KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sylvan Learning Centers

Is this your company?

Sylvan Learning Centers

Add a Review

Sylvan Learning Centers Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 202 of over 985 reviews

3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Sylvan Learning Centers Chief Executive Officer John McAuliffe (no image)
John McAuliffe
135 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,930

973 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay and highly emotionally taxing(in 106 reviews)
  • "Poor management, lack of support, and absolutely no interest in the actual people doing the job.(in 40 reviews)
  • "Poor training, including using a one size fits all approach to underperforming public school students with myriad variety of problems; disorganization resulted in bad relationship between program and schools it was supposed to benefit; still waiting for the company to issue the W(in 25 reviews)
  • "He'll work you 38 + hours a week with no benefits just to save money.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Low salaries overall(in 15 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sylvan Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A nightmare!

    Feb 5, 2013 - Center Director in Hamilton, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fridays were half days during certain months of the year

    Cons

    Really long days Really low base salaries Franchisee kept advancement opportunities advertised by the corporation a secret so she wouldn't lose employees. Change in bonus structure constantly so she never had to pay out when goals were reached Franchisee was never happy unless someone's head was on the chopping block

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Pay your teachers a fair wage

    Jun 18, 2012 - Teacher in Vancouver, BC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work for. An opportunity to work with kids in a good environment

    Cons

    Whoever says the pay is good must live in a very different economy than I do as it is insult wages around here. I work as a Substitute teacher in a local school district and my hourly wage for a day I am called in is more than double than what I received here. Materials are dated. High turnover makes it difficult to make good connections between students and teachers and that is essential for struggling students.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Teaching without the stress, hours, and salary

    May 7, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros consist of no lesson plans to prepare, you teach students in hour intervals, and staff is very supportive of one another.

    Cons

    Cons consist of low pay and few hours for the education needed to get a job here. Unless you are in an administration position, you will have to look for a second job to make money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great culture, low pay

    Jan 15, 2020 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Low pay and highly emotionally taxing

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Shady, Would Not Return

    Oct 18, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people were nice, especially my coworkers. The environment was fun, the work was easy to learn, and (most of) the kids were cute and well-behaved. I genuinely enjoyed most of the time I worked there.

    Cons

    The business practices are unethical and the pay is wildly insulting. The franchise owners and center directors brag about how much money the centers make while paying staff incredibly low wages. We're talking about certified teachers and graduate students making $12 an hour, to teach three students at a time. A teacher would make $12 an hour while earning $150 for the center. The directors constantly pressure staff to take on more work while refusing extra pay or even consistent hours. Tutors are kept at part time so as to avoid having to give benefits. I was administrative staff but I was giving tests to students, many of whom had learning disabilities. Training for this consisted of very minimal video lessons and shadowing two tests. Since I also had teaching experience and a graduate degree, I was constantly pressured to tutor, promised a minimal raise to do so. I was occasionally pulled from my front desk duties to cover a tutoring table (without that raise, for the record, and without any official training). And since my teaching experience is with high schoolers and college students, I was wildly unqualified to teach elementary schoolers, but they failed to schedule enough staff to cover the center, because they minimize staffing to keep costs down, as if they weren't constantly bragging about how much profit they were making.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great environment to learn, poor pay

    Jan 25, 2019 - Tutor in Guelph, ON
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Bosses are very compassionate and will work with your schedule - Great experience working with children - Very comfortable working environment; everyone helps everyone!

    Cons

    - Poor pay for the qualifications needed (I make the same amount as my supervisor who works ten times the hours I do) - Limited hours if you're not management, but management constantly complains about how many hours they work - Management very weary of handing over any responsibilities to workers (very controlling)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Sylvan Learning Center Info

    Aug 2, 2022 - Teacher in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is flexibility in scheduling

    Cons

    The pay is low and the hours are after school and weekends only

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Management was friendly, pay was low

    Mar 19, 2012 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co workers were friendly and managementt was easy to work with.

    Cons

    The pay was low considering that you have to be a certified teacher to work there. You could do much better financially tutoring privately.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful