Synthetic Genomics Reviews | Glassdoor

Synthetic Genomics Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Oliver Fetzer, Ph.D
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work is cutting edge, my co-workers are smart and friendly, and my manager gives me opportunities to grow(in 3 reviews)

  • "Smart people, top technology and a great location to work at(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company is losing good employees because of upper management issues, HR could care less(in 3 reviews)

  • "They ran a bait and switch employe career ad on their site(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "New management at SGI-DNA welcomed change!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synthetic Genomics full-time

    Pros

    The new management team at SGI-DNA is finally making decisions that will position the company for growth and is fixing poor decisions of the past. Its a welcomed change by MOST of the employees who have been there the longest.

    Cons

    Some of the old culture needs to evolve or die.

    Advice to Management

    Keep making the difficult decisions and keep leading. We all appreciate it.

    Synthetic Genomics2018-09-01
  2. "Systematic Gross Incompetence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics

    Pros

    Those with a passion for teaching will find ample opportunity to educate PhD scientists and engineering mangers on the finer points of high school-level mathematics and basic tenants of the scientific method. The SGI team was able to deliver on the noble goal of aiding the founder with shameless self-promotion in the media.

    Cons

    If you're looking for a blueprint on how to milk 100s of millions of dollars from investors and collaboative partners without a solid technical foundation or capable leadership, Theranos might be the first company to cross your mind. But, the bait and switch approach employed by SGI was far superior. Continuously jumping from one failed, non-sensical project to the next for 15 years running gives a company the appearance...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    For gifted storytellers who lack the ability to deliver anything tangible and worthwhile, there are wonderful career opportunities in politics and science fiction writing. It is improbable that you will be able to fill the massive gap between your self-perceived abilities and your actual abilities in this lifetime. This particularly applies to the "technical" management team.

    Synthetic Genomics2019-06-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Poor executive decisions leads to many rounds of layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great, of course they're all gone now.

    Cons

    Huge hiring push last year only to discover the company had no money to pay for the new program, and failed miserably at raising new funds. Lots of people left good jobs to join SGI, only to be laid off a year later.

    Synthetic Genomics2019-06-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I wish "no stars" was an option."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, but they are pretty much gone anyways.

    Cons

    SGI-DNA is the absolute worst environment I have ever been in considering work, Absolutely TOXIC. Degradation of employees, inappropriate work behavior by their "Senior Leadership Team" aka the CEO and all of the sideways people he brought with him from his last biotech "flips.", then they designated the HR person as someone within the leadership team. If you're considering SGI-DNA, you should seriously find ANY other...

    Show More
    Synthetic Genomics2019-04-28
  5. "Great place to get some experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in La Jolla, CA
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, cool science and great benefits.

    Cons

    Upper-Management is out of touch with the day-to-day operations

    Synthetic Genomics2019-02-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "SGI-DNA layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in La Jolla, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SGI-DNA just had layoff yesterday. We now can go work somewhere that is good.

    Cons

    The customers will feel the impact

    Advice to Management

    Please follow the 4Is

    Synthetic Genomics2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Once was a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many at this point

    Cons

    Looks like the company is going down. People are leaving and not being replaced.

    Synthetic Genomics2019-01-21
  8. "Lab tec"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician and Maintenance Laborer in Calipatria, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's challenging, but at the same time you get to learn things that are gratifying.

    Cons

    There was little to none ,structure by staff I mean supervisors they seemed like they were not happy with their job, I did pretty much whatever I wanted to do there, but I tried to help the company with a lot of thier problems that they were having on the site, but too many chiefs ,and not enough indians

    Advice to Management

    Hire honest , hard working , fair men and women and that's all you'll ever need , keep clear of the employees that milk this company and there's a few , trust me I caught them all.

    Synthetic Genomics2018-12-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place you want to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Smart scientists with an interesting vision for future

    Cons

    Poor organization. Negative environment and unhappy people in rank and file. No clear path to creating a profitable company with a future. Too many senior managers that are not making decisions to move the company forward.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Remove leaders that look to create positive company culture and a place where people are excited to come to work.

    Synthetic Genomics2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "So-so company to work for (SGI-DNA specific review)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Associate II in La Jolla, CA

    I have been working at Synthetic Genomics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Used to be (and possibly might still be, maybe) flexible on work schedules, small company so everyone knows each other, frequent interaction with upper management. Interesting opportunities and things to learn if you put in the time to find them. Currently has separate sick days and PTO days, which is very convenient. People within teams are friendly and cooperative with each other.

    Cons

    Massive upheaval/layoffs recently, major changes in structure that may result in good later down the line but currently just mean things are never where they should be and you spend an hour each day trying to figure out who/what/where something went. Very fluctuating on employee satisfaction, which is currently low (as of Q4 2018). Pretty stingy when it comes to raises (was only 1-2% for most employees in my department...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to all departments equally, be patient and understanding of employee frustration during the restructure, and try and help when you can.

    Synthetic Genomics2018-12-03
Found 43 reviews