TFCU Reviews | Glassdoor

TFCU Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 60 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Robert G. Allen
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, solid company, good managers(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "They only hire part time and have to wait to be promoted(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Place to learn & grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hauppauge, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TFCU full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    TFCU offers great benefits, the company is expanding and working to build and grow. There are many opportunities within the organization and they are always looking to go internal with a promotion. TFCU is very charitable which is one of the reasons I started working for the CU, they do a lot for local schools and universities. They pay fair salaries, and most managers are willing to teach and train you. They also have...

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any organization there are some pain points, since they have grown so much. But the organization seems to be taking a lot of initiative to change these issues. They even implemented an employee groups to help find solutions. I think increasing communication as they have been will help.

    Advice to Management

    I would say, keep doing what you are doing and work with employees on the front lines to get the problems resolved. Also keep showing your appreciation, for employees through Jeans Days, raffles and employee recognition night.

    TFCU2019-04-05
  2. "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Officer 

    I have been working at TFCU full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, growth opportunity, mentoring, etc

    Cons

    Can’t think of any negative comments

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    TFCU2019-04-30
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Call Center Representative 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TFCU full-time

      Pros

      Good work culture and other employees willingness to help

      Cons

      The tasks can be repetitive

      TFCU2019-03-26
    • "Communication Non-Existent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management 
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at TFCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Benefits package with friendly HR staff. Countless employee activities.

      Cons

      For a business with over 700 employees - communication amongst management is inconsistent bordering on non-existent. No one has direct responsibility for decision making. Constant waiting on people to 'check' with others leaves staff waiting. Empowering leadership is imperative. Maybe the next CEO will change this culture.

      Advice to Management

      Know-it-all attitude with zero decision making equals lack of respect by your staff.

      TFCU2019-03-30

      TFCU Response

      April 5, 2019Senior Staffing Specialist

      While TFCU may fall short in some respects we are always looking for genuine feedback to help us improve our processes. We appreciate the input and hope to utilize it to drive change.

    • "Growing Organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at TFCU full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      A lot of growth and internal development Employees are recognized for the most part

      Cons

      Salaries are not competitive

      TFCU2019-02-25

      TFCU Response

      April 5, 2019Senior Staffing Specialist

      We are passionate about the internal growth and development for our staff. We offer management development programs, training classes and promotional opportunities.

    • "Decent place to work while in school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Bank Teller 

        I worked at TFCU part-time

        Pros

        Flexible work schedule. Competitive part time pay

        Cons

        Not a lot of growth opportunity. Extremely repetitive.

        TFCU2019-02-16

        TFCU Response

        April 5, 2019Senior Staffing Specialist

        Flexible scheduling is very important to use because we understand the need for it in the current work force. We are so glad this was a positive benefit during your time with the Credit Union.

      • "Great And Insightful Experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at TFCU

          Pros

          Informative, good salary. Staff is friendly

          Cons

          Meeting sales goals. Bonus on sale

          TFCU2019-01-08

          TFCU Response

          April 5, 2019Senior Staffing Specialist

          We strive to create a positive and friendly atmosphere for our employees & members!

        • "Okay part time job during school."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Part Time Teller in Central Islip, NY
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at TFCU part-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Flexible scheduling and good hours given.

          Cons

          The system used on the computer is slow.

          TFCU2018-12-01
        • "Definitely a great opportunity to grow"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Part Time Teller in Hauppauge, NY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at TFCU part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good co-workers, great training program, good learning enviornment, pension, 401k, and benefits for full time.

          Cons

          I can't say I would change anything just yet

          TFCU2018-11-13
        • "P/T Teller"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Part Time Teller 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at TFCU part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Good start, Entry level. Decent experience in cash handling and finance. Learn how to communicate well with others

          Cons

          It can be overwhelming at times. And management is not always on your side.

          TFCU2018-10-16
        Found 60 reviews