Swinerton Builders Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
67%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Swinerton Builders CEO Jeffrey Hoopes
Jeffrey Hoopes
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "As an employee-owned company, our people have a personal interest and stake in the success of every project(in 18 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of great people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Work load can sometimes be more

    Swinerton Builders2020-03-26

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    We appreciate your review that Swinerton is a great company to work for. Here at Swinerton we give our employees the opportunity to expand their workload with the goal of growing as an individual and as a company simultaneously. We fully encourage our employees to communicate with their project teams and managers to work towards maintaining a healthy work/life balance. We appreciate everything you do for us and look forward to working hard to make Swinerton the best place possible to work.

  2. "Average Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Estimator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Employee owned -Benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    -No work life balance -Politics/Favoritism -They just care about the revenue

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2020-05-15

    Swinerton Builders Response

    May 18, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about working at Swinerton. I'm sorry you did not have a great experience during your time here. Regarding your comment about no work/life balance as well as politics and favoritism, we encourage employees to talk to their managers when problems like these arise. Our management team has an open-door policy and they welcome candid conversations as well as feedback from employees. We strive to make Swinerton the best place to work and appreciate feedback so we can work to make things better and become a stronger company. We are very proud of our employee ownership along with the robust benefits package. We are happy to hear those were positive things that stood out to you during your time here. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and wish you the best in your career.

  3. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - APM in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is employee owned

    Cons

    Nothing really comes to mind

    Swinerton Builders2020-04-03

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    Employee ownership is a big part of our culture here at Swinerton and we are happy to hear that was something that stood out to you during your employment. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We wish you the best in your career.

  4. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Superintendent in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tons of support and great management

    Cons

    Getting to know so many people and who is who

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2020-03-25

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    We are happy that you are receiving the support you need from Management in order to grow in your career. Yes, it can be overwhelming to get to know who everyone is. We have an employee directory with pictures included to help with that. There is also information on our intranet site of key people to contact in each department. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Employee-Owned Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As an employee-owned company, our people have a personal interest and stake in the success of every project. With our collaborative and strong culture, employees can build and shape their own careers at every stage of their lives.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Swinerton Builders2020-02-15

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    Thank you! We agree with your comments about a strong and collaborative culture here at Swinerton. Employee ownership is something we pride ourselves on and paving the path to career growth and development is something we strive for, for all employees.

  6. "Excellent Company All Around"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, great people, excellent culture

    Cons

    No significant downsides I have noticed so far

    Swinerton Builders2020-02-17

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    Our strong team of employee owners that work hard to create the excellent culture at Swinerton is something we are very proud of. We appreciate the positive feedback on salary and benefits. We work hard to maintain competitive salary compensation and a robust benefits package for our employees. We appreciate everything you do for us and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

  7. "Great Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Computer Services 

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits and good people

    Cons

    Don'y have much to say

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2020-02-03

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    Our comprehensive benefits package and strong team of employee owners that work hard to create the excellent culture here at Swinerton are what differentiates us. We appreciate everything you do and thank you for taking the time to leave this review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Needs Improvement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have a good Benefits

    Cons

    Unethical Behavior and Following up with employees at job site

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2020-02-04

    Swinerton Builders Response

    April 20, 2020Training & Development Specialist

    I'm sorry you didn't have a great experience during your time here. Change is constant in our business, and we ask our team members to be flexible as we serve customers in an industry that changes daily. Related to your comment on lack of follow up regarding issues that arise on the jobsite, we have stepped up internal communication by conducting more one on one meeting between managers and their employees including career goal setting sessions. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and we wish you the best in your career.

  9. Helpful (1)

    "na"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good exposure to multiple projects

    Cons

    I have no cons about the company

    Swinerton Builders2019-12-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great time working with professional people that always looks to finish the projects in the best possible way.

    Cons

    A lot of time working in the field

    Swinerton Builders2019-11-25
Found 139 reviews