T. Rowe Price "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

T. Rowe Price Employee Reviews about "call center"

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
T. Rowe Price CEO William J. Stromberg  (no image)
William J. Stromberg
194 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "call center"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Former High Net Worth Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time

    Pros

    Very ethical and the colleagues I worked with were all excellent and it was a real team environment .

    Cons

    It's call center work for finance and customer service so it can be stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more "off the phone" time for long term phone jockies.

    T. Rowe Price2017-08-26
  2. "Grind out time in call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - WISE Special Plans Associate in Owings Mills, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great, compensation is competitive

    Cons

    Must grind out time in the call center for any advancement opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Created different paths into company that do not wear down new employees

    T. Rowe Price2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, call center job, but no time to enjoy working for the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They do offer a lot of options to be involved with the company (different social groups/sports teams). They will have certain events with food, offering wellness checks, as well as massages. Open cubicle work environment. Cheap options for lunch. Job is fairly easy as within a few months you learn all the types of calls you will receive as well as how to answer them. If there happens to be a random... irregular situation you can easily contact a help line who will walk you through it. Good pay for sitting and taking calls all day. The supervisors are very nice and available to help you on calls or stand up for you when a caller is upset and verbally abusing you. I felt the company and supervisors were very understanding of mistakes.

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be on the phones for 1 year before you can advance to another position, non-negotiable. Advancement is limited within the call center side of things. Even if you've been on the phones for 1 year, it's very unlikely to really move to another position due to how many other reps are trying to advance. Highly competitive. Strict adherence to metrics (call times/when you're on and off). Due to... the call center environment, you have very little time to read emails to even be informed about the involvement pros I listed above, and much less time to even partake in those activities. You'll be forced to work a lot more overtime than you're expecting while senior management is leaving early. Job is sort of mundane as you get used to the same type of call and hope you don't get an angry person who doesn't understand that investments fluctuate with the market and take out their anger on you or the company. Some of the correspondence sent out to participants has confusing vocabulary for the recipients which drive up call volumes and often times frustrate people as they think their account is being manipulated due to fund changes or an address change being called a "transaction" on their account. Not much of an ability to make an impact on the backlines of the company and feeling like just a small cog in the system. The only way to offer feedback is to email your supervisor who will send it up and you'll never hear back.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your reps on what things can be improved. Trust them as subject matter experts (SME's) since they are the first point of contact representing T. Rowe Price for most participants. Ask them what they think may be driving call volumes, longer call times, and ways the participant experience could be improved. I ran data analytics on the e-verify system for a question that caused most participants to fail and be... locked out of the account. Using 4 other members of my team, we logged every instance a participant failed/passed the process and whether or not it contained the question we were testing for. I logged this and sent it up to lean management. The problem was not recognized for 2 months despite many other reps elevating this issue to their supervisors. The reason I ended up leaving the company was because I didn't feel there was any time to feel apart of the company. I constantly felt dispensable and like my time didn't matter. Due to the constant OT and strict metric system, I wasn't willing to stay longer to read emails and sign up for lunches, massages, read forums, and contribute. I didn't feel that offering feedback as a rep was valued and even though it's encouraged there was never any time to offer that feedback without staying late or showing up early. It made me not want to help out a company that I didn't feel was willing to let me help them.

    Show More
    T. Rowe Price2019-08-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "WISE department former customer service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Owings Mills, MD

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company reputation, good health and wellness benefits, you can use points you receive from excelling at work to buy gift cards and merchandise

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime almost every week, scheduled breaks and lunches. Strict schedule with almost no ability to meet coworkers, network or attend company events. Typical call center job. Supervisors micromanage

    T. Rowe Price2018-09-21
  5. "Overall decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at T. Rowe Price

    Pros

    Good Benefits and most supervisors are helpful.

    Cons

    They don't tell you it is a call center.

    T. Rowe Price2018-02-27
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Misguided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PSC Representative in Owings Mills, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T. Rowe Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It alllllllll about the bene’s baby. They have no other way of justifying your sentence in a glorified call center.

    Cons

    Can someone please do an overhaul of the call center(s) management. 9/10 supervisors are toxic. Turnover rates clearly reflect an issue...

    Advice to Management

    Stop belittling your employees, and thinking you’re finally going to win that high school popularity contest.

    T. Rowe Price2017-10-23
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Stay away from PSC now known as WISE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Participant Service Center (PSC) in Owings, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, ability to get licenses with FINRA, meet some genuine people, these are the only pros I promise because once you see how horrible the place is you will be using the PTO like crazy

    Cons

    Overtime overtime overtime, the people running this department don't use logic or common sense. They let go half the department who can't obtain a series 6, and 63 license but don't replace them. Meanwhile calls are increased and mandatory overtime is getting scheduled. Working ten hour days with 30 minute lunches and getting watched like a hawk if you log off the phone. This is pure call center hell I wouldn't... recommend anyone coming to work for this department it was the worst time of my life here. Everyone is throwing everyone under the bus in order to move ahead, whatever you do, do not apply for financial services group or any phone group. You will be stuck in the position after your year is up

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up and use your brain, people are leaving because it's horrible and you can't even find people to fill the seats of others who have left! Good luck

    T. Rowe Price2017-05-01
  8. Helpful (3)

    "It's a decent job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T. Rowe Price full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starting salary is $38k and you're bumped up to $40k after passing the Series 6 and Series 63. Other than that, you're paid time to study for your licenses.

    Cons

    Micromanaging; Office politics; favoritism; lousy amount of vacation days. The job itself is horrendous. You're basically a glorified call center rep.

    Advice to Management

    Promote the people who actually have skill and talent instead of the people who think they're better than everyone else.

    T. Rowe Price2017-04-26
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poorly Staffed Glorified Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Participant Service Center (PSC) in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at T. Rowe Price full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some decent benefits such a health insurance and 401K matching. Also has stock purchase program. You get your own cubical.

    Cons

    Constant overtime. Every Wednesday an email goes out with the amount of overtime scheduled for the following week. Out of the 14 weeks this year 14 of those weeks had mandatory overtime. I understand overtime is something to be expected but when a company has to preschedule overtime every week, there is either a staffing or management problem. You sit at a desk for 9-10 hours a day taking calls. Glorified call... center. Team meetings were promised every week, yet each week they are cancelled. Coaching sessions, when not canceled just go over how you can be a better operator. Constant restructuring and changing of protocols with poor communication surrounding changes.

    Show More
    T. Rowe Price2017-04-18
  10. "Overview of Working for TRP as a PSC Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PSC Representative in Owings Mills, MD

    I worked at T. Rowe Price full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -The overarching company culture is centered around keeping its employees happy and trying to give them the most opportunity for growth within the firm. -Many things to boost worker morale like free food, a nice rewards site for employee recognition, discounts to local attractions or sporting events, and a solid 401(k) plan w/ employer match and discretionary contributions

    Cons

    -This position is as low on the bottom of the totem pole as can get in any of TRP's main functions. You're a glorified call center representative and even though it is an inbound call center where you're educated on all things 401(k)/IRA your participants still feel like treating you as if you're a telemarketer or like you're supposed to give them the ability to do whatever they want with money in a retirement... account regardless of IRS rules and plan guidelines. -You consistently get mandatory overtime with little notice of it so in weeks where it's OT heavy it may feel like work is life. For 8 months I was here, our department as a whole was understaffed which led to everyone working constantly and the level of burnout among everyone was palpable when I got in the door every morning. -It often seems like supervisors do absolutely nothing throughout the day and the way seniors and supervisors are selected often appears questionable considering everyone's credentials -Low paying compared to competitors in the industry with similar positions -Very hard and tenuous process to obtain a new role trying to transfer out of PSC/II Services

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you have no say on employee compensation, at least do your best to empathize with the common worker in Investor Services and try to put yourself in their shoes every once in a while.

    T. Rowe Price2017-01-26
Found 34 reviews