Synup Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Synup CEO Ashwin Ramesh
Ashwin Ramesh
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lots of learning opportunities,(in 11 reviews)

  • "Good Work Life Balance for the most part(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Having said that, now anyway it's WFH due to COVID-19(in 5 reviews)

  • "Only 1 work from home per month(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Perfect place to learn and grow professionally!

      Jun 9, 2020 - Product Management in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I joined Synup about 5 months back and can gladly say I made the right choice. I started my career with Synup just before the COVID pandemic broke. During these uncertain times, I am particularly impressed with the level of care the company has shown towards its employees as well as the customers' needs. Amidst the economic crisis Synup continued to stay focused on building high quality products, maintaining high standards of customer satisfaction and contributing to overall growth. Company leadership proactively pivoted to support the change in consumer behavior due to COVID and continued to serve customers tirelessly. I can confidently say over the years, Synup has successfully created a quality product that helps their business as well customers, not just one or the other. As a professional, if you have the drive to grow, learn and take on new challenges then Synup is the right place for you! (If you wish become a cog in the wheel then Synup is not for you). In my short time here, I have been presented with unique challenges and taught innovative ways to solve them. I feel I am given the opportunity as well as the platform to demonstrate my skills and to nurture them. There are endless learning opportunities available simply by being in the company of the CEO, senior leaders or other talented team members. At Synup, hard work and willingness to be successful certainly does not go unnoticed. The culture of the company is very inclusive and makes you feel like you are part of one big family!

      Cons

      Similar to any startup, Synup has an extremely faced-paced work environment. The time available to inspect and adapt is very little. You have to be a quick learner to be able to hit the ground running. Fortunately, you are in the company of amazingly talented and helpful team members that make the onboarding smooth.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Hi there and thank you for your review. We're so glad that you took the time out to share your experience at Synup. This review highlights a lot of the work we've done to ensure our staff and clients remain centered in our work and product development. We're always willing to work with our staff on meeting the learning curve, and hope you continue to feel supported. Thank you again!

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Stay Away

      Jan 28, 2021 - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hard to find them ......

      Cons

      Bad management from top down.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      People Operations Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you had a negative experience while working with us. If there is anything that we can do to help, please email us at peopleops@synup.com

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      executive

      Apr 13, 2021 - Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exciting startup with good opportunities to learn and iterate fast

      Cons

      definitely a startup in that they expect a lot and have a lot of projects going on at the same time & too much of micro management , they trust you less when somework is assigned & micro manage a lot

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Synup Response

      People Operations Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement as we continue to learn and grow.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people. Disorganized

      Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hard working people, fun atmosphere,

      Cons

      Disorganized structure with a lack of transparency

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Synup Response

      People Operations Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions for improvement and we thank you for your support and contributions!

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dishonest business practices

      Mar 26, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You'll definitely sharpen your political skills by working here because that's the only way to get anything done. Then you can take those skills to a legitimate company.

      Cons

      Make no mistake, this company has made a recent campaign to flood Glassdoor, G2 Crowd, etc with positive reviews to crowd out all the ones that called it (somewhat rightfully) a scam. The product is vaporware because the CEO only cares about presenting the right image to funders, not about actually having a functioning product or happy clients. Salespeople are encouraged to lie to secure larger up front contracts because every knows it's a race to get as much revenue as possible before the client inevitably churns. The employees who fight dirty and suck up win their petty battles, the ones who actually care burn out, and at the end of the day nothing gets done. The only reason this company is not successful is because of shockingly inept management.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Hi there and thank you for your candid feedback on your experience at Synup. In the past, we have encouraged employees to review our workplace on Glassdoor. This was not done to gather positive reviews, but rather to understand employee experience in a space where they can be anonymous, just as you have done. We appreciate feedback, whether it is positive or negative. Additionally, G2 does an independent internal review audit. Any one who reviews on that platform needs to be qualified and approved by their team to avoid fake reviews. Our product team and engineers work tirelessly to develop a product worthy of investment to market to our customers. This ties directly into the work our sales team does to create awareness and excitement amongst our current and potential customer-base. However, if you have been asked to lie by someone in management, we take that very seriously and encourage you to please reach out to us to discuss this by emailing peopleops.usa@synup.com. Thank you again for your feedback.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      This is a great company

      Apr 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To start off, this is a start-up. We may have grown fast and have HQs in 2 countries, but, we are a start-up. If taking complete ownership of projects, being task oriented and working collaboratively with other departments is not something you do well, I wouldn't recommend you come here. This company will give you the opportunity to try new things, build new things, and see actual growth. You are connected to all arms of the organization which gives you exposure to things you would never have the opportunity to learn otherwise.

      Cons

      Every company has cons. This one however, has FAR few than other companies I've worked for. And despite popular opinion of the below comments, the CEO doesn't ask people to write nice things on Glassdoor.

      4 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Thank you for your review! We are happy to see you understand the challenging and exciting complexity of working at Synup. If you feel there is anything else you'd like to share, don't hesitate to reach out to the PeopleOps Team at Peopleops.usa@synup.com.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      nyc startup culture

      Mar 30, 2020 - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      exciting startup with good opportunities to learn and iterate fast

      Cons

      definitely a startup in that they expect a lot and have a lot of projects going on at the same time

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Hi there and thank you for your review. We value that you took the time to write about your experience at Synup. Our company is certainly hardworking and focused on our goals for 2020, which includes refining our product. Please continue to work with your Product Managers to provide feedback about what we could do to improve our platform--we rely on you and our other staff to keep us innovative! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a helpful review--it is greatly appreciated.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Mar 10, 2020 - Sales Development Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      sound environment for growth development

      Cons

      no cons at this time to mention

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Thank you for the valuable feedback. We’re glad to hear that you see growth with us. We’re working towards bridging any communication divide within and across teams with a plethora of employee engagement and team building activities planned ahead. Our implementations, thus far, focus on harnessing intra-team synergy which should, in turn, massively boost the collaborative spirit at Synup.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Intimidation, Fear, and Ineffectiveness

      Apr 22, 2020 - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There is an addressable market out there and a halfway decent product available to service it. Why aren't you doing better?

      Cons

      At a small company like this the CEO is going to set the tone and boy does he ever. - Putting people on the spot in front of their peers. Why? For what purpose? What is his reason for doing this? How is calling people out on town halls or on the floor of the office to embarrass them in front of the entire company or office in any way beneficial? What do you hope to gain from that strategy? How does it help you or the employee or the rest of the company? It's like something someone would do to a guy when he likes the girl they're with and is jealous. Or to an employee they dislike and hope moves onto another job, but refuses to confront directly because of either a sophomoric, craven mindset around human interaction or an uncertainty about decision-making. Either or both signal to the company lack of assurance and confidence both on an individual and corporate level. I've never seen a CEO signal so much outright reluctance, regret, dismay and and frustration directly at employees. If you are going to take our once-a-month town halls to call people out, put them down, intimidate and embarrass them - what do you hope to gain from doing that with this precious time and everyone's undivided attention? What kind of message do you think that sends? How does the viewer react? How does that empower your subordinates to do their jobs? How does that engender trust or a culture of teamwork and momentum towards accomplishing a shared goal? Do you think other employees see this behavior and wonder when they are going to be next? Do you think that is healthy or unhealthy? Do you think this behavior rears its head elsewhere? In meetings with VCs or partners or clients? This is a clear opportunity that needs to be realized for the CEO's personal development and the company's future. - Someone had the idea that going after large enterprise customers was the next evolution for Synup. When you started to build that sales team did you have your ducks in a row? Could you provide the resources they need? Was the product ready? Did you have leads for them to work on when they started? If not, where was the inefficiency? Will you identify it and solve for it so next time it works better? Who does the sales team report to? You moved your VP of sales out of the role with no clear replacement. Why? How did that save or make you money? How did that empower your new Enterprise sales team? How did that work in concert with your long-term objectives? Who replaced him? Why was he chosen to lead the sales team? Was he more able? More accessible? A better negotiator and seller? More hands-on with the sales team? Would you have been better off never dipping your toe into larger, direct-to-consumer sales and instead focusing on partners and agencies? If so, why didn't you see that coming? What data did you look at that suggested moving into bigger direct-to-consumer deals was viable and profitable? What architecture did you plan for in order to empower its success? How and why did expectations drawn from that data fail to chime with results?

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience at Synup. It sounds as though you may have experienced negative treatment. We take this very seriously, and have shared this feedback with our leadership. You've asked important questions about our operational processes in reference to sales and product. We appreciate these questions and have already begun to implement changes to the company. We have made significant structural changes to both our product and internal stakeholders to have a more defined path for growth and we are confident that these changes will impact us positively over the next year and beyond. If there is anything else you wish to share with us, please don't hesitate to reach to Peopleops.usa@synup.com. We value your feedback and wish you the best.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst experience of my entire life

      Mar 26, 2020 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of one.

      Cons

      Product does not work and there has been little to no enhancements in the past year. CEO is extremely immature, arrogant, and has no idea how to lead people. The rest of upper management is afraid of him for some odd reason, and does nothing to backup their team, and get them what they need. There is absolutely no accountability in getting things done. No hesitation in firing employees without warning, despite the fact they have been given none of necessary resources to do their job successfully.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful

      Synup Response

      We sincerely thank you for your feedback and are saddened to hear that your experience with the company was not a positive one. Synup values its employees above all else and does not taking letting go of staff lightly. Additionally, we take feedback around job performance and our management very seriously and will be sure to discuss this ongoing internally with our leadership. We urge you to please get in contact with us if you have additional feedback by emailing peopleops.usa@synup.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 108 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Synup Job Seekers

    Director Digital Marketing
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Director of Digital Marketing
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Synup? Share Your Experiences

    Synup logo
    or