Synchrony Customer Service Representative (CSR) Reviews | Glassdoor

Synchrony Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 717 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Margaret M. Keane
455 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "A company that lives by its motto"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful People! Throughout my career, there have always been an abundance of people willing to invest in my career.

    Cons

    No cons to share. If you work hard, it truly gets recognized here!

    Advice to Management

    Keep making Synchrony a GREAT PLACE TO WORK for all levels of employees!

    Synchrony2018-10-17
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, compensation, they make sure you are trained to handle calls

    Cons

    I didn't have any cons with this company

    Synchrony2019-08-05
  3. "Good balance running a profitable business, customer satisfaction, and good employee morale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great communication from the CEO level on down the ranks.

    Cons

    There is no stock purchase plan.

    Advice to Management

    Need a stock purchase plan in 2020.

    Synchrony2019-08-23
  4. "Great Employer, Very Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible with your schedule and what you can do as far as time off goes. Some of the best benefits you will find in a company. Rewarded based on performance, with a bonus sometimes equaling a whole extra paycheck if you’re decent at your job.

    Cons

    Stressful dealing with customers who already can’t afford their bills and calling them at inconvenient hours for them. When they hang up or do something beyond your control, it can impact your performance and bonus.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of calls that don’t go well and don’t make the employee feel that a bad call day is, in whole, their fault.

    Synchrony2019-08-14
  5. "Good Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company works with you, good benefits, comfortable feel not micromanaged, true open door policy, no retaliation policy, ok pay, constant events, everyone is nice, barely any drama

    Cons

    Not diverse anymore. Hispanics outrank every other race and thats currently the only race being promoted to higher positions. Not upset because I trained a few of them but its a a con because being that I trained a lot of people there I have noticed more qualified people for these positions being skipped over for less qualified applicants & people who have been in the role for 7 months promoted over someone of 4 years...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the promotions diverse. Or if you know you’re hiring one demographic say that so no one feels mislead after the fact.

    Synchrony2019-08-15
  6. "I worked as an intern to help develop web based software."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Microservices 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Synchrony for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, understanding management, helpful peer developers

    Cons

    Interns should be more included in everyday tasks, sometimes hard to reach leaders

    Synchrony2019-08-12
  7. "Good but Inconsistent Summer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BLP in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall a place that clearly cares about the intern population. They spend a lot on the interns with the goal of retaining them full time. I had an excellent work experience, managing a project that affected almost 7000 people. I got way more exposure to the business than I anticipated, and regularly presented to senior leadership and even the COO. Very rewarding in that sense. The culture here is very good too....

    Show More

    Cons

    Seems very hit or miss how good your experience is. Some managers are not as good, and many of the projects are less exciting than mine. Know that there is a good element of chance in how your summer turns out. All the other perks are great, but the work can be very variable.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the value proposition is excellent for everyone. Delivering a consistent experience will improve brand perception and help you win recruiting battles.

    Synchrony2019-08-09
  8. "Large org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great place to get introduced to marketing analytics basics

    Cons

    Lack of innovation Large org moves incredibly slowly

    Synchrony2019-08-16
  9. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Team driven, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Lack of direction from leadership

    Synchrony2019-08-01
  10. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Credit in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, Office, Experience, People

    Cons

    None that are worth mentioning

    Synchrony2019-07-30
Found 717 reviews