TEGNA Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
TEGNA President and Chief Executive Officer  Dave Lougee
Dave Lougee
75 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, part time staff need to cover for full time staff vacations on holidays(in 13 reviews)

  • "Unrealistic expectations based on an outdated broadcast television advertising model(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great, innovative company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Producer in Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TEGNA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive environment, excellent colleagues, superb company vision

    Cons

    Long hours, average pay, difficult to ascend

    TEGNA2020-01-22
  2. "Progressive Media Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Research Analyst in York, PA

    I have been working at TEGNA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Support centric approach to local broadcasting. Good at sharing knowledge between stations. Focuses on content quality

    Cons

    Does not always handle problems efficiently.

    TEGNA2020-05-06
  3. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Master Control Operator in Tysons Corner, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TEGNA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room for growth within the company. Most of my co-workers are a pleasure to work with. They seem to take employee feedback to heart and try to find ways to improve benefits (e.g. making all time off PTO, added health care options, increased HSA contributions to employees and decreased premiums).

    Cons

    During coronavirus TEGNA is forcing employees to take a week furlough or reduced pay for three months to help reduce expenses and save jobs with advertising revenue down and these being uncertain times. I get it. Everyone needs to do their part, is what they say, and I have no quarrels doing my part for the team. However, a few weeks later they approved paying millions in dividends to shareholders. Can't help feel like my sacrifice is being paid to shareholders now instead of the well being and betterment of the company. We all had to sacrifice, why don't they? Questionable decisions continuing to use some vendors that have failed us. Some operations decisions were not well planned out, causing headaches all around. Hiring some people in management positions without a thorough vetting.

    Continue reading
    TEGNA2020-05-01
  4. "A changing industry"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Meteorologist 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TEGNA full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits package, Flexible scheduling

    Cons

    High turnover including management, Poor performance in ratings

    TEGNA2020-05-15
  5. "Great Job... Horrible management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Video Editor in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TEGNA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the work and loved the others editors... the ones without egos, that is. Higher management is really wonderful.

    Cons

    The Supervisor was horrible. Very mean and impatient. Clearly had favorites and everyone knew it. They didn't hide it at all

    Continue reading
    TEGNA2020-05-04
  6. "Middle of the road company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reporter 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TEGNA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    TEGNA properties are generally friendly places to work. The company is committed to innovation. At least on the news side, the company is ethically sound.

    Cons

    The company is on the cheaper side of the broadcast news industry. Be expected to work a lot more than your competitors within the market. Sometimes, the commitment to innovation gets in the way of basic newsgathering.

    TEGNA2020-04-27
  7. "Great position to get in the door"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TEGNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement with Tegna

    Cons

    Company is all over the place in its strategy. Still pretty new company and needs to work out the kinks

    TEGNA2020-04-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to start, build resume"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journalist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TEGNA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you want to learn new skills so you can boost your resume, it’s a good place.

    Cons

    Not the best place to stay if your hope is that your salary will increase along with your skills, experience, talents, awards, etc.

    Continue reading
    TEGNA2020-03-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Top stations are great, lower market stations need work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - News Reporter 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TEGNA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than the other stations in this market, good benefits

    Cons

    Need for quality control at smaller stations when it comes to management positions, resources available

    Continue reading
    TEGNA2020-03-30
  10. "Ok place to work."

    3.0
    Current Employee - Engineer in Arkadelphia, AR

    I have been working at TEGNA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Time off is generous enough

    Cons

    Pay is generally on the low side

    TEGNA2020-03-08
Viewing 1 - 10 of 212 Reviews