TD Ameritrade Reviews | Glassdoor

TD Ameritrade Reviews

Updated September 11, 2017
297 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO & President Tim Hockey
Tim Hockey
35 Ratings

297 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work/life balance is bad, overtimes and weekend work are normal things (in 14 reviews)

  • Promotional opportunities are limited to other departments in the call center until you have put in a certain amount of time (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great entry level company to start at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    great company atmosphere and work/life balance

    Cons

    can't move up fast enough

    Advice to Management

    needs faster movement/addition of responsibilities and knowledge

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Sep 12, 2017

    Thank you! We believe the culture at TD Ameritrade speaks for itself, and strive to provide an environment that helps our employees maintain a healthy work/life balance.

    In addition, we work... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to begin your career in the financial industry!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services in Fort Worth, TX
    Current Employee - Financial Services in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Paid training for the 7 & 63
    Great employees and work environment
    Fast growing industry and TD is the leading brokerage firm
    continual growth
    Everyone is very understanding of your problems and tries to help

    Cons

    The training program could use work, everything seems out of place and there were a bunch of issues with the programs and log in. Understandable since they are in the middle of an acquisition and hiring like crazy right now so it's a little hectic.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Sep 6, 2017

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! At TD Ameritrade, we work hard to create a supportive and positive environment and are continuously looking at ways to improve our processes.

  3. "Cool Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    Flexible, Upward and Lateral Mobility, Decent Benefits, Cool Co-workers, Very Inclusive, Relaxed Environment

    Cons

    Nothing the share at this time


  4. "Good overall company with great benefits, but a little lower pay than industry standard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    What they lack in pay, they make up for in ability to grow. They truly encourage growth and by doing so, have a better equipped workforce.

    Cons

    Still a Corporate atmosphere, with growth comes growing pains. Td is growing and is sometimes struggling to keep up, which means they Have been known to cut crucial corners

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in employees and less on bottom dollar, you'll see your numbers triple when that happens.


  5. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, great work environment, and great pro-active support for professional development

    Cons

    Limited opportunities within the company for promotion, however, the company is continuing to grow, so that may change

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Aug 24, 2017

    Great to hear! At TD Ameritrade, we are proud to give our employees the tools they need to direct their career, their way. From mentoring to educational resources, our development programs empower... More


  6. "SENIOR ANALYST COACH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst Coach Trainer in Draper, UT
    Former Employee - Analyst Coach Trainer in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    They try to be fair to employees, and have good benefits.

    Cons

    Some people in management are not tuned in with the real world of trading and don't understand it much at all. They can talk the talk, but they don't believe in trading.

    Advice to Management

    Put people in management who understand more than just office politics.

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Aug 18, 2017

    We’re sorry to hear that was your experience with us. Delivering a better employee experience is a core goal of ours each year. 97% of our employees participated in our most recent Employee... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Awesome place to work great management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salary, draw and commission. Uncomplicated offerings, no jacks of all trades, low risk to losing your license or getting into compliance issues. This is a solid firm with good benefits and perks. Vacation time is decent, some volunteer time off too. You get a book of business and do not have to bring in your old clients or friends to survive. Lot's of training always seeking to be better for the clients, generous with employees and very good management.

    Senior Financial Consultants do not recommend stock or any type of investment, you are not executing trades all day!

    Cons

    Trying to figure out how to take this transaction driven trading platform model to a relationship model making too complicated on the other hand I have respect for the fact that you have postponed it to iron out the issues.

    Advice to Management

    If you are going to go relationship driven, just pay on the book like wholesaling works. I t will be hard to turn this into a relationship driven form if you still have self directed traders as 90 % of the book. You cannot punish the SFC and FC's for people leaving it is too hard to control even if there is a relationship. Don't make hasty decisions about this topic.

    I you want clients to be in a relationship you have to tell them when they open an account, you have to put the SFC/FC's name on their account online or in paper statements. Tell the clients what our job is and how we serve them, we will drive it home when we call them.

    On the whole you are doing an amazing job!

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Aug 4, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re so glad to hear you’ve had a great experience working at TD Ameritrade!

  8. "Exceeds Expectations -- could even be outstanding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great people, at this client & employee-focused firm.
    The company really tries to walk the talk with respect to its “core values”.
    Great opportunities available for the right person in the right role.
    Reasonable work/life balance for a trading firm.
    Good salaries, great benefits, great HR & L&D (learning & development) teams.
    Target bonuses paid four times a year.
    Great, pro-active support for professional development in the form of training,etc.
    Did I mention, great people?

    Cons

    TDA is a large firm which has grown thru acquisition and with the Scottrade merger getting larger still: despite all the focus on agility, it may be nearly impossible for a firm this size to be as agile & as transparent as you’d like, especially with the legacy tools (e.g. Remedy) and bureaucracy, but please keep trying!

    The firm's approach to things like security (you can’t bake it in after the fact no matter how many different groups you have probing software post-install), and DevOps (hint: “if you have a DevOps team, you’re doing it wrong!”) needs updating.

    The company’s laudable approach to not destroying the culture of the companies it acquires does lead to the company feeling more like a hyrdra (ToS, Ameritrade, TD…) rather than the single, living firm it would like to be. Ann Arbor ; Chicago ; Omaha; JC; Columbia almost feel like completely different companies.

    Advice to Management

    Definitely headed in the right direction; recent changes at the top, focus on agility, etc. are all very good signs.

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Aug 4, 2017

    Thank you! We’re very proud of the culture at TD Ameritrade, and we all work hard to ensure that values resonate in the relationships we build and the work we do.


  9. "Relationship Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TD Ameritrade full-time

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere
    Size of company allows you to learn various parts of brokerage business

    Cons

    Lower pay than other companies

    Advice to Management

    value employees

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Jul 19, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback! Our company is growing rapidly so there will be even more opportunities to learn different parts of the industry. Regarding compensation, we receive consistent positive... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Financial Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Services in Omaha, NE
    Current Employee - Financial Services in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD Ameritrade full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Large Company, Good Benefits, Possibilities for advancement

    Cons

    High turnover, some disorganization, Hours

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Jul 17, 2017

    Thanks for your response! We're glad your experience has been a positive one!


Showing 297 of 836 reviews
Reset Filters