Synchrony Reviews | Glassdoor

Synchrony Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 717 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Margaret M. Keane
455 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Analytics Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing place to work, great culture

    Cons

    Compensation to hire is great, but low with internal promotions

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-26
  2. "Overall Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Representative in Canton, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are some of the best on the market and are easy to understand/access. The diversity throughout makes Synchrony a very friendly and comfortable place to work.

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement are not as readily available as advertised and, as with any large company or corporation, competition is fierce. Developmental opportunities have declined as well

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-24
  3. "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Not bad , family feeling

    Cons

    Sometimes favoritism that’s really all

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-05-08
  4. "Insurance benefits are great, compensation is low, you will receive verbal abuse from customers..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time

    Pros

    Synchrony offers a great and affordable rate for their employees on their medical, dental and vision insurance.

    Cons

    Customer Service jobs are not for anyone who is unable to maintain a friendly and professional manner at all times. You are graded on whether you can provide high quality detailed assistance on a variety of complex matters, in a moments notice, to customers in a courteous manner in as little time as possible. You will receive verbal abuse from some customers and must maintain a friendly manner at all times. Customer Service Representatives are the voice of the company but the Customer Service Representative position is seen as very lowly and after a certain amount of time, representatives are encouraged to try and move on. Additionally you will adhere to a schedule (you must be willing to work on Saturdays or Sundays) based on what is open...not based on what will truly work for you.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-05-07
  5. "GPTW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great employees, very diverse culture

    Cons

    Promotions are based on levels and not experience

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-17
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fraud Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Development Opportunities, great culture, lots of diversity.

    Cons

    None to share, none to share

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-14
  7. "Best place you will ever work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President, Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people who go out of their way to help you. Very digitally advanced from a bank standpoint and open to try new things. Operates laterally and very open to feedback and allows everyone to be leaders in their projects. Great benefits and work from home policy. They truly value and trust their employees.

    Cons

    Could use more structure in terms of multiple team interactions.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-06
  8. "Incredible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Training Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, family, opportunity, support, and they back all of that up

    Cons

    Not any drawbacks that I've run into in a couple years.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-06
  9. "Great Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Merriam, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synchrony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great supportive managment with awesome benefits

    Cons

    schedule bids can be awful

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-04-01
  10. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections Account Manager in Kettering, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synchrony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are unbeatable. My healthcare deductible was $800 and even before it was met, my policy paid for most of my care. The pay is decent. They used to do monthly bonuses but that went away at the beginning of 2019. They averaged your 2018 bonuses and added that into your base pay. So instead of making $15.50, my pay bumped to $17.50/hr. Onsite gym, cafeteria, marketplace, break rooms, vending machines, etc. You have to have a badge to get into the building so I felt safe while at work. Management is nice and approachable. Ample time off. So many committees to join. You can tell they actually care about your personal growth. Tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    It’s a call center, so the work is very dull and repetitive. You will deal with unhappy customers on a daily basis. As an account manager, part of my job was to take the escalated calls. This is more of my personal experience, but the sick time policy needs to be changed. You get paid for sick days, but there are certain “triggers” (hours) that you hit and that results in corrective action. I get sick a lot, so I was put on corrective action quite a few times for it. I wish I could have the option to take unpaid sick time and not get in trouble for it. Synchrony has been rated a Great Place to Work for the past couple of years and it’s true, but that initiative is pushed on us too much. Around the time of year that we take the survey it’s all you hear about from management.

    Continue reading
    Synchrony2019-03-29
Found 717 reviews