Systems Evolution Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Systems Evolution Consultant Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 172 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Bill Gallagher
73 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Employee Ownership, Open-Book"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Great clients with projects that are complex, challenging, enterprise, and impactful. - We’re “sticky” at clients, do a great job, delivery with integrity keeps us at a client longer. - Employee ownership means we are all accountable, driving the business forward, helping one another. - Leadership that cares about the employees, strives to help us succeed. - Compensation is competitive, stock ownership is lucrative.

    Cons

    I don’t really have any cons. Our leadership addresses things before they become a ‘con’.

    Systems Evolution2019-05-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Transparency, Collaboration, Empowerment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Who’s up for a long review on what it’s really like to be part of SEI? You are? Great! Let’s dive in. I’ve been part of SEI for over five years and I’m as sure today as I was on the day I joined that this is where I want to spend the rest of my career. And that’s saying something given that I easily have another 20-25 years ahead of me work-wise. How many people feel that way about companies nowadays? Rarely...

    Show More

    Cons

    The great thing about SEI is that if you're experiencing a con, well, you're part owner of the firm - you're empowered to fix it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep true to the model, it's worked since 1992 for a reason.

    Systems Evolution2019-06-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing, Employee Owned Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Culture, Salary, Opportunity, Challenging Work, Family

    Cons

    Lack of a 401K match

    Systems Evolution2019-05-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A little like the show 'Mad Men'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All the staff is very hard working and very dedicated to the company. There are some very talented individuals with a wide range of backgrounds and deep experience.

    Cons

    Brand Recognition is Poor - Very few people have ever heard of SEI even though other similar sized, similar style firms in the area are well known. Work is often Staff Augmentation - A surprising number of consultants are in the same role/assignment for 5+ years, thus basically functioning as staff augmentation. About a third of the contracts are temp-staff roles, not advice/ expertise/ consulting. Diversity -...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The culture needs to 'grow up' in line with the growth of the company. You have aspirations to grow, but that will require a more professional internal culture.

    Systems Evolution2019-06-04
  5. Helpful (7)

    "2.5 Stars: A good job not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time

    Pros

    Nice consultants, decent set of clients Pretty good pay for the work once you get promoted Very social

    Cons

    Not a career... no where to go. With only one Managing Director per office there just isn't an opportunity, period. 90% of the work is staff augmentation not strategic project management. They talk about employee ownership which is great, but the upside is so small for newer folks is financially meaningless Haven't seen the leadership lead. That includes the CEO and local leadership

    Advice to Management

    What's the value proposition for new hires or established Principles without chunks of equity?

    Systems Evolution2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with Lots of opportunities to grow and develop given the chance Interesting culture

    Cons

    Interesting culture almost cult-like Not a lot of diversity

    Systems Evolution2019-05-07
  7. "Best place I've ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior, Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Every consultant has access to leadership, is supported by the entire company (anyone can reach out for help and have it, usually within the hour), is treated equally with a very compensation structure, has a seat at the decision table on day 1, and has the opportunity to share one's unique talents and passions to grow the business. The culture is one of family, the interview process is slow to allow relationships...

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't call the expectation to perform at client as well as support growing the organization to everyone's benefit a con, but it could be a consideration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Systems Evolution2019-03-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Joining SEI was the best decision I could have made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Technology Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SEI's onboarding and orientation was fantastic and fun. The people through are amazing. To have the ability to collaborate with wonderfully smart and nice people across all locations to improve the outcomes for our stakeholders is exciting. SEI offers competitive salaries, good benefits, and interesting work. I'm so glad I joined the organization.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your consultants and protect the culture - you have a winning combination right now with everything you are doing.

    Systems Evolution2019-03-08
  9. "Amazing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Extremely valued culture that has been kept undiluted since the founder. -Everyone is very open and ready to answer questions and concerns. -SEI embodies true collaboration and rewards it. Feels like everyone is there for you. -Involvement in how the business runs and everyone is encouraged to be involved. -Ability to buy stock in the company. - You are compensated for time worked, not boxed into a salary that doesn't...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Not being a good fit for the culture would likely be stressful, since you may feel like the odd person out. The hiring process usually filters this issue out. -There is an expectation that you are involved beyond just delivering your project. That may not be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, the company has been built out well.

    Systems Evolution2019-02-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company and each office are transparent. You are involved in every aspect of the business. It's refreshing to be valued as a person of the company and not a number. Collaboration throughout all offices is encouraged and you quickly get to know the majority of the company in your first few months.

    Cons

    No cons for me but this isn't a fit for everyone. You have to be a team player, be willing to put in hard work and have an entrepreneurial mindset.

    Systems Evolution2019-02-07
Found 172 reviews