Swissotel Hotels & Resorts Reviews | Glassdoor

Swissotel Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated May 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Swissotel Hotels & Resorts CEO Meinhard Huck
Meinhard Huck
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Management in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, Friendly personnel, great benefits, HR is great

    Cons

    Days are extremely busy. A lot is expected of you from staff and guests.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2018-03-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Front Office Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have Great Benefits and offer free workout classes throughout the week

    Cons

    Management So-So. Not alot of direction or recognition for employees that actually work hard.

    Advice to Management

    Stop recognizing the same colleagues over and over again. Take time to notice other employees and acknowledge them as well.

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2018-06-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "in room dining cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    decent pay, room for growth, benefits for full time employees and an employee cafeteria

    Cons

    8 hours is not a standard shift. i often did 20 hour shifts here and it was very difficult to take time off.

    Advice to Management

    There is too much management. There is no reason that the amuse bar or front desk need to be managed by 5 different managers. I think its bad for employee moral in general

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2017-07-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "swissotel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great salary, great benefits, travel opportunities

    Cons

    union staff is hard to manage

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2017-02-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family environment, 401k, great insurance, Vitality community and great health initiatives.

    Cons

    24 hour operation is a lifestyle, some departments are spread thin with not enough staff. Departments need to find new ways to work together and encourage their employee's happiness

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2016-10-10
  6. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly environment, helpful and professional team. The place has a nice clientele. The best of its business in the city. The company offers opportunities to switch cities/countries.

    Cons

    Hospitality is not for everybody. This is a top notch place so it is hard to get somewhere if this is not your thing. Be careful at start.

    Advice to Management

    I would continue to hire high potential colleagues to entry level positions and encourage them to move up to higher level positions. The best candidates are the internal candidates as long as we invest on them.

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2016-09-08
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great benefits and property to sell.

    Cons

    Incentive program could be improved

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2016-07-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Front Desk Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    Great benefits, especially health insurance as the employer covers about 90% of the costs.

    Cons

    Long hours, expected to work double shifts at the drop of a hat.You will be penalized for any mistake, but if you are manager's pet then you are off the hook. Zero chance of moving on up.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. Double standards, hypocrisy, racism and homophobia have no place in modern American corporate culture!!

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2016-05-22
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Banquet Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The pay is really good.

    Cons

    You will not get may hours or shifts if you are not full-time. The hotel concerns is giving the full-time staff whatever they want. They would rather pay overtime, rather than give some hours to the remainder of its staff. And there is no equal pay for equal work at the Swissotel Chicago in the banquet department. Full-time staff gets schedule for coffee breaks and a meal shift at the same time. They leave the event...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to follow the plan of equal work for equal pay. Have full-time staff chose between breakfast & lunch or lunch and dinner, why must they be schedule for every single shift?

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2016-03-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

    Pros

    It was an overall good experience for me, a lot of positive interactions.

    Cons

    I have no major cons, the platform to have discussions were always present.

    Advice to Management

    I feel that they are focused on improvement, I wouldn't be able to offer something that they aren't already aware of.

    Swissotel Hotels & Resorts2015-12-07
Found 40 reviews