Swinerton Builders "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Swinerton Builders Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Swinerton Builders CEO Jeffrey Hoopes
Jeffrey Hoopes
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "As an employee-owned company, our people have a personal interest and stake in the success of every project(in 16 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of great people(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance upper management(in 14 reviews)

  • "long hours, not much training provided, could get forgotten by upper management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work hard play hard. Everyone here cares about you and making you the best you can be.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours which is expected in the industry

    Swinerton Builders2019-04-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Needs improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Engineer in Honolulu, HI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The teams I worked with make work enjoyable. There are company social events that you can attend when you aren't drowning in work.

    Cons

    No work life balance and always understaffed. Long hours (50+ a week) and promotions were not based on performance. Promises were made during the interview process which were never met during my time with the company. Make sure to have commitments in writing before accepting the job offer.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2019-10-08
  3. "Project Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders part-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of great people.

    Cons

    Long hours can take a toll on people.

    Swinerton Builders2018-10-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Positive culture, Passionate people, Collaborative, Focused on excellence and improving construction productivity, Good teamwork and problem solving. Employee Owned - everyone benefits from Swinerton's strong performance.

    Cons

    My only cons is symptomatic to the construction industry as a whole and not specific to Swinerton; clients are demanding extremely aggressive schedules which in some instances leads to long-hours, craft overtime and work-life balance. I will say Swinerton encourages everyone to plan for and take their vacations.

    Swinerton Builders2017-06-23
  5. "Great Company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - General Manager in Pomona, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders for more than a year

    Pros

    great atmosphere, and very good learning experience.

    Cons

    long hours, not much training provided, could get forgotten by upper management.

    Swinerton Builders2016-03-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits, A+

    Cons

    low salary, long hours B-

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2016-01-14

    Swinerton Builders Response

    March 11, 2016Corp. HR Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your time with Swinerton. We’re happy to read about your positive experience working with our employees – we agree, they are the best in the industry! We also appreciate the chance to respond to the concerns you've noted. - Swinerton regularly compares our compensation and benefits to the industry to ensure we stay competitive. We also regularly conduct performance and salary reviews to acknowledge growth and merit. We are proud of our rewards structure that is geared to both rewarding employees competitively today, and helping them to build long term wealth during their career with us through employee ownership opportunities. - We certainly acknowledge that construction projects can have demanding schedules and, while we strive for work-life balance, there can periods of extended hours due to deadlines. Our employees join Swinerton with a passion to build and are ready for the challenges of our industry as well as the reward of being a part of a one of a kind project.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "a great team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinerton Builders full-time

    Pros

    Sense of family - everyone looks out for one another and pulls together when needed Challenging and rewarding work 100% employee-owned High expectations of employees and the quality of work management very down to earth and approachable

    Cons

    construction is a tough, fast paced industry, not for everyone sometimes long hours and demanding schedules

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2015-08-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Swinerton Builders is a good construction company with lots of diverse projects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders

    Pros

    Swinerton Builders is a large construction company with diverse spread of projects throughout the California area. They have good managers and superintendents for mentoring and also are active with training of their younger staff with monthly meetings and planned jobsite visits to help with the growth and continued education and training of their staff at all levels.

    Cons

    Jobs were not close to home for me and there was no travel reimbursement. Sometimes long hours on the job, but I guess some of that is expected with this industry.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2008-12-10
  9. "Quite nice for a general contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinerton Builders

    Pros

    Working with professional and experienced people.

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours are required.

    Continue reading
    Swinerton Builders2010-07-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews