TD Ameritrade Reviews in New York City, NY | Glassdoor

TD Ameritrade New York City Reviews

Updated June 12, 2017
85 reviews

Filter

Filter

New York City, NY Area

3.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO & President Tim Hockey
Tim Hockey
7 Ratings

85 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Big company with old complex applications"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Able to work from home when needed.
    People are helpful and friendly. Always moving towards next best thing in technology.

    Cons

    As applications are getting older and then adding new technology around makes it more complex in the end.
    Benefits are standard. There is no concept of separate sick leaves. Salary is not competitive.

    Advice to Management

    Please add few days for sick days.

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Jun 15, 2017

    We appreciate your honest feedback. We're proud of the great culture our associates have cultivated! Associate feedback is what drives us to adjust and deliver great benefits and experiences to every ... More


  2. "QA Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - QA Analyst in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Contractor - QA Analyst in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to gain a valuable experience

    Cons

    I don't know what cons to share, I liked everything

  3. "Project Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The culture is a great company is fairly family oriented, benefits are comparable with the big financial houses and they pay for performance on a quarterly basis. So you can really gauge your performance.

    Cons

    The company has a bit too many passive aggressive people that hold back progress by not stating the truth on issues or processes until things are on verge of breaking.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of all these people that really do share in company culture or strive for a higher level of performance.

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Mar 17, 2017

    Thank you for the very thoughtful feedback. TD Ameritrade consistently strives to provide a competitive compensation structure, and often goes above and beyond business averages with offerings such ... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "glass ceiling"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good for a quick start to get an experience and then better to move on for something different as you meet your glass ceiling here.

    Cons

    You're doing the same things for years with no being promoted and with a little sal increase. Managers tend to give empty promises and then not to execute them. Work/life balance is bad, overtimes and weekend work are normal things.

    Advice to Management

    Not to promise to their staff some benefits if you're not going to do that.


  5. "Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Jersey City, NJ
    Former Employee - Director in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Team effort by various product groups

    Cons

    Turnover of Senior product management

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on Long term investing and providing value added services

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Feb 13, 2017

    Thank you for taking time to comment. Team collaboration is very important to us. TD Ameritrade values your feedback so we can continue to improve our practices.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, 3 weeks vacation to start, new gear to use and software developers are key to company success so your work matters. Allowed to work from home when needed and we now are doing Agile throughout company.

    Cons

    Large company can get lost in the numbers, many offices and divisions. At times there are too many meetings that take away from development time, especially around quarter ends.

    Advice to Management

    Don't lose your focus on technology this will be the difference over the years to come if the company is still the leader of the industry. Remember to pay software developers more or they will accept jobs with your competition.

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Executive Assistant

    Thank you for taking the time to comment. We do have great benefits and we are very flexible with hours and working from home. TD Ameritrade is also a growing company but I think the use of ... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Been here a year...and enjoy reading these reviews of TD Ameritrade every once in a while!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture. Collaborative. Client-focused. A team that enjoys working together to try and win.
    I'm relatively new (about a year) and have been very impressed with the quality of the Associates and their willingness to adapt and innovate even more as is our heritage as one of the "original Fintechs" from 41 years ago! (post MayDay in 1975).

    Cons

    So far, I haven't found any. Everybody has been very welcoming to me...helped me navigate around the organization, and to learn our industry and company. We're working hard to make it an even greater place to work for Associates, and it shows!

    Advice to Management

    None that I haven't already been giving! Push decisions down in the organization. Hold people accountable - but protect them if they try and fail...or the organization will slow down...which we can't afford to do!

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Executive Assistant

    Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to read the reviews posted on here! I agree with your observations, we really do have an awesome culture. I’m also looking forward to the great ... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a pleasant place to be"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Specialist in Jersey City, NJ
    Current Employee - Senior Product Specialist in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment and the company wants to foster talent.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be hard to move up on your team and you need to bounce around internally.


  9. "Prototyper"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prototyper in Jersey City, NJ
    Former Employee - Prototyper in Jersey City, NJ

    I worked at TD Ameritrade (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Take care of employees. Provide education

    Cons

    I prefer Manhattan to the Jersey City commute

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Nov 28, 2016 – Representative,TAS

    We strive to make sure our associates are well taken care of thru various offerings and various methods to grow within the firm. We take education seriously and provide online training courses as ... More


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Former Investment Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Overall a very good company with tremendous potential. Great place to learn the investment business. The culture is fast paced and always changing. Must be willing to adapt very quickly.

    Cons

    The primary focus is sales and numbers. That culture creates very high turnover in the Investment Consultant role. Thus the client experience can be poor since there is little consistency in the ranks.

    Advice to Management

    Create greater consistency in the rank and file members. Focus on growth and more importantly retention of both clients and employees.


Showing 85 of 799 reviews
Reset Filters