TD Financial Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

TD Financial Advisor Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
9%
Recommend to a Friend
TD President and CEO Greg Braca
Greg Braca
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment with flexibility to your schedule throughout the day. Ability to learn about the markets and associates are helpful and friendly

    Cons

    High pressure some managers only know how to micro manage instead of lead by example. Brown nosing has paid off for some

    Advice to Management

    Listen to associates about what is working and what needs fixing

    TD2017-05-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "FSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people who work for the company are great! TD set up an amazing culture for their employees. If you obtain your goals and put in the effort you can advance your career.

    Cons

    It really sucks working the weekends. The banks hours are hard to deal with at times. In my experience, co-workers are generally good in helping you out when you need a weekend off.

    Advice to Management

    I had excellent management. For those just beginning to manage. Always remember to continue to grow. You can always learn how to manage more efficient and effectively.

    TD2017-01-03
  3. "csr-1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Nice peers -flexible -Knowledgeable and supportive assistant store manager

    Cons

    -Store manager is very hypocritical. Says one thing and does the complete opposite -Always late (Tardy) and hardly in the store claiming to be be doing site visits on businesses. How many new businesses has she developed?

    Advice to Management

    Attendance of managers need to be tracked.

    TD2016-05-06
  4. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work experience and looks good on your resume. Because of the amount of work and the variety of customer problems and demands, you will be trained ( not by the managers, but conditioned by your customers) to be more productive and will have to learn a lot, which that's good for knowledge.

    Cons

    Same as the other comments reviewed. Honestly I don't know how TD got into the Best Employer Title every year. They have tried really hard to minimize the pay while squeezing out the values of an employee. I was top FSR in the region last year but when I applied to MCS position which is next level, I could hardly get an interview. This mad me wander why I worked so hard over the last year. For my bonus, I only received half of when I was CSR just because of those customer satisfactory surveys of branch was not good while I did more than 200% of my sales target. They just wanted everybody to be a sales, which i quickly got an offer as FA. Now, I am competing in a new branch with a new clientel and with the other senior FAs that are telling me not to touch those clients. I have the same sales target as the other senior FAs while I am having no customer base, and because I am first year FA, I am getting paid less comparing to the other FAs. I have to work twice as hard comparing to the senior FAs to reach the same goal while getting paid less comparing to them. Honestly, if it is not for the other career opportunities in the future, I definitely will not stay with this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please visit the branch and look at their clientel before you increase the target. The Marketing department really does no good. Yea, they do see money in the clients' accounts, but our branch has a lot of clients that are in their 80s and 90s, they can barely understand when I try to talk to them about GICs or investment products and they don't even care any more about those little interests or even 6,7% return on mutual funds any more at their stage.

    Show More
    TD2015-04-25
  5. "Good leader is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - I'm lucky to have a very good leader - Learn a lot from work

    Cons

    - Company don't support CFP Level 1 and CFP exams - Sales target is very high compare with other banks, but with good planning it is manageable

    Advice to Management

    - Training is very important. Every far-sighed company would encourage employee to improve themselves. Take my previous company as an example, employees get bonus after they pass CFP, CFA or other related exams.

    TD2020-01-17
  6. "Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TD full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great management, company culture and benefits.

    Cons

    Could see an increase in pay to match other banks

    TD2019-12-28
  7. "TD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Coquitlam, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good employment benefits, and good working environment. people are nice and supportive

    Cons

    cutting down employee bonus years after years

    TD2019-12-13
  8. "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time

    Pros

    Build employee relationships Good compensation bonus.

    Cons

    Management & training Depends on your manager

    TD2019-12-12
  9. "Financial Advisor with no future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Not always ready for changes

    Advice to Management

    Not to stress the employees so much

    TD2019-12-11
  10. "great environment to learn and network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Advisor in Toronto, ON

    I have been working at TD full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits, lots of networking opportunities

    Cons

    not enough training, a lot of new staff

    TD2019-11-26
Found 127 reviews