Symmetry Financial Group Producer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Producer

Symmetry Financial Group Producer Reviews

Updated Sep 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Symmetry Financial Group Owners Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Absolute best training and mentorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Top Producer in Amarillo, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    System driven income, get paid what you’re worth, they don’t just hire anyone and everyone, conference and national events are very organized, they continue to invest in their people

    Cons

    Not really any cons, if you fail- it’s your own fault. But if you’re a student of the business then you’ll find success.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-04-25
  2. Helpful (3)

    "The 6 month policy - Know before you sign"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group

    Pros

    I work with a great team, that really comes together.

    Cons

    So before you come on board, understand that Symmetry will lock you in for 6 months if you ever decide to leave and go with another IMO. Meaning that if you want to go to another IMO, Symmetry will not release you from your contract with the carriers for 6 months. That means you cannot write any business on those carriers for a full 6 months. They say the following: Symmetry Financial Group Response July 21, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer “We allow any agent to leave and contract with another organization of their choosing at anytime, as I am certain you have already done. The stipulations of a 6 month wait period are part of the contracts you agreed to with the carriers, not with Symmetry.” The entire conversation can be found on Glass Door. Here is the truth: Symmetry does not have anything in their contract about waiting 6 months, that is true. However, Symmetry can wait up to 6 months to release your contract with the carriers. Which they typically wait the full six months. Can they release you right away? YES! It's a simple form they fill out and send to the carrier. So while the answer given from Symmetry above is "true", it is also true that Symmetry historically waits the full six months before releasing you from your contract with the carrier. Want more information on this, go to the site for the Independent Life Insurance Agent Association. Just look for Contract Release and you will find the article.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-09-06
  3. Helpful (8)

    "training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Producer in Oklahoma City, OK

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good company vibe but not logical

    Cons

    training and start up cost

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-07-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Be Very Careful With This Bunch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    A Very Few People Make Big Money Here. You can succeed here but it is despite them not because of them.

    Cons

    You are at the luck of the draw with what upline you join. Some uplines are good and teach and train their sales people. Most others are horrible managers and you will suffer accordingly. This is a recruiting company. They do not care if you ever sell a single policy but if you don't recruit new people in your organization they will not help you. There is tremendous turnover in the industry but even higher in this organization. since they have no ability to teach and train new people. I went to the national meeting twice and both times they asked who was new in the last three months. More than 90% of the room was new both times. Tremendous turnover because they have no training. The training is horrible. They tell you to call the insurance carriers. When you call the carriers they tell you it is not their job to train you. You are in "no-mans land." Finally, they are dishonest by omission. They don't outright lie or mislead but they certainly do by omission.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2018-11-01
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Symmetry is the REAL DEAL!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer/Agent in Council Bluffs, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First of all--- this is a "personal growth" opportunity. By growing yourself, learning new things, and applying them to your business--- you WILL succeed. Symmetry is meaningful work! Great flexibility, unlimited earning potential, protecting/helping families, no-micro-management, great systems-level support and top notch training, coaching and mentoring! This opportunity is just that--- an opportunity. If you are a 9-5, clock in/clock out, collect the same paycheck every week kind of person who needs to be told what to do and can't see the forrest through the trees.... this is not for you! If you believe you are worthy of joy, happiness, wealth, and giving back and that you want your work to have meaning and purpose... then this is for you! As a 30 -plus year career professional, I've never felt so energized, motivated and full of purpose and worth as I have within Symmetry. Because there is no structured management, no "chain of command", and they are highly de-centralized, you can forget about "office politics". You earn what you put into it. Strange concept, huh? However, don't misinterpret "decentralized" as "chaos and mayhem". Quite the contrary! They have a fool-proof system that is "plug and play", "repeatable", and "sustainable." Of course you have the latitude to make tweaks based on your particular geographic area and client base, but all-in- all the system is solid! The company offers you the structure and systems-level support to "create" you own agency and recruit like-minded teammates to bring along the journey with you. YOU are your own HR department! YOU get to choose your team! It's a young, vibrant, and incredibly diversified company that holds no allegiances to traditional marketing stereotypes, approaches, or techniques. This is not your "grandpas insurance company"! They've re-invented how insurance is presented, perceived, received and applied to the everyday family all the way through the savvy business owner! They are cutting edge (dare I say "bleeding edge"!) as far as brining broad-range insurance products to families and businesses. No geographic territories, no quotas, and no negativity! Everyone matters! No cliques, no politics, and no whining! Ethical to a tee! Beyond reproach! DO THIS if you want a new lease on life! I only wish I'd done this 30 years ago!

    Cons

    Absolutely NONE !! ZERO! ZIP! NADA! REIN!

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2018-06-16

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    July 23, 2018Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for the awesome review! You make so many great points that highlight the benefits of working with Symmetry there is not much more to add. I am so glad to hear that joining Symmetry has provided a spark for your career and we are so grateful to have you here!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Producer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture! Love everyone who I have met with Symmetry... I have gotten back my life and I am able to spend time with my family without having to ask permission or request a day off!

    Cons

    Lead system is best in the industry, but I wish our agents would update the system when someone is no longer interested... Pay for way too many leads that have purchased with us or someone else.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2018-06-08

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    July 8, 2018Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for the thorough review, I am so glad to hear of the positive impact you have experienced at Symmetry! I also appreciate the constructive feedback as we are looking to get agents connected with the most qualified leads in the industry and provide the best support possible.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (6)

    "On my way to winning my second Trip in only 15 months with SFG!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Top Producer in Erie, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited income potential, They don’t hold you back, Training is available 24/7, I have met and watched people grow in the past year who were only in the business 4 months. I have made friendships with down-to-earth people who have helped me grow to a top producer with the company and look forward to taking my fiancée to Monte Carlo on our second fully paid trip next year! Thanks SFG!

    Cons

    We work hard, but I worked hard at everything I have ever done. Here we have fun and get things done.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2018-05-22

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    May 30, 2018Chief Operations Officer

    I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, what an awesome journey you have been on! We are so happy to have you with us and look forward to your continued growth and success!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (71)

    "producer experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Producer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Before I talk about the pros and cons. I had a good amount of an insurance background before joining symmetry. At symmetry I always made sales. Without further ado here are some of the pros 1. unlimited income potential (in theory) 2. chance to recruit 3. easy access to insurance companies to sell. 4. decent training ( will be talked about later)

    Cons

    To those looking to join symmetry and/or insurance sales. There is a saying in insurance that 92% of insurance agents fail within the first couple of years. Insurance is a tough business. I do feel that when new agents are recruited in symmetry. The hiring managers will make it seem like it is super easy to make sales. When I was recruited I saw a video on what the average agent makes. After being at symmetry and seeing what other agents were making. I can tell you it wasn't what was shown to me. My group used an app to post are numbers. Most of the agents who were posting there numbers were not doing anything near what the "avg" agent makes. This is a commission only position which is fine. However 60% is one of the lowest in the business. Do research on your own. If you factor in lead costs, gas cost etc its not really livable. Yes there are ways to increase your commission percentage but its takes awhile and it caps out about 80% unless you recruited a bunch of people under you. In my opinion there are 2 types of agents at symmetry. Recruiters or Closers. Recruiters are there to just recruit as many people as possible to hopefully build enough passive income. Closers are the agents that are great in sales that are primarily in the insurance business to make money by selling insurance. Now why that is important to know is. Whoever recruits you is your immediate upline. insurance is one of those business that it really helps If you have a mentor to walk you through this. If your mentor is a recruiter but not a closer. How is he/she suppose to help you close more business? Forget about your immediate upline lets say you go to someone who suppose to help you. you talk to your manager to get help. A lot of managers are in the field so when you need them they may not answer your phone call. Also they are helping many others like you. They are not able to give every agent much needed time. Which for a brand new agent that's new in sales it can be very difficult. Lets talk about leads. I always made sales off of the leads that i bought. However i do believe that symmetry makes good amount of money off of reselling the leads. I also heard that symmetry shares leads with other vendors. This makes sense becuase i would get leads that had names from other insurance IMO such as Asurea. Recruiting. Off course everyone wants to recruit other agents so they can make money off of them. However its easier said than done. The turnover rate is insane. There are so many other insurance IMO that pay way more in commission. I know because I'm getting double the commission at another IMO. THe biggest con is your book of business is not vested. Also if you want to leave symmetry for another IMO. They wil not grant you a release to use those companies you have to wait 6 months. I noticed in another review the COO claimed that its not symmetry it was the insurance companies problem. That is a bold lie.

    Symmetry Financial Group2018-01-23

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    January 24, 2018Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we appreciate the time you spent at Symmetry. Your review does bring up some valid points for those looking to enter a career in insurance sales. I especially appreciate you sharing that while income earning potential is extremely high, it is not easy. There are certain technical skills , additional to mental toughness and resilience, that an agent needs to gain to be successful. We offer a well established platform with a strong focus on personal and leadership development, as well as a tried and true sales system to aid agents in gaining these abilities. We are in the constant process of refining and improving all aspects of these systems. We also continue to be extremely transparent on the issue of leads and take monthly loss as a business in order to make leads accessible to agents. In addition, we eliminate many other costs associated with running a business that allow agents to focus their time and energy on activities that will yield the greatest return. I also appreciate you providing me the opportunity to clarify previous statements I have made regarding releases. Release periods are indeed stipulated by carriers in the contracts that agents have signed. At Symmetry we do have the potential to facilitate an early release, which we do regularly. Although those instances are far more consistent and likely, they do not make their way to anonymous online review sites. The process to determine a release takes in to account many different variables and is done on a case by case basis once these variables are reviewed. If you would like further understanding of our internal policies I encourage you to reach out to me directly and I am always happy to provide a better understanding to any agent. Again, thank you for your time with Symmetry and I hope you are able to find something that is a better for you. I can be reached at dzeh@sfglife.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Agency Owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Producer in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having the ability to own your business and leaving a legacy for your family.

    Cons

    Have to get out of balance to get in balance

    Symmetry Financial Group2018-02-06
  10. "Just be persistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Producer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    This company allows you to take the lid off your life and realize your full potential.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Symmetry Financial Group2018-02-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews