TE Connectivity Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

TE Connectivity Director Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
TE Connectivity CEO Terrence Curtin
Terrence Curtin
3 Ratings
  1. "Director Corporate Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great leadership team. There is a lot of opportunity for growth since it is such a large company.

    Cons

    Slow moving. After an overseas assignment, it is difficult to come back to a role, and you must look for an open position.

    TE Connectivity2017-11-14
  2. "Depends on which business unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Harrisburg, PA

    I worked at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits; innovation is highly valued

    Cons

    Despite inclusion efforts, not really all that friendly for women. Some business units like Industrial are playing lip service to inclusion efforts. Women get hired but they don’t stay.

    TE Connectivity2019-04-01
  3. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Chapel Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for entry level roles in engineering, finance, HR

    Cons

    Acquisitions and divestitures happen regularly. Executive managements seems to constantly tinker with the organization trying to find the right formula, constant organizational upheaval.

    TE Connectivity2016-04-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Director Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Operations in Winston-Salem, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, good pay, on a path of evolution

    Cons

    In the automotive business unit everything revolves around Europe. All other regions are late adopters.

    Advice to Management

    Train, coach, mentor, and promote from within to develop a strong internal team.

    TE Connectivity2015-06-29
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    TE is a company that I am proud to say I am a part of, people and performance focused with an eye on innovation. Tom and executive staff are providing the right environment to attract customers, investors and new talent!

    Cons

    Challenges are working through some of old cultural management style, where things were done a certain way in the past and these people not seeing the light of change.

    Advice to Management

    More 1:1's with the troops to understand the pulse of organization, lunch and learns would be great for Tom and his staff.

    TE Connectivity2014-03-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Typical large company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Size and diversified product base make it a fairly stable company. Lots of opportunities for a person willing to put in the effort.

    Cons

    Tons of bureaucracy. Vision of top management gets lost in translation. Process tends to get in the way.

    TE Connectivity2012-12-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid this company if you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Engineering in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity

    Pros

    Good compensation compared to similar employers

    Cons

    Poor communication, unfair treatment, political, disfunctional

    TE Connectivity2012-03-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "HR is a Problem, Job Can Be Dull, Constant Restructuring, Always Threat of More Layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Berwyn, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity

    Pros

    Coworkers are nice people who, for the most part, like to help rather than hinder. Most people are very competent at their jobs and smart, but there are notable exceptions. The work life balance is good.

    Cons

    HR staff is adversarial and often incompetent. Their attitude is to say "no" first. They offer employees the very minimum to keep them from leaving too soon. They are constantly pruning benefits. This year, the stock grant was reduced dramatically and with no notice or reason. Next year, it will likely be the 401k matching or the stock purchase matching. I've learned not to count on anything. There is a... strong bias against promoting from within. It is difficult to transcend into a Band 3 salary position and nearly impossible to be promoted to a VP. This level is filled by nearly all external hires. There is always the threat of layoffs due to constant restructuring. This year several VP's were let go, and morale suffered greatly. Most people I know would leave the company for a lateral position. I feel like I am achieving about 10% of my potential here and am not very proud to talk about my career.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the attitude of HR. Make them more about managing talent and less about finding ways to pare down benefits.

    TE Connectivity2012-01-19
  9. "Business Units are not aligned with stated company goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at TE Connectivity

    Pros

    Interesting technology Respected position in marketplace

    Cons

    The individual business units are focued on short term results to the detriment of long term objectives.

    Advice to Management

    Give business units time to achieve their objectives.

    TE Connectivity2011-05-17
  10. "Exciting work in a growing, thriving organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director of Business Development in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity

    Pros

    Strong company with a long history and strong customer recognition. Financially stable and willing to reward key contributors with salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Many long term employees are entrenched in the higher level positions and lack specific knowlege and understanding of the industries they now serve

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to make new employees confortable in the organization. If you are willing to bring someone in you should be willing to spend time and effort in intergrating them into the team.

    TE Connectivity2011-01-07
Found 14 reviews