Swinerton Builders "employee owned" Reviews | Glassdoor

Swinerton Builders Employee Reviews about "employee owned"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Swinerton Builders CEO Jeffrey Hoopes
Jeffrey Hoopes
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "As an employee-owned company, our people have a personal interest and stake in the success of every project(in 16 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of great people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance upper management(in 14 reviews)

  • "long hours, not much training provided, could get forgotten by upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Incredible Employee-Owned Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    As an employee-owned company, our people have a personal interest and stake in the success of every project. With our collaborative and strong culture, employees can build and shape their own careers at every stage of their lives.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Swinerton Builders2020-02-15
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Management doesn't know how to manage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee owned, benefits, vacation and sick time hours.

    Cons

    Pay, micromanagement is the worst, management holds back on promoting office staff because they don't want people to leave their current positions and have to hire new staff. Management likes to go behind closed doors and pretty much talk bad or gossip about staff underneath them. They treat staff that are underneath them with little respect.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2019-06-25
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Craftsman 

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time

    Pros

    Employee owned “best place to work for millennials”

    Cons

    Work life balance upper management

    Swinerton Builders2019-04-01
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid capable management. Employee owned. Great people to work with. Strong company culture

    Cons

    Work / Life balance can be challenge.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2018-12-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits; Employee-owned; Well-managed; Amazing people

    Cons

    No flexibility with work schedule/hours; "Stuck" in traditional ways of doing business

    Swinerton Builders2018-11-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture, the people I work with on a daily basis, comprehensive benefits package, reputation in the industry are great. The fact that its employee owned means when the company does well, the employees reap the benefits. Open door policy with upper management. If you work hard and have a positive attitude, it pays off.

    Cons

    Technology is old but there is movement toward newer technology. For such a large company, many of the processes could be streamlined. There are some employees who are afraid of looking to the future because it means change.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2017-07-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive culture, Passionate people, Collaborative, Focused on excellence and improving construction productivity, Good teamwork and problem solving. Employee Owned - everyone benefits from Swinerton's strong performance.

    Cons

    My only cons is symptomatic to the construction industry as a whole and not specific to Swinerton; clients are demanding extremely aggressive schedules which in some instances leads to long-hours, craft overtime and work-life balance. I will say Swinerton encourages everyone to plan for and take their vacations.

    Swinerton Builders2017-06-23
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time

    Pros

    Great office culture, people are friendly and keep it light. Coworkers are helpful and willing and spitball ideas with you. Employee Owned which is a plus.

    Cons

    PTO is on the smaller side. Some of the PMs dont know how to do their responsibilities which then gets transferred onto the project engineers.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2017-03-15
  9. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders

    Pros

    It is an employee owned company. Good bonuses and management are generally good to the employees. Decent management team.

    Cons

    HR department lacks HR knowledge and people skill

    Swinerton Builders2016-06-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "a great team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time

    Pros

    Sense of family - everyone looks out for one another and pulls together when needed Challenging and rewarding work 100% employee-owned High expectations of employees and the quality of work management very down to earth and approachable

    Cons

    construction is a tough, fast paced industry, not for everyone sometimes long hours and demanding schedules

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2015-08-27
Found 16 reviews