KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

TD Ameritrade

Engaged Employer

TD Ameritrade

Add a Review

TD Ameritrade Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 29, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 of over 2,622 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
TD Ameritrade CEO Walt Bettinger
Walt Bettinger
267 Ratings

What people are saying about TD Ameritrade

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "pretty easy and good benefits(in 223 reviews)
  • "Great culture of education and development(in 172 reviews)
  • "Fun company a lot of outings and meet great people(in 164 reviews)
  • "well pay and good conditions(in 130 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance.Been there for 6 years and enjoyed every bit of it .(in 96 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of TD Ameritrade and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great while it lasted

    Mar 13, 2013 - Manager in Omaha, NE
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Bonuses are great - Salary is great - Good mid level people and down

    Cons

    - Constant reorgs with employee layoffs - Technical side upper management doesn't always know what is going on

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Temp for tax season

    Nov 30, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor in La Canada Flintridge, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company treated their employees better than any company I have worked for.

    Cons

    Low pay for temporary employees. We were promised that full time positions were set aside to us by upper management. That wasn't the case. People off the street were able to apply to the full time position before we were. So all of the day positions were taken. Two day shifts were available. The rest were overnight and weekends. This caused me to seek employment elsewhere. I have to take you for your word.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good company overall, descent place to start a career

    May 12, 2010 - Customer Service in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great Pay is good considering the job you do

    Cons

    Poor vision by upper management Lack of opportunity to move up

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Best overall fit for financial professional

    Dec 20, 2014 - Investment Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, the process, the investment choices, always put the clients first, EXCELLENT compensation for above average performers. Never once did I feel I wasn't doing what was truly best for my clients. Many options for clients to choose from whether they are self directed or are seeking guidance. Top notch place to work and upper level management seems to always come up with new ways to improve the client and associate experience.

    Cons

    Sat here for 15 minutes trying to find them and frankly I would be reaching, so not many at all. Great experience for me.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Company Culture

    May 19, 2016 - Engineer in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The People are great. Up on the latest technology

    Cons

    Trying to find a company culture. Too much upper management turnover

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    TD Ameritrade Response

    Talent Acquisition Representative

    We think our people are great too! We are very proud of our culture and core values and encourage all employees to live those values every day. Thank you for your feedback so we can continue to improve our practices.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Pockets of Incompetence

    Jul 30, 2010 -  in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    TDA has the best approach for the common investor in the U.S. Our tools and services helps clients be successful. With client education becoming the next step in our progression with investools for our clients, we are the best firm for a client to chose.

    Cons

    The merger of Ameritrade and TD Waterhouse brought two very different cultures. Combining the two groups of leaders has caused many problems. Incompetence with prideful and territorial thinking has been and continues to be the result. Upper management has a significant problem with the abilities of middle management and appears not to know it. Good people are suffering from unrealistic expectations and unethical guidance. Employees looking for integrity, humility, and true leadership may be disappointed.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Highly Recommend Avoiding

    Mar 11, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People who aren’t in upper management seems to know how to connect to their associates. Opportunity to get licenses outside of position scope for marketability in the financial service job market. Basically if you come here, use for licensing leave immediately!!

    Cons

    Bonus is all discretion and they openly admit and sometimes brag about not having a nepotism policy in place. Basically if you butter up to the right people, then you move up fast regardless of your experiences. The HR (outside of recruiting) has...serious issues... to say the least. If you “violate core values” regardless if its your first time or not, expect to pack your things that day and be out the door. Do not work here, temp or not!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Investment Consultant

    May 8, 2015 - Investment Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Compensation for high performers is good. Endless stream of clients to call, build relationships with and cultivate business. Strong upper management and leadership. Enough products to satisfy majority of client needs. Constant change and evolution to keep up with changing industry landscape. Highly skilled and talented sales force.

    Cons

    Miserable place for non-performers, complainers, and complacent sales people. Technology needs to be more stable and better reporting for clients. You must be able to maintain high level of activity and be open to constantly improving your skills or you will be micro-managed. Goals move higher every year and can be overwhelming for sales people who think they are owed something for the work they've done in the past and are unwilling to up their game.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Sep 29, 2021 - Operations Manager in Melbourne
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work with great team culture

    Cons

    Upper management can overlook sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0