Systems Evolution "ownership model" Reviews | Glassdoor

Systems Evolution Employee Reviews about "ownership model"

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 221 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Bill Gallagher
100 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is not often you find a company that understands how to grow, innovates and understands work-life balance(in 41 reviews)

  • "The atmosphere of collaboration created by the employee-ownership model provides an excellent example of how a consulting company should operate(in 24 reviews)

Cons
  • "The interview process may seem long (and SEI is working on bringing in efficiencies here)(in 11 reviews)

  • "This includes business development, recruiting and delivery(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "ownership model"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Business and Technology Consultant 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time

      Pros

      It’s only been a few months since I joined SEI, but it has been a great experience so far. SEI is a flat organization where employees are treated like family, are all equally accountable and are empowered to be owners. This when combined with a warm, welcoming and fun culture makes SEI a delight and motivates you to put your best foot forward always. SEIers are talented, humble and approachable. Though spread across...

      Show More

      Cons

      The interview process may seem long (and SEI is working on bringing in efficiencies here). Having said that, the process is structured to give candidates an equal opportunity to interview SEI as well. From my experience, I got a good sense of the people I’ll be working with, which made my transition into SEI quite seamless.

      Advice to Management

      SEI’s strategic anchors have served it well and should therefore be protected

      Systems Evolution2018-11-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Incredible culture, incredible people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Managing Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Systems Evolution's model of local offices with a strong culture creates the ultimate family atmosphere. As a flat organization - where hierarchies truly do not exist - team members are encouraged to lean in on one another, in both their personal and professional lives. The atmosphere of collaboration created by the employee-ownership model provides an excellent example of how a consulting company should operate.

      Cons

      In a small office, local model team members are asked to wear multiple hats. This includes business development, recruiting and delivery. While I find this exciting, it can be overwhelming for some.

      Systems Evolution2018-06-07
    • "Principal Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Core values are spot on, love the collaboration, the variety of work and the employee ownership model!

      Cons

      Not the place to work if titles and ladder climbing are important to you - if you love the employee owner model it's a wonderful company.

      Systems Evolution2018-05-08
    • Helpful (5)

      "Great Culture, Great Team!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        SEI is the most collaborative environment in which I've ever worked. The team is top- notch, coming from both consulting and industry backgrounds, across industries and specializations. I've never seen such support and mutual respect, and credit the flat org model, lack of competition, and rigorous hiring process as key factors to consistently attract top talent. The employee-ownership model is unique and motivating...

        Show More

        Cons

        If you aren't interested in business development and recruiting activities, you may find the model to be a con. While superior client delivery is the top priority - success is also tied to other activities outside of client hours, and this may not be for everyone. If you are looking to climb the ladder, the flat org structure will not provide that opportunity.

        Advice to Management

        Continue to be open to new ideas and new perspectives as the organization grows. And keep protecting the culture!

        Systems Evolution2017-08-25
      • Helpful (8)

        "The Perfect Consulting Model"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Dallas, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The key components of the organization fit together and compliment one another better than any organization I've come across... 1. The ownership model and flat organization breeds collaboration and healthy accountability, while avoiding the cutthroat nature of the big firms. The CEO and leadership team simply refuse to treat their folks as subordinates, but rather as peers and fellow shareholders, which breeds an incredible...

        Show More

        Cons

        This is not a place to simply deliver (e.g. bill) and go home. You're not just "an employee" at SEI. As a shareholder, some folks will need to shift their mindset and embrace their ownership in order to be successful here.

        Advice to Management

        Stick to your laurels, and don't flinch. The model is truly one of a kind. Let's hope the secret doesn't get out!

        Systems Evolution2017-07-15
      • Helpful (8)

        "Great organization! - Glad I made the move!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        In an employee-owned organization that thrives on collaboration and participation, SEI stands out with an amazing team of individuals who genuinely care about the organization they represent each day at our clients. Before discovering SEI, I thought all consulting was a travel-intensive line of work…not the case at SEI where it is a local consulting model. From the start when I heard about and participated in the ‘gauntlet’...

        Show More

        Cons

        Tough to think of any, but finding the right people to fit the seasoned consultant role who also have an entrepreneurial mindset can be a challenge. The gauntlet process is rigorous for a reason!

        Advice to Management

        Continue to be actively engaged in each office and guard the culture.

        Systems Evolution2017-07-10
      • "Principal Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Cincinnati, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        SEI has a relatively unique model among consulting firms. Collaboration is king here and it is encouraged by several policies. First, SEI is owned 100% by current employees, so when you leave, you need to sell any stock you own. Additionally, almost all of the profits are paid to the employee owners as dividends. This encourages an "ownership" attitude vs. an "employee" attitude. All employees are encouraged to get...

        Show More

        Cons

        As alluded to in the Pros section, the ownership model is not suited for everyone. You are expected to act like an owner and make contributions to move the business forward in meaningful ways. If you are seeking recognition, titles, fancy offices, etc., you will probably not be happy here. Be prepared to roll up your sleeves and contribute, but also to be rewarded for your...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I feel we are on a good track. We have a large book of unmet business, so it can be tempting to compromise hiring standards. Continue to guard the gate and keep standards high.

        Systems Evolution2016-12-05
      • Helpful (13)

        "Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Systems Evolution full-time

        Pros

        I love the structure of the company and that it is an employee-based ownership model. The employees are empowered to make the decisions and represent the company as they see fit, for the most part, without question.

        Cons

        There are several areas within the company that can be very skewed by the senior leadership team and it becomes very, for lack of a High School Term, click-ish ... if you aren't making the right people happy you aren't going to succeed. To me, that is very sad in a company that has so much to offer.

        Advice to Management

        Take power away from people who shouldn't have it in the first place. There are people who have been with the company for years who, for whatever reason, have more power than they should vs. the voices of reason. Their 'choices' or 'preferences' in employees shouldn't have such a a high regard/credit.

        Systems Evolution2016-04-21
      • "Business Development Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Culture & Values
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Miami, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Systems Evolution for more than a year

        Pros

        A true ownership model - excellent culture.

        Cons

        Maybe a little more marketing support for the biz dev efforts.

        Systems Evolution2016-02-23
      • "Senior Consultant"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Chicago, IL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Systems Evolution full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Ownership model, have equity in the company and am paid dividends based on our performance - Flat structure, I am involved in most of the decision making - Local model, only travel when I want

        Cons

        - Difficult to specialize in a single technology or product - Absence of big 4 brand name recognition

        Advice to Management

        Continue to improve ways to share information across city

        Systems Evolution2016-02-02
      Found 221 reviews