Cover image for Sysco
Logo
See All Photos

Sysco

Engaged Employer

Sysco

Add a Review

Sysco Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 8, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,464 of over 3K reviews
3.3
54% Recommend to a Friend
Sysco President and CEO Kevin Hourican
64% Approve of CEO

Found 117 of over 3K reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Sysco President and CEO Kevin Hourican
Kevin Hourican
602 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Benefits are good and inexpensive(in 353 reviews)
  • "Flexible and good pay.(in 298 reviews)
  • "There are a lot of really great people working hard everyday to do the right thing.(in 161 reviews)
  • "Good money for warehouse ..always overtime ..stable job..benifits package pretty good as well..(in 70 reviews)
  • "Good training and products to sell(in 67 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management extremely long hour its paid slave work be ready to work 6 days a week(in 163 reviews)
  • "The hours are long (endless really) and finding work/life balance is a daily struggle.(in 147 reviews)
  • "No work life balance since you're so exhausted you can't do anything on the weekends and have no time when you get off work.(in 113 reviews)
  • "Terrible upper management.(in 62 reviews)
  • "Certain managers are downright rude and more concerned with advancing their own career than the department they manage(in 45 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Sysco and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Love it Here

    Jan 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - understanding bosses - flexible schedule - transparency among upper management

    Cons

    - cafeteria food is kind of pricy

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Director

    Thank you for providing positive feedback about what it’s like to work at Sysco. We appreciate all that you do, and we’re happy to hear that you are enjoying being a member of the Sysco team.

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Purchasing department

    Aug 24, 2021 - Merchandiser in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits. Free life insurance, full salary pay for maternity leave.

    Cons

    Favoritism in upper management. Yearly salary increase max 2%.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated! Sysco works to make sure each associate is appropriately rewarded for their hard work and dedication to our company. Sysco values you and your efforts to help us fulfill our Vision to be our customer’s most valued and trusted business partner! Sysco aims to provide the best management and support possible for our associates, and we take your feedback seriously. We encourage you to reach out to us at 877-777-4020 so that we can directly address your concerns.

  3. Join the Sysco team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    It is not what they say it is. This company has a false positive culture.

    Sep 8, 2021 - Sales Consultant in South Florida, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exposure to distribution, logistics, and cash flow challenges within the F&B sector. You can learn a lot from this company.

    Cons

    Very low paying position for a 7 day a week job. Weak bonus structure is subjective, and changes every quarter based on corporate initiatives. Middle and upper management at the local OPCOs have limited latitude, and very little time to assist individuals. Corporate office has total control! This is a job for a young professional starting their career, or a seasoned individual looking for their last job right before retirement. If you have a family and you live in an expensive demographic, you will need an additional part time job. If you don't get promoted inside of 3 years, quit.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience working at Sysco. We are committed to creating an open, diverse, and respectful environment and take feedback from our current and former associates very seriously. We’re disappointed to read that you didn’t have a good experience and hope that you provided feedback to the leadership of your Sysco company so that your specific concerns could be addressed. There are many options at Sysco for providing feedback including anonymous methods such as the SyscoSpeaks Associate Engagement Survey and the Sysco Ethics Line. Again, we are sorry to learn that your experience with Sysco was disappointing. We wish you the very best in the future.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    HR is there to protect the company and its uneducated upper management

    Jul 25, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life balance. Benefits. The company structure, if it applied in all departments would be great.

    Cons

    However, HR is there to protect the company and its uneducated upper management. The ethics line is a hoax. If you call in an issue and attempt to follow up there is no record of such report. Even when given a confirmation #. Micromanaged. If you play the game of office politics you'll fit right in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Sysco associates are the reason why we have become the world’s foodservice distribution leader. We are committed to continuous improvement while upholding our Vision, Values, and Code of Conduct. We take your feedback seriously and welcome you to call us at 877-777-4020 so that we may obtain greater detail regarding your concerns.

  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Let me down and very underpaid

    May 20, 2021 - Marketing Associate in Suffolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Benefits as far as health care and 401K

    Cons

    Poor upper management and severely underpaid

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Director

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience with Sysco. We’re proud of the benefits we offer and we’re committed to providing our associates with the tools and information they need to take full advantage of these offerings. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and will take this into consideration for the future.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Everything changed

    Apr 30, 2021 - Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are great and work life balance

    Cons

    Underpaid upper management is all talk deliveries are a nightmare

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Director

    We appreciate that you took the time to leave a review. We take all viewpoints into consideration. We are committed to providing our associates with a competitive, comprehensive pay and benefits package and welcome you to call us at 877-777-4020 so that we may obtain greater detail regarding your concerns.

  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company to work for

    Mar 26, 2021 - Marketing Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technology, product list, transportation, product quality

    Cons

    Upper management, good old boys and politics

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Sysco Response

    Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed and valued your time at Sysco. We appreciate your contributions to the company and we wish you the best of luck in the future!

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years