T. Marzetti Reviews | Glassdoor

T. Marzetti Reviews

Updated Oct 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
T. Marzetti CEO Dave Ciesinski (no image)
Dave Ciesinski
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Other pros: Good benefits, competitive salary, diverse workforce, family-like atmosphere, growing company(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "no room for growth or promotions(in 3 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership out of touch - they think they have a great culture but don't(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Growing company with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Coordinator in Altoona, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at T. Marzetti full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are what make this place incredible. Other pros: Good benefits, competitive salary, diverse workforce, family-like atmosphere, growing company

    Cons

    Because the company is rapidly growing through increased business along with acquisitions, there are some growing pains. Management is making strides to improve current processes in every area of the business and implementing change is never easy. Many teams are understaffed as well due to the current unemployment rate.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Continue to incentivize, appreciate, and empower associates at every level of the company. Listen to management at the plant-level to ensure that they aren't being overloaded. Also throw more parties!

    T. Marzetti2019-09-20
  2. "Great money for no degree"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging Associate in Horse Cave, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at T. Marzetti full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good paycheck and consistent work hours

    Cons

    Long work hours and you must work as a temporary for a long time before getting hired full-time

    T. Marzetti2019-10-21
  3. "The Better Food Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Westerville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T. Marzetti full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A clear strategy to winning! An open enviroment where everyone knows how they contribute.

    Cons

    Cant think of a single one

    Advice to Management

    Continue executing the strategy

    T. Marzetti2019-08-27
  4. "Lead Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Sales 

    I have been working at T. Marzetti full-time

    Pros

    Great leadership from new executives

    Cons

    Tenured organization that is working hard to catch up to industry standards

    T. Marzetti2019-08-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great at first, but goes downhill fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRIS Analyst in Westerville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T. Marzetti full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food. Decent Pay. Company Activities.

    Cons

    The first week here was great, filled with food and fun. Second week, they expected me to solve all of their problems and jump into things. I tried my best, but I had a lot of gaps from not getting a solid foundation. Anytime something goes wrong, they like to blame people. I work a BA, Project Manager, and QA. The work is too much for one person, yet they still want perfection. My manager loves to tell me that the... person before me did a much better job on a daily basis. No wonder the turnover is so high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't overload the people with work and put blame on them when things go wrong

    T. Marzetti2019-09-23
  6. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Analyst 

    I have been working at T. Marzetti full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and great coworkers

    Cons

    Work every weekend and no communication

    T. Marzetti2019-08-12
  7. "Great Organization, Getting better each day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in Westerville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at T. Marzetti part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Leadership, Brands, Quality, Future outlook

    Cons

    A little behind technology wise but getting up to speed

    T. Marzetti2019-07-15
  8. "Mixed up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Westerville, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T. Marzetti full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the none click people

    Cons

    HR and new senior leadership

    Advice to Management

    Make some changes

    T. Marzetti2019-07-23
  9. "Great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westerville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at T. Marzetti part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to grow and learn outside your department , collaborate with cross functional departments, and have flexibility with your work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some of the processes are very manual

    T. Marzetti2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Lost faith in such a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Continuous Improvement Site Leader & Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at T. Marzetti full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working day to day operations with the hourly employees. At one time the company valued training.

    Cons

    Tried to promote many turns within the ranks and was never given an opportunity, however I performed tasks from said job without the titles. My superiors were poor examples of leadership. Didn’t value their authority due to numerous misguided judgement calls they’d make.

    Advice to Management

    This company was great to work for a little over 3 years ago. You have to bring back employee values. Invest in the staff, show them you care and need their knowledge and experience. I left making more money but if I was offered a managers position I would have stayed, even making less money. I enjoyed my time there but it turned exhausting trying to promote up the corporate ranks when it felt the company wasn’t... welcoming to do the same. Sad end to a 7 year career.

    Show More
    T. Marzetti2019-04-24
Found 49 reviews