TE Connectivity Product Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

TE Connectivity Product Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
TE Connectivity CEO Terrence Curtin
Terrence Curtin
6 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Product Development Engineer in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity for less than a year

    Pros

    Very helpful and patient manager Great culture and integrity

    Cons

    Salary not so competitive for fulltime jobs

    TE Connectivity2019-03-22
  2. "Laid back work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Product Development Engineer in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed Environment Friendly Team Many intern social events and webinars were held They strive for a good work/life balance Relocation packages for interns

    Cons

    TE is a large global corporation. As an Intern, it can be easy to fall through the cracks. After about 2 weeks of working, I realized that there was an email group for interns that I was not included in. Seems like a high turnover rate in the HR department. My assigned HR representative left the company in my first week of internship. The university relations HR representative left the company several months... after my internship ended.

    Show More
    TE Connectivity2019-06-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good word and life balance

    Cons

    Layoff people anytime and every year

    Advice to Management

    Management keeps changing which makes it difficult for employees to work

    TE Connectivity2019-04-03
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior R&D/Product Development Engineer in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team 401K and other benefits are better than average Pay is better than overall market

    Cons

    Not much scope to move up beyond Senior/Staff engineer levels

    Advice to Management

    Create more levels and promote employees every few years (based on performance)

    TE Connectivity2019-03-13
  5. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time

    Pros

    Large company with a lot of room for learning and growth.

    Cons

    Layoffs in certain departments have been common.

    TE Connectivity2016-01-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great people but watch for layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Harrisburg, PA

    I worked at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, exciting technology,

    Cons

    unsure business conditions, frequent layoffs, poor morale

    TE Connectivity2015-06-10
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent understanding of polymeric materials,processing,product formation, charactrization & polymer rheology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Development Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, Middle Management could be better trained, excellet facility ad equipment to work with, Top level technical personnel are always willing to mentor junior engineers & technicials.

    Cons

    Getting past the senior engineer level to a pricipal position is a road block due to internal politics.

    Advice to Management

    Consider opening the gate to principal engineer to better standardized terms.

    TE Connectivity2015-05-07
  8. "former TE employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    large WW technical community. diverse products. choice in career ladders.

    Cons

    difficult to get promoted. too many layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    reward employees. retain experience

    TE Connectivity2015-02-20
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Don't promise carrots when all you can offer is sticks."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The flexible hours were great, but highly dependent upon whom your boss is. The projects are technically challenging.

    Cons

    The low compensation for the area results in financially squeezed employees competing with tech startups for housing within the SF bay area. Cost of living in the bay area is significantly higher than the national average. Self induced bureaucracy adds layers of effort to an already complex engineering tasks. Out of touch management oblivious to the impact of their actions and words have on employees.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on enabling employees rather inundating them with low value tasks. Old raychem and AMP feuds are pointless and dissolve any sort of hope in new employees. The amount of motorola nepotism is sufficient to believe meritocracy does not exist within the company. Communication is a two way street. Having zero rapport with your direct reports does not lead to effective teams. I know that I will not get your... support to do my job effectively, especially if it cost money to do so. If I do succeed that success will be immediately marginalized. Don't promise carrots that you can deliver when the only thing you can offer is sticks.

    Show More
    TE Connectivity2014-08-09
  10. Helpful (5)

    "I worked at the Menlo Park campus, which is a good place for the retiring people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Product Development Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TE Connectivity for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Good pays. 2. People seemed to have plenty of leisure.

    Cons

    I was totally screwed up by the HR. They set a start date with no room for negotiation, then I showed up and realized that my supervisor was on a business trip in Germany. After sitting there doing nothing for two whole weeks, I could actually got started. However, right after 2 months, I was told that I dont need to come here anymore, which was only 1 day in advanced. Besides, the HR told me it was a 6-month... contract before I accepted the job, but what I heard from my supervisor was, the contract was at most 2-month. We all know what tricks they were playing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    maybe you should not treat the contractors as they are nothing.

    TE Connectivity2014-02-09
Found 29 reviews