Swedish

    Cons

    none for me I don't know about everyone else

    Advice to Management

    none

    Swedish Medical Center2018-10-11

    Swedish Medical Center Response

    November 21, 2018VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor. Based on your profile, it appears that you may have intended for the review to be connected to another facility as we are located in Englewood, CO and not Washington state. Please consider updating your review so it is associated with the ...

    Show More
  6. "doctor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swedish Medical Center part-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    physicians are excellent. patient care is pretty good.

    Cons

    management really is bad, the degree of competency in ARNP varies greatly

    Advice to Management

    if you are trying to save a buck using ARNP instead of MD for patient care, the quality of patient care suffers

    Swedish Medical Center2018-08-17

    Swedish Medical Center Response

    August 21, 2018VP, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Based on your location, it appears that you may have meant to submit a review for Seattle, WA. This was left for Swedish Medical Center in Englewood, CO.

  7. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Swedish Medical Center full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers and coffee cart on first floor

    Cons

    Management, blames employees and does not correct the issues. They talk a big talk but don’t back it up. Under pay their staff.

    Advice to Management

    Support staff

    Swedish Medical Center2018-08-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "My experience as a CNA at Swedish was absolutely terrible!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Englewood, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    There are no pros here.

    Cons

    There were so many cons working at Swedish it's hard to list them, but the biggest ones were pay and patient ratio. I wasn't even making $12 an hour when I worked there and I had 20 patients all to myself on the progressive care unit. It is a big safety issue having only one person for a whole floor.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better patient to CNA ratio.

    Swedish Medical Center2018-06-14
  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Co-workers and the patients that's it

    Cons

    Senior Management Team. It's a very sad and confidence breaking place to work. There is no support for managers and the blame game is huge. Extremely punitive environment with the Senior Team taking no accountability and abuse the Directors and Managers. People are leaving in droves.... very sad

    Advice to Management

    Respect and value your staff and take accountability for your mismanagement.

    Swedish Medical Center2018-06-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Corporation in history of U.S."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, Bsn in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swedish Medical Center full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    They have discontinued and/or destroyed any that once existed.

    Cons

    All they care about is profit. This translates to demanding more work from fewer employees, strictly punitive management, erosion of benefits, and declining morale., to name a few of its adverse effects. It was a great hospital and workplace until Columbia took over in 1995. Then it went downhill overnight and has continued to landslide to what has to be an all-time low; from what was like a big happy family to the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Healthcare is no place for selfishness and greed!!!!!! And stop using Mary White as the scapegoat. She's been gone quite some time now, The new CEO is Richard Hammett. The real influence there is and always has been Kathy Ashenfelter, CFO.

    Swedish Medical Center2018-05-31
Found 60 reviews