Symmetry Financial Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Symmetry Financial Group Reviews

Updated June 22, 2017
145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Symmetry Financial Group Owners Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
106 Ratings

145 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Symmetry Financial Group is not a job, it is an opportunity (in 14 reviews)

  • The owners at Symmetry financial Group make decision based on what's best for their agents (in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • It costs money to make money - whether you sell lemonade or insurance (in 9 reviews)

  • When people follow the system, they are happy (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (31)

    "Associate Partner / Advisory Board member"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Partner/Advisory Board Member in Front Royal, VA
    Current Employee - Associate Partner/Advisory Board Member in Front Royal, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Symmetry gives everyone a place to call home. The culture here is bar non. Everyone with the company will go out of their way to help others. Because we are in the people business. Perhaps we are more of a leadership or self development company. That's why working with people at symmetry is always so rewarding.

    I started working as as agent in May of 2012 and earned over $100k my first year. When I was in the field I would protect 4-7 families a week. Since then I built a small team of other like minded good people. Now that small team has grown to 19 Agency Owners. And protecting more then a 1,000 families a month. I have not been in the field selling for 3 1/2 years. My income is all passive.

    Now Symmetry, allows us to own our own company, so if I become ill, or I want to sell my business, or when I pass away my business goes to my daughter and son. Wow, I get to build a legacy!!!

    I work from home. So I work when I want with whom I want and where I want. At this point the Insurance carrier's send us on free once in a lifetime vacations for you and your spouse. I went on 7 of them last year.

    Thank you Symmetry Financial Group for making a dream come true.

    Cons

    To work at Symmetry Financial Group you have to drop your ego. Many people come here thinking they know everything about insurance. That may be true, but you don't know about our predictable system. You have to treat this as a business, because it is. It's your business. You get out of it what you put into it. I you don't Listen, Work, Associate and Change. This is not a good fit for you and we wish you the best of luck.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    Feb 8, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Well said and thank you so much for your feedback! We are so grateful to have such great leaders and inspiring stories associated with Symmetry. Anyone out there looking at joining Symmetry, make ... More


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Culture, not for everybody"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The training, energy and people are what set this company a part. It has truly been awesome to join a great organization like Symmetry and look forward to growing

    Cons

    Investing in leads that have already purchased a policy. However, the lead system and process is the best I have seen. The investment is necessary and the scenarios like this cannot be avoided

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for the great review! We are always working to improve the lead system and I appreciate your understanding of the challenges in doing that. We are so grateful to have you with us and look ... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome company with great training"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Consultant in Fresno, CA
    Current Employee - Insurance Consultant in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunity to make big money and help people. The resources and training are excellent.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. The only thing I can think of is getting past the license stage.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for the great review! We are excited to have you with us at Symmetry!


  4. Helpful (3)

    "A Place to Call Home"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Owner in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Agency Owner in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can make more money in less time, so you can spend more time doing the things that matter most to you, whether that is making more money, pursuing a hobby or passion, or spending more time with your family. Balance

    Integrity based company, worried about agents as people, not statistics or numbers or a paycheck. Co-Workers buoy you up, support, instruct, care and help, with no financial gain. In a difficult industry, this system

    Cons

    Difficult to help people understand that you get out what you put in, Like an Investment. Many entering don't understand that you are an independent agent. Your success or failure is in your hands, and your ability to follow the system, and frankly, for most, it takes time to learn. Some people Want all the proverbial muscles and results, without hitting the gym and eating right.

    Advice to Management

    Expand!

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    May 30, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for your review and for highlighting the positive aspects of your experience with Symmetry! Your explanation of what it takes to be successful in this industry is spot on and clearly you ... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Growth Opportunity"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Leader in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Key Leader in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Symmetry is to experience growth opportunities in every area of life.

    Cons

    The downside is the inevitability that people will be people. Sometimes, people follow the system and sometimes people don't. When people follow the system, they are happy.

    Advice to Management

    Please continue sharing your core values with the brokers/leaders to ensure that the up and coming brokers/leaders feel safe to blossom, knowing that those who have come before them are leading them with integrity and respect.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    May 30, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Simple and to the point, great review! The system at Symmetry has been proven time and time again to work, you just have to work it. Thank you for your feedback about our core values and we will most ... More


  6. Helpful (9)

    "Not everything is at it seemed on the first day"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Tucson, AZ
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I didn't have to apply with every carrier in order to get appointed with them.

    Cons

    Too many agents and too few leads. I was told I could ask anyone for help...until I asked to talk to agents in my area. Then I was told that every agent in every state is just the same. That people in every state are just the same. This is not true. I was told the leads were mine but more than 90% of the leads I called had been contacted before. Symmetry run at least 5 simultaneous lead campaigns. Yup 5 so if a home owner returns 5 mailers there are 5 Symmetry agents fighting for the same lead. This didn't work for me!

    Advice to Management

    Every time I asked for help I was told I was the problem. Way to make a guy feel welcome and supported...actually that is the worst way. If you care then do what caring people do. Otherwise you show that you don't care

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    May 30, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Symmetry. We work hard to provide support that agents need to get up and running as efficiently as possible. I understand your ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not for me!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Underwriter in North Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Field Underwriter in North Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Being able to work the hours that I chose and spend more time with my family

    Cons

    It cost me too much to make money, no benefits since you will be self employed. For me, it was too much work and too many expenses for the little money I made

    Advice to Management

    Set a base pay and consider offering benefits

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    Jun 22, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Thank for your review and I appreciate your willingness to acknowledge that Symmetry is not the right fit for you without disparaging our company as a whole. I agree that those with the mentality of ... More

  8. "Excellent Company to Partner With!!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agency Owner in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Agency Owner in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This company has changed our lives along with so many other families! Symmetry allows you to start a business utilizing a system already in place. Everyone has the same opportunity here to be successful. We are very grateful for Symmetry Financial Group and admire the owners and all the leaders in this company. Proud to say I get the honor to work with such amazing people.

    Cons

    We do not have a con. The only thing we could say is that this company will change you for the better. You need to embrace the toughness and enjoy the journey.


  9. "I applied for a position and they reached out to me within 24 hours."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've done my researched and had a few conversations with the head of the company they are nice people. They sound like they know what they're talking about and aren't too hard on the employees.

    Cons

    It might be a far place for me but they have locations in other cities just in case. I believe more than 20 cities.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your job you guys communicate well. Good company.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    May 17, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Welcome aboard, we are glad to have you with Symmetry!


  10. Helpful (5)

    "Bait & Switch"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I cannot think of any pros.

    Cons

    They seem to make money from selling leads and they want to keep churning the sales people in and out. They are very uneducated and unprofessional.

    Advice to Management

    Insurance sales is actually not a religion. You might want to stop acting like it is.

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    Jun 7, 2017 – Chief Operations Officer

    Well, I'm going have to admit I'm a little stumped by this one. I would have to guess based on the content of your review you never fully engaged in the system at Symmetry otherwise you would know ... More


Showing 145 of 163 reviews
Reset Filters