Syneos Health Reviews | Glassdoor

Syneos Health Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 235 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Syneos Health  CEO Alistair Macdonald
Alistair Macdonald
108 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Micro management, long working hours, no work life balance(in 10 reviews)

  • "Lack of communication - yet upper management excels at talking about nothing or in circles yet never addresses a direct question(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Data Management Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CDA in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This department is very welcoming and flexible.

    Cons

    Because most of the people I work are regional or out of state/country it makes communication hard for timid personalities.

    Syneos Health 2019-02-06
  2. "Best company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior CRA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is great at offering opportunities and the teaching and coaching available are unsurpassed. Best Employer I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    I have only been with the company for 2 years and have not found a con yet.

    Syneos Health 2019-04-24
  3. "Great company to work for, colleagues are wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Nurse Edcucator in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Syneos Health part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growth within organization, positive culture

    Cons

    Company has undergone a merger and significant growth

    Syneos Health 2019-04-15
  4. "Working at Syneos Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Syneos Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Offers variety and help when looking for a position

    Cons

    Contract sales means downsizing frequently

    Syneos Health 2019-04-10
  5. "Syneos Health is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clinical Operations Lead in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have found a supportive and collaborative work environment that offers a great work life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of career options for clinically focused personnel are a problem. In order to move onward and upward you must be willing to move into project management

    Advice to Management

    The clinical team is the bread and butter of most organizations and it pays to keep your people happy and fulfilled. There should be greater value placed on the positions that deliver a quality product to clients. Clinical Leads should be considered managers rather than non-traveling CRAs. The lack of recognition or value placed on the clinical lead position is puzzling.

    Syneos Health 2019-04-09
  6. "Great people and intellectually stimulating work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Culture / great coworkers and managers, hands down -Consulting leadership is protective of Consultants. For instance, they may ask why you are not taking vacation time if you have a lot left toward the end of the 3rd quarter, to make sure that project managers are not pressuring you not to take them. Even though I have never seen EMs do that, the h igher up asking me such a question makes me feel that the company actually...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Skills training, other than training that all new hires go through, would be nice. -The starting salary for MBAs is on the low side compared to other firms that also do not require constant traveling.

    Advice to Management

    Strive to maintain the great culture that we have!

    Syneos Health 2019-04-07
  7. "Could be improved in a number of areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good Some personal flexibility

    Cons

    Engagement managers are not well-trained and lots of last minute projects that needs to be turned around ASAP. Many of the managers seemed to be not very knowledgeable about their subject matters and many consultants leave for the door when they can.

    Advice to Management

    Train the engagement managers on how to manage.

    Syneos Health 2019-04-21
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be an amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior CRA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Syneos Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You are lucky to still have a job!

    Cons

    Since the merger, they have become so cheap! Reorganized titles and slashed pay! Travel is nationwide! Benefits are expensive to keep up with and not much help! PTO has also been slashed! Exhausted staff everywhere! CRAs are like invisible robots!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like humans and pay better!

    Syneos Health 2019-04-03
  9. "Generally a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Research Analyst 

      I have been working at Syneos Health full-time

      Pros

      they are very flexible and understanding about life outside of work

      Cons

      they underpay their employees and management is poor

      Syneos Health 2019-04-15
    • Helpful (4)

      "Used to be one of the best places to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Systems Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Syneos Health full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Flexible remote work Good Benefits New HQ location with good amenities

      Cons

      Company's new merger ruined the work place environment, the new management deteriorated in the past year especially the IT department. It is no longer "Let's work together for better solutions" it has become more like "We order, you work!" . This has become a trend in almost all the departments and this is not a very good reflection of the company's motto.

      Advice to Management

      Consider improving work place environment, the company used to be very progressive in terms of this, but unfortunately it has been retrogressing due to the folks from the new company(merger) and their work ethics.

      Syneos Health 2019-04-08
    Found 235 reviews