KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Sylvan Learning Centers

Is this your company?

Sylvan Learning Centers

Add a Review

Sylvan Learning Centers Employee Reviews about "working with kids"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 807 reviews

3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sylvan Learning Centers Chief Executive Officer John McAuliffe (no image)
John McAuliffe
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Hours and good number of student to tutor ratio(in 38 reviews)

  • "Fun working with kids and building knowledge on teaching and tutoring(in 33 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low salaries overall - meant for part time support(in 25 reviews)

  • "Low pay no benefits training not paid until after you have worked there 6 months should be paid more per hour(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Sylvan Learning Centers and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "working with kids"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Robotics

      Sep 24, 2020 - Stem Teacher in Huntington Beach, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun working with kids and building knowledge on teaching and tutoring

      Cons

      There were no cons for me

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not what is advertised

      Jan 14, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are pleasant Fun working with kids

      Cons

      No breaks Sometimes customers are rude Job isn't what is advertised Owner doesn't care about the employees (the owner, not the managers)

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Positive enviroment

      Oct 30, 2020 - Sylvan Learning Center in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunity to work with kids and help families see academic improvements.

      Cons

      Work schedule not the best

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good job- lots to learn

      May 19, 2020 - Center Director in Abilene, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot about sales, marketing and management. Getting to work with kids and positively change lives was rewarding

      Cons

      The pay was not as good as it could be, and autonomy was not really encouraged.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great part time job for STEM majors/teachers

      Sep 17, 2019 - Upper Level Math Tutor in Richland, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with kids! I was a junior in my engineering degree when I started this job part-time, and it was great because I was young enough to relate to the issues some of the kids were having at school. It also helped me to be constantly reviewing math concepts I still needed in college but hadn't seen in several years.

      Cons

      Hours can be a little inconsistent, but that is only because sometimes they kids have different afternoon schedules each week, and need to work with certain teachers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      The Company is amazing The Franchisee/Owner of Winston Salem, Greensboro and Burlington is terrible!!!!

      Jul 22, 2019 - Center Director in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with kids, families and helping them to grow educationally

      Cons

      The Leadership is horrible, petty and never grateful and doesn't want people on her staff to grow

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent starting job for those interested in education

      Jan 27, 2020 - Supplemental Education Tutor in Federal Way, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -work with kids -curriculum is provided -many learning tools provided

      Cons

      -low pay -teach in groups of three, doesn’t work for all kids

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Scam -- Beware

      Oct 22, 2019 - Math Instructor in Greenville, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working with kids (5 words)

      Cons

      This business is money-hungry and will promise parents anything

      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Don't be fooled

      Jan 10, 2019 - Director of Education 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with kids, working for a small business (most Sylvans are franchised), corporate support

      Cons

      I found that the biggest hurdle was the large discrepancy between our product and what we asked parents to pay for it. My center charged nearly $50/hour for a program designed to help students with remedial work. The number of times I had to field unhappy customers who didn't realize that, at that price point, their child still wouldn't receive 1:1 attention, was astounding. Sylvan sets up their directors to have to lie to the face of their customers. We were expected to doctor student test results in order to appease parents. We often had to come up with excuses why, at $50/hour, their child wasn't making the progress we had promised. As the face of the company, to these people who have invested sometimes thousands of dollars to help their kids, we took the most abuse when the miracle we promised just didn't deliver. I am not disparaging the product - but it isn't the miracle we advertise, and Sylvan's aggressive marketing and approach didn't work in the lower-income area where I worked. Maybe if you can afford to send a child to tutoring three or four times a week, it might take. I was there for nearly five years and that was a real rarity. More often than not, the kids who made significant progress at the minimally-recommended two hours per week were kids who weren't engaged at school, but understood the material well enough to do the activities that would get them prizes at the Sylvan Store. There was also very little work/life balance, as a director. Between our two directors, we each worked 10-hour days, and on early nights I still wouldn't be home until almost 7:30pm. We were only allowed half-hour lunches, and expected to be on-call if something came up on the weekend or outside of scheduled hours. There was never any discussion of hiring another set of hands.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company, laid-back work

      Feb 22, 2016 - Teaching Assistant in Katy, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was very fun. I got to work with kids and there were no real problems at work. Very laid-back and people were always friendly and appreciative.

      Cons

      Pay wasn't great. Could have applied online instead of applying through an email. Sometimes there would be no work to do.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Sylvan Learning Centers Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Sylvan Learning Centers? Share Your Experiences

    or