Symmetry Financial Group "sfg" Reviews | Glassdoor

Symmetry Financial Group Employee Reviews about "sfg"

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Symmetry Financial Group Owners Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
Casey Watkins, Brandon Ellison, and Brian Pope
358 Ratings
Pros
  • "SFG has a system in place to let you be able to be successful(in 41 reviews)

  • "Symmetry Financial Group is an amazing company to work for(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "The system SFG has put together works if you follow the system(in 27 reviews)

  • "There are no cons in my opinion(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sfg"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "QUITTERS WILL NEVER WIN HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Leader in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SFG has a system in place to let you be able to be successful. Those who are truly willing to work and be coachable and leave the ego at the door can be successful here. The system we have here works for everyone, but not everyone works the system.

    Cons

    Quitting on yourself. Coming here with a bad attitude. Blaming the system and SFG instead of looking in the mirror and calling a spade a spade.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-10-23
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great company with FANTASTIC values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Dayton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked in retail/restaurant management for close to 30 years. Made a VERY good living. However, I was trading a good living for my time. I had no time for my family, friends, kids, wife, or myself. Symmetry Financial Group has allowed me to make a great income and have time as well. I have the ability to provide for my family both monetarily and being present with them when I want to. You have control of your schedule. They stress scheduling family time first. I have never had that option before. The training and mentor ship is there if you take it. It is up to you to do the job. In this job, you are an entrepreneur and business owner. You can be a part-time agent, full-time, or build your own agency. It all depends on what is important to you. You will spend as much time developing yourself as you do on your business. It all ties together. the better person you are, the better your business will be, and the more people you will help.

    Cons

    This job is NOT for people that are undisciplined and unmotivated. You own your own business and the results you get rely on you and what you put into it. The system SFG has put together works if you follow the system. This can be a simple job with LOADS of opportunity if you are coachable, willing to learn and develop, and willing to put your clients needs before your own.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-10-23

    Symmetry Financial Group Response

    December 12, 2019Marketing Specialist

    Hi there! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and for choosing Symmetry. We are delighted to hear that Symmetry’s proven system has had such a positive impact on you and your life!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Ultimately, It Is The Client Who Pays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Agent/Broker in New Haven, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally supportive group of people, just misdirected, in my opinion.

    Cons

    The issue with SFG as with any/most IMO's (only saying that to be polite, this is a multi level marketing format) is that they lack a hands on compliance department. Yes , the information and learning materials on the website are extensive, but ultimately it is the client who pays. SFG also makes it a point to push recruiting and agency building as much or more, than, just production. The problem here, of course, is that with out a functioning bricks and mortar compliance department, actual training is a moot point. The lions share of agents have no business discussing familial financial matters with potential clients as they lack significant training. Ultimately, it is the client who pays. Yes, one can make good money at this job. They can also make good money at this job in a large organization with parameters in place that prevent an agent from directing a client in the wrong direction. I personally had my last client while at SFG, a lovely older couple, inquire about "mortgage protection insurance". This couple had existing insurance policies, but were as I found out, in serious trouble. This provided me the incentive to get my series 7 and 66 in order to assist these with their needs. Two of their policies were in terrible financial positions and they had no permanent insurance in place. They also required review of their overall portfolio. SFG (at least the agency owner I worked under) told me "that is not what we do here". I was astonished. Ultimately it is the client who pays. The last topic I would like to explain to readers is that of compensation. Yes, SFG is aggressive with their upfront commissions...but not that much. Most large broker-dealers that handle insurance (with excellent third party out-brokerage services and compliance) have a lower upfront commission but provide incentive for agents to hit performance benchmarks in order to produce bonuses, bringing them them well within the SFG model of compensation. Here, the agents can perform in a safe environment where compliance and the actual industry standards are enforced; and not simply at "acceptable" levels, but at actual levels that help agents and consumers. Ultimately, the client pays. I firmly believe the Federal Govenment should step in and stop band aiding this issue with small considerations such as elder care abuse, and privacy (DNC) "compliance". IMO's and MLM's should NOT be allowed to operate in any insurance or financial services industry. AND...INSURANCE IS NOT FINANCIAL SERVICES. so if you buy insurance from Symmetry Financial Group, the only financial advice, from any truly qualified associate, is....NON EXISTENT. Ultimately it is the client who pays. I recommend that anyone who is interested in the field of finance or insurance, put your hustle on, get the appropriate licensing, and get with an organization that can help you and your clients so that ultimately the client wins. I am an extremely hard working individual who ethically could not remain with SFG. This is not because they set out to intentionally deceive people and take their hard earned money, or that do not adhere to the law in setting up their business. It is simply my opinion that the benchmarks are too low entrants into this industry and ultimately it is the client who pays. Pleased be advised that I am not ranking the industry with my stars. One can certainly make a great income in the financial services or insurance business. I am ranking due to my disapproval, especially considering the experience levels of management, of the development and acceptance of the business model. This model is primarily for ownership/management personal income, secondarily for agent, agency owner, etc. income, and tertiary for client services. That is simply the truth regardless of the mantra you will continue to hear. Look first, get confused by doing and performing your due diligence, then select a place to begin your career. Thank you

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-10-17
  4. Helpful (5)

    "SAD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Agent in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people while you are working there and helpful

    Cons

    I was told SFG was not a captive company by my Agency Owner. They are and have not released me from all the carriers I am contracted with which is sad. I'd say be careful if you contract with them, make very sure. I have in text from my up-line they are not and they are trying not to release me. Each carrier said all SFG has to do is send a letter to them completely 100% releasing me. I got a better opportunity making 40% more which they should understand is substantial difference and should wish me the best.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-07-16
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Complete Game Changer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working 50% less than my prior job, and making the same income! Didn't think it was possible, especially with no experience in the industry! Flexibility in my schedule, now how the time to spend with my family! Love the proven training system and ongoing support from mentors, follow it and you are guaranteed success! Anyone can do this if you care and you put your mind to it! Winning incentive trips across the world! Feeling like I have a purpose, feeling the reward of getting to know the families I am working with and being able to provide a product in their most critical time of need. Product flexibility, no captivity! Warm leads! NO COLD CALLING! These clients have asked us to contact them! An amazing company culture, walked into my first conference and almost instantly felt like I was walking into a new family. Amazing people to work with, positive, mindset, always encouraging, focusing on just being a better person! Love this company! A COMPLETE GAME CHANGER!

    Cons

    Only to those who are not self motivated and focused... It's easy to get lazy in this business, especially if you chose to work out of a home office and get easily distracted. It's a big shift coming from an environment where upper management gives you constant direction where with SFG, you are responsible for holding yourself accountable to the action needed to make yourself successful. There isn't a manager double checking to make sure you got the job done so if you're one that needs that, then it will be a struggle, but nothing that you can't overcome if you want it bad enough.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-05-08
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Everything they said has come true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Agent in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As far as building an agency, I dont think there is a better system in the world, as far as profitability. There is higher starting comp, but why are their top leaders in the field...its a profitability issue. SFG has created an unreal system that if you can work it and get thru the learning curve, is super rewarding. The culture is by far the greatest in the industry and it starts with the owners and top leadership being incredibly honest and humble people. I have been here almost 6 years and would not trade the experiences for anything.

    Cons

    Insurance is hard. Sales are hard. Commission only can be hard(I struggled a bunch in the beginning and for almost 3 months, and still made 130 my first year) If you can follow the system and change where you need to change(I had to, for sure) and get thru the learning curve, I believe there is no better system to build a business, in the industry.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-05-07
  7. Helpful (19)

    "Symmetry is getting rich by selling you leads, Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Agency Owner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is positive for the most part, pleasant people with seemingly good intentions at lower levels of management

    Cons

    -lead system seems to be RAMPANT with lead distribution fraud or selling the same lead multiple times (they can’t control this because they use lead vendors but they also seem to make ZERO attempt to find duplicate leads) -Ask to see your upline’s income the year before -60% starting commission level is at least 40% lower than street comp with many of the carriers (there’s little to no margin for the agent at that level -Where do our renewals go? -If you contract with carriers through SFG, they will NOT release you so that they effectively prevent you from continuing your career elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-05-16
  8. Helpful (1)

    "BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Independent Agent in Seagrove, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My husband and I have worked with SFG for over 4 years and it has been such a blessing for our family and the families we help protect. Our clients thank us for working with them when others haven’t been able to find them coverage that fits comfortably into their budgets. We get to live the lifestyle most only dream about while building financially healthy families and communities - it’s amazing! Not only does the company focus on people over numbers, and debt-freedom over flash, but they also are heavily involved in multiple charities and community initiatives. A wonderful company that truly cares about their agents, clients, and communities! THE BEST PLACE I HAVE EVER WORKED!

    Cons

    Working here will show you who you really are ... and a path to improve! Be ready for a positive life change, not just a way to generate income.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-04-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "The Best infrastructured Insurance Group I've worked with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SFG is a great platform for the insurance business. The people, the culture, the system. the Bonus structure. The promotion of Leadership and personal development changed how I view the world. New oppotunities, new doors, new life! And it is the insurance business - the money can be pretty nice for those that work.

    Cons

    Well, its the insurance business. It ain't easy. Simple, but not easy. Only those with a farmer work ethic, grit, and resilience can make it in the business. Sadly most dont have that, so then from that perspective, its a Con...but if it was easy, we'd all get paid $8 an hour. Immediate sacrifice buys future gratification.

    Continue reading
    Symmetry Financial Group2019-03-26
  10. "Top Company Culture and Incredible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Agency Owner in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Symmetry Financial Group for more than a year

    Pros

    The owners of SFG have developed a business model that shares the wealth of opportunity amongst ALL who work with SFG, instead of keeping it all at the top like the majority of corporate America. I am beyond grateful to work with such an incredible group of individuals I can call family. The work-life balance available to those who follow the SFG system is unparalleled.

    Cons

    Success at SFG requires a strong work ethic and being extremely coachable, and unfortunately not every person possesses both of those qualities in tandem.

    Symmetry Financial Group2019-03-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 56 reviews