KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sweet Briar College

Is this your company?

Sweet Briar College

Add a Review

Sweet Briar College Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 33 reviews

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Sweet Briar College President Meredith Woo
Meredith Woo
3 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Favorite Way to earn money while going to school

    Mar 28, 2021 - Student Worker 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Getting closer to the faculty and staff that work here

    Cons

    I genuinely can not think of a down side

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Its okay, but this is a customer service position

    Jan 15, 2021 - Student Library Assistant in Sweet Briar, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    •As a student worker, it's easy to make my schedule flexible • Good easy start to your career if you want to do administrative work. • The pay is okay for the amount of work you do. ------------------------------------- As a Student: • Sweet Briar gives students real-world experience • Most teachers are eager to help students • Some of the Administration wants you to succeed

    Cons

    •Entitled students don't listen to workers or library admin, and the school administration refused to do anything about it if the student is rich. • very slow sometimes so it can be very boring. ------------- As a Student: •Administration keeps so many secrets that students make jokes about how much we know that the administration won't come out and tell us. •They present themselves to be student-oriented, but considering the secrets and their response to COVID-19, they're clearly more business-oriented. • Rich students can get away with anything because they donate money to the college •Students on scholarship learn that the world is not in their favor and that you have to adapt to a rich world while trying to get to their level

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Working

    Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work woth Good hours

    Cons

    Everyone thinks they are a boss. Not enough help

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Low wages

    Jul 13, 2021 - Human Resources Generalist II in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Use of facilities on campus

    Cons

    SBC does not pay very well.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Marketing Intern at SBC

    Feb 15, 2021 - Digital Marketing Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great learning experiences, compensation, flexible hours

    Cons

    pay was very low, not very organized

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Work life

    Oct 5, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly people to work with

    Cons

    None, none, none , none, none

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run far, far away

    Aug 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Sweet Briar, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is an extremely beautiful campus, but that is about it in terms of pros.

    Cons

    -This was the most toxic culture I've ever experienced in a workplace. Everything is treated as a crisis, so when there is a real crisis (such as COVID), things just fall apart. I also discovered what toxic positivity is. I don't know how many times I was told to just be happy when myself, my position and my coworkers were being treated so poorly, micromanaged by upper administration, and our "expert opinions" were not being listened to. We're essentially not allowed to do our jobs. -Employee retention is terrible. In the two years that I worked there, at least 25 employees that I am aware of left Sweet Briar, including faculty, directors, and vice presidents (but there were probably more). I feel that type of turnover is unsustainable and makes for an unstable work environment. -Myself and my team have been told to do things by upper administration that were morally and ethically wrong in my opinion. -The president has made several inappropriate and insulting comments to myself and others, as well as has said negative things about coworkers and former employees in front of groups of people. -HR is basically ineffective when it comes to dealing with the toxic workplace. They are nice people, but are not helpful when it comes to actually handling any of the above issues I mentioned. The HR office itself is understaffed and has had a complete turnover of staff within the two years I was there. -When the school shut down and sent students home for COVID in March of 2020, there were some departments that did not allow employees to work from home, or at least were very reluctant to do so. But overall there was a very negative attitude about working from home coming from the upper administration. I know this is just another review from a disgruntled former employee, and it does depend on what your role is and what department you work for. But it is a very difficult place to work at overall and I wish I had been warned before I started working there. My mental health was impacted negatively from my experience at Sweet Briar and I don't want that to happen to others.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    great school

    Feb 19, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    small community and great professors

    Cons

    lots of changes to curriculum

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Challenging and rewarding

    Mar 31, 2020 - Head Coach 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Close-knit community with students and colleagues, freedom to be creative and use initiative, beautiful campus with room for outdoor recreation

    Cons

    Lack of demonstration of gratitude and appreciation by employer

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to live and work!

    Sep 25, 2019 - Career Services Associate in Sweet Briar, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a former student, I love being able to make a difference in student's lives. This college is on the cutting edge, and it is fun being a part of that.

    Cons

    A bit of a commute for me.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

Popular Careers with Sweet Briar College Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Sweet Briar College? Share Your Experiences

Sweet Briar College logo
or