System Pavers Reviews

Updated May 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
System Pavers CEO Larry Green
Larry Green
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work environment and good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, positive work environment, catered lunches on Wednesdays and breakfasts on Fridays(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "AMAZING PLACE TO WORK"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Construction Coordinator in Union City, CA

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    System Pavers cares a lot about their employees and takes very good care of them. From monthly outings with you team, annual get togethers with the whole company, catered lunches, AMAZING work-life balance. If I could, I would relive my experience with SP. Management is very communicative, so there's always direction/ support when needed. Every position is a bit of a challenge so there's always new things to learn (expansion of your knowledge ;)) The culture is very family oriented.

    Cons

    There are none at all

    System Pavers2020-03-11
  2. "Great job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Fremont, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great structure, great work life balance, and great culture

    Cons

    Low base salary and not a great ability to advance because there are set salary/commission caps that keep from motivating someone for the long term in that position.

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2020-05-26
  3. "Don't waste your valuable time."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly and organized company that is in a interesting industry but....

    Cons

    They are teaching you sales techniques from the 80's. It does NOT work in today's world. The worst part is that their pricing structure for outside patio design is typically DOUBLE the competition. Double. And there is A LOT of competition. You will drive and work so very hard, and with great intentions. Then your customers will look at you like you have 3 heads because the other bids they got are SO SO much lower. Luckily most customers are nice and simply say "we'll have to think about it" as they recover from their wooziness after seeing the price. If you give this kind of feedback to the company, they will tell you to try harder and sell harder, follow the "System" and you will have success. Unfortunately, the "System" is not honest and not in the best interest of the homeowner. It is however in the best interest of the owner's ever-greedy pockets. The owners are very nice as long as you produce. Unfortunately, your production is taking advantage of nice people looking to update their outdoor living space. Wake up System Pavers. The is just not how the world works today. People are savvy and will not pay 30-50% more. Would you?! SAVING THE BEST FOR LAST ----- A lot of the positive reviews on Glassdoor are because they make you write a positive review while you are working there!!!! Yep, wow, and true!

    System Pavers2020-04-26

    System Pavers Response

    May 14, 2020

    Your review is surprising as you say you were with us for over 3 years. We are sorry that after 3 years you have left with such as poor opinion of us and what we do. I know for a fact, that System Pavers strives to be better for our employees and our customers on a daily basis. That is what motivates the owners of the company, not greed as you say. Our Mission statement says, “…we are committed to inspiring, creating and building beautiful, functional and enduring projects for our Customers,” and that is what has, and will continue to keep us in business. I’d like to respond to your comment on our sales techniques, since you were here for 3 years, you saw firsthand the evolution our sales process has gone through. Our forward thinking and constant desire to improve and evolve is what has built such a strong customer base over the last 27 years. To say we are double the price than our competition is just not accurate. We are slightly higher in price but we provide so much more to our customers than the competition. Our competition does not employ construction staff like we do to ensure quality. We have a construction team that is on each job that constantly strive for perfection. We have been in business for 27 years so our customers can be assured that if they need a repair whether the job went in 15 years ago, or 15 years from now, we are in business to address their needs. That is the value we bring and our customers benefit from. I especially want to correct you on your last statement. We have never forced anyone to write a review or had any input into what someone might want to write on this website. Our reviews are our employees words and no one is ever “made” to write one. We appreciate feedback. It gives us a chance to hear what our employees have to say and learn from it. For that, we appreciate your review.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "System Pavers is an amazing organization that enforces a positive company culture and a fantastic client experience!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Acquisition Specialist in Union City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic Company Culture Exceptional Customer Service Necessary Training tools for ultimate employment success Solid pathway to a successful and fulfilling work-life Gorgeous front yard and backyard patios Efficiency in planning projects Exceptional deadlines being met Well balanced work and family environment

    Cons

    None to provide at this time

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2020-03-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator in Union City, CA

    I have been working at System Pavers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good co workers, good lunches

    Cons

    Bad management and no direction from any of the “higher ups”

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2020-02-21

    System Pavers Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for your review. We are very interested in hearing from you further. We care that our employees enjoy working here at System Pavers and we strive to be better. If you would be interested in sharing more so that we can learn what you feel we need work on, please call the corporate office number at 949-263-8300 and ask to speak with the Human Resources Manager.

  6. "Good work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Truck Driver in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at System Pavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed work environment and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Inconsistent bonuses, constant re-structuring of departments resulting in lack of organization.

    System Pavers2020-01-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Be prepared to guard your commission (commission only!)"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at System Pavers

    Pros

    Options for days on and off

    Cons

    SP sends it’s Designers up to 100 miles away on a lead knowing that there was no real interest from the HO in doing a project. When you are commission only, solid qualified leads are a must! With almost zero training on how to put a jobs in the ground, anything missed is against your commission. If you are not coming from this industry, beware. Managers are overloaded and have little time to train you.

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2019-12-29

    System Pavers Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for your comments. We do want to hear from our current and past employees as we use the information to learn and improve. I would like to respond that we do provide qualified leads to our Design Consultants. That is one of the great benefits to being a Design Consultant here at System Pavers in that we do provide leads to our reps. We like to say, all our leads are good. Anytime we get you in a door, is a great opportunity to turn someone into a satisfied customer. We have a good product and a solid history of providing our customers beautiful outdoor living spaces that they can enjoy for many years. As far as the travel, we do try to schedule leads around our employees home base but depending on the lead and who may be available that day, you may be scheduled for some that are further away. Our goal is to not have that happen often. Anyone that needs training on construction, just needs to ask. We have a construction department that would be more than happy to help anyone with questions you may have concerning installation. Again, thank you for your comments and we wish you all the best.

  8. "Construction, not sales is king"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Consultant in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great sales training, if you can pass it Great customer product offering

    Cons

    Construction, not sales is king Too many unqualified/bad leads that can several (3-4)hours

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2019-12-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company with lots of opportunity for hard working skilled people that want a fun and exciting career."

    5.0
     

    I have been working at System Pavers

    Pros

    Fun Flexible lots of growth potential Inspirational Fair compensation

    Cons

    Lots of driving and traffic

    Continue reading
    System Pavers2019-11-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good but long hours"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at System Pavers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company advertises alot and is efficient at getting jobs done.

    Cons

    Hours can be later than usual as meeting with homeowners is usually later in the day into the early evening.

    System Pavers2019-10-20
Found 115 reviews