Syniverse Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
39%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Syniverse President and CEO Dean Douglas  (no image)
Dean Douglas
77 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Need to be conscious of own work/life balance as it is easy to get overwhelmed by amount of work(in 43 reviews)

  • "Senior Management continue to perform lay-offs every year instead of looking for other ways to save money(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company at the time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern - Hourly in Tampa, FL

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intern pay was good, higher than most were paying in Tampa at the time

    Cons

    Opportunities was very limited due to company financial standing at the time

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-01-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great people but company has unclear vision"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ASE Development 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Many talented and dedicated people.

    Cons

    Frequent turnover at the top level creates a confusing message and direction. Too much focus on buzz words and bottom line

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-05-05
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Systems Engineer"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The teamwork was amazing between the groups that I interacted with. We got stuff done. On time, below budget.

    Cons

    The new CEO cancelled all remote work. There was a huge brain drain at the company by virtue of that. Look where are now.

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-05-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Promising 1st impression..all downhill after that"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Security Administrator in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Pay, Great perks (lunches & events, company suite for hockey games & concerts), great work/life balance!

    Cons

    Town Halls outlined revenue goals, and in the time I was there they ALWAYS missed them, leading to annual layoffs. Antiquated IT methodologies. An overwhelmed manager that never had time to adequately train me. My position was eliminated within 2 short years of hire.

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-05-04
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Total disaster"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisory Systems Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Paychecks did not bounce

    Cons

    Contempt for employees, backstabbing, cronyism

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-04-25
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Dumpster fire inferno is lit again"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Syniverse full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    2003, almost two decades ago, visionary CEO of EMC, Mr. Joe Tucci recognized and pioneered the transformation for EMC from a storage company to one of the most successful software companies far ahead of his industry peers. 2020, Dean Douglas, CEO of Syniverse finally caught up to 2003 era and had a epiphany, proclaimed "we are a software company now"...really? what were we before-a hardware company? Unfortunately, when he eventually catches up to the 2019 and finds out that such line did not work for WeWork who went to IPO demanding valuations of technology company, he will be royally disappointed. His next strategy move will be to re-brand with a spiffy website too. Then we will focus on the art of SMS delivery so our systems don't have messages stuck on a server and accidentally release those messages months later to the puzzlement of mobile customers (public domain news article). By the time we figure out SMS, the world will have switched over to RCS. This is the story of Syniverse. He has a reputation for thinking out-of-the-box, its just that he is usually decade or two behind the curve. Until then, lets continue to mix it up with abolishing WFH, cancelling bonuses, blaming front-line workers for failure of C-Suite leadership, setting revenue goals that are laughable to avoid having to pay bonuses and more. This man is blazing trails in mobile communications industry. Better get out of his way. If you are seeking employment here, you deserve what you get on the other end of this journey.

    Cons

    You cannot make this stuff up guys: Feb, 24 2020 - Syniverse, a Tampa-based telecommunications company, announced Monday it hired its first Chief Revenue Officer. (C-Suite Expansion). We have more VP’s and Directors than developers. March 2020 - the Orcs in HR lived up to their reputation by saying there is no better way to celebrate a new C-Suite position and pay for it by announcing layoffs to be implemented during COVID19 Pandemic. Most impacted, front-line managers, engineers and developers

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2020-04-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company under transformation"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at Syniverse full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, good pay, investing in the future

    Cons

    Uncertain future with transformation under way

    Syniverse2020-02-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A Fresh Start with an Innovator in Telecom and Software Services"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Information Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Syniverse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came to Syniverse after being laid off from a company that was in turmoil. Joining Syniverse was a refreshing restart after coming from such dysfunction. The organization values my innovative spirit, and the people have been extremely wonderful during the on-boarding process. * Employees are not engaged in politics and competitive behaviors with each other. The teams are dedicated to innovation, performance, and real collaboration. * Ideas flow openly. Innovation is welcomed. Change is embraced. * Employees are very welcoming to new staff. They take the time to teach you about the telecom industry and internal processes. * The company has an incredible online university for staff training. * The executives are very approachable and down-to-each. * The workforce is incredibly bright. It is a pleasure to work with such smart people every day. * There are more than a hundred products offered by the company. It is a vast environment that is really complex and interesting.

    Cons

    * We have a lot of big ambitions that need to be accomplished quickly. * The organization is privately held and its future is uncertain. We are not sure how the company will evolve.

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2019-12-09
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Health Benefits"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Syniverse full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good PTO, Working Remote, Great Co-Workers

    Cons

    Health Benefits are Terrible, Management has no vision, No willingness to take risk, Not willing to invest in new technology

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2019-10-30
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Adhere to the Company Values and Put them to Practice"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Syniverse full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits if you need them. Some great people.

    Cons

    The not so great people, need to concentrate on their own lives, and less eager on ruining the chances for a new employee to become successful- HR. However, these are their Values: Our values drive us forward--- if they are put to practice honestly, which in my experience it was not. Revolving doors are not good for any business, when you treat employees fairly, things will move forward swiftly. Teams don't happen overnight. Lead with Yes. Seek to Understand.---> this one specially is all words and not practiced, I was not long enough there, and presume these values are all just words to make managers and leadership feel good. You are not allowed to be an individual, if you don't fit the present tribal-like environment you are out. Think Ahead, Move Fast.---> not allowed Debate, Decide, Do. ---> God forbid you have a different opinion, than the rest.. new employees are not entitled to any opinions, or you are labeled in negative ways, even if it is for the betterment, fresh eyes don't count. Reimagine the Possibilities.---> I believe these values will have to be re imagined, to make them possible, or at least put them to practice

    Continue reading
    Syniverse2019-10-03
Found 490 reviews