KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TD Ameritrade

Engaged Employer

TD Ameritrade

Add a Review

TD Ameritrade Employee Reviews about "tda"

Updated Jan 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 63 of over 2,241 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO Walt Bettinger
Walt Bettinger
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Value employees and great work life balance(in 123 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and working environment(in 88 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "TDA is being acquired by Schwab(in 42 reviews)

  • "got larger after scottrade merger(in 40 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of TD Ameritrade and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "tda"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      TDA is a great company

      Dec 8, 2020 - Senior Recruiter in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TDA Culture, people, benefits, team focus, people mattered

      Cons

      Acquisition, RIF, talented TDA associates not retained by new owner

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Rest In Paradise TDA you were amazing

      Oct 3, 2020 - Anonymous in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Excellent culture (I know it’s been brought up in many reviews but it really is some of the best culture you are going to find anywhere). The company and management (from your direct manager to upper level management) is very employee-focused and cognizant of what employees and prospective employees are looking for in this era. Unlike some financial firms, high-level management is very approachable and engaged with all employees. The company makes diversity a high priority as well and it shows in the org structure. -If you are interested in learning about the financial markets I can’t think of a better job out there. Client-facing roles at AMTD get exposure to many different types of clients and investing strategies. Whether it’s a day trader, buy-and-hold investor, high net worth or brand-new customer you’ll get the opportunity to work with and help that type of clientele. On the front lines you will also learn about and get the privilege to discuss mutual funds/ETFs, options, and fixed income with clients. This will be very valuable experience to both your career as well as provide you with personal investing knowledge that will be useful and translatable for the rest of your life. -Unlimited OT for hourly employees and quarterly bonuses/performance reviews; If you consistently take advantage of the OT your compensation can be really good. Additionally, there is an excellant rewards and recognition program that I’ve found very motivating to excel in my roles. -Career growth/development; in my 3+ years with the firm I’ve worked in three different departments and gotten nice compensation increases for every promotion. It’s a growing business with tons of opportunity and as long as you work hard and perform in your role you will be encouraged and supported by your manager (and their manager) when it comes career development. -Unlike some of our competitors, TDA did an excellent job handling and managing the global pandemic we are currently in. In the span of a few days, the company successfully transferred everyone to working from home and didn’t skip a beat. Despite being in a WFH environment these past 6+ months we are fully operational and doing more business than ever! -Generous benefits and PTO

      Cons

      -There is a TON of uncertainty with the upcoming Charles Schwab merger. Unfortunately there will be a lot of jobs lost.... and based on Glassdoor reviews (I’ve read hundreds of them), Schwab doesn’t look to be up-to-par with AMTD when it comes to the overall associate experience. Hopefully they will prove me wrong.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Greed of Board of Directors and Leadership Destroyed This Company

      Jun 16, 2020 - Branch Manager With A Practice 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm giving all one stars because this company basically no longer exists from an employee standpoint. Tim Hockey turned this into one of the greatest investment companies to work for. The Board screwed him and everyone below him. All of the employees were happy, striving, advancing; whether they were on the operations side or sales side. When the announcement of Tim leaving TDA, everyone knew it was for the wrong reason, the sale to Schwab.

      Cons

      Over a 12 month period, there have been 4 comp changes including salary reductions, a CEO fired by the board so they can sell the firm, over 80 branches have been closed and several hundred employees fired.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work

      Nov 30, 2020 - Senior Manager IT in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, strong benefits, great work environment

      Cons

      Nothing negative to say about TDA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Intern

      good company with good benefits

      Jan 5, 2021 - Sales Intern 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      TDA had good benefits for employees

      Cons

      TDA is being acquired by Schwab

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Take it and shove it!

      May 19, 2020 - Investor Services Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay (still have to put in a copious amount of overtime) and bonuses as well as 401k match

      Cons

      From my experience, Micromanagement is the only management style used Contradictory policies On the one hand, you are told to take care of the client. Whatever you do though don't have a average phone conversation time of over 9 mins. Also, don't put anyone on hold but we won't hire sufficient staff. My past role required you to know seemingly everything (they even monitored how often you reached out to other departments, as if they were not there for your benefit). Schedules are tightly managed, so don't think about going to lunch even a little bit late. (And always tell your manager before you even breathe...) A seeming overreaction from management to any slight infractions Also your experience is highly dependent on whether your manager likes you. If they don't watch out... Looking forward to the day I can roll my 401k to Edward Jones, instead of TDA!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pay

      Sep 14, 2020 - Financial Services Trainee in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Culture is the best part about TDA

      Cons

      Remote working for a few months

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Intern, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 12, 2020 - Technology Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great working environment team mates appreciate your effort

      Cons

      i did not get opportunity to convert to full time . I loved my time spent and experience gained at TDA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company 5 years ago!

      Sep 11, 2020 - Regional Director in Portsmouth, NH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best boss ever at TDA

      Cons

      New leadership disappointing! Fred (CEO) was the best

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Steer clear. Worst place, poor management, can't pick a lane

      Sep 4, 2019 - Senior Financial Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None except okay benefits. Not Millennial friendly.

      Cons

      Mid-western values -they use this as a selling point to claim they are a clean shop, Ha, they are constantly getting notices for lawsuits. Clients are constantly taking action against TDA. They are constantly changing the comp plan and cannot decide to pull the trigger on being a relationship model or a transaction based one. They punish the SFC and FC's for the firms failure to hold onto assets. They bought Scottrade, then hired the sales management that drove that firm into the ground, they are driving TDA into the ground. Managers are weak at best, they have no clue how to manage sales teams, they never fight to get obstacles out of the way, they are too busy trying to save their own jobs. Most managers are producing managers who control the leads, conflict of interest anyone? Stay far far away unless you want to diminish your brand. No flexibility for hours, managers tap their toes if someone comes in at 8:31, half hour lunch break. No real culture to speak of.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful

      TD Ameritrade Response

      Thank you for feedback. We appreciate all perspectives. We understand that acquisitions and times of change can be difficult and don’t always happen exactly as planned. Everything we do is guided by our commitment to helping our clients achieve their financial goals and ensuring a positive work environment for our employees that includes rewarding innovation, collaboration, best practice sharing and offering a career development path. With much of the change behind us, we have learned a lot from our journey thus far and are excited about what the future holds for all of our branch employees.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 63 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TD Ameritrade Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TD Ameritrade? Share Your Experiences

    or