THQ Reviews | Glassdoor

THQ Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 97 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
THQ CEO Brian J. Farrell
Brian J. Farrell
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work with some great people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Good products, good people at the working level(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management was a Little disconnected(in 7 reviews)

  • "They took on a ton of new studios that they could not handle(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work at with many benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at THQ

    Pros

    Great environment and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Bad management drove the company to the ground. Great people came at the end, but was not enough.

    THQ2018-09-12
  2. "Marketing manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at THQ full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    There aren’t really any cons

    THQ2018-05-26
  3. "Typical large game dev company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at THQ full-time

    Pros

    - Better work life balance than the worst offenders - Decent Salary - Our studio had great managers

    Cons

    - Corporate seems clueless with regards to their decision

    THQ2016-12-19
  4. "Miss It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at THQ

    Pros

    Smart PPL, Great office, fun outings, and travel

    Cons

    Bad Leadership, not organized, no money left

    THQ2016-10-14
  5. "Thq no more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at THQ

    Pros

    Great people, everyone was very dedicated. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    Could have been a great company. Management didn't move fast enough to keep up with the industry

    THQ2016-09-09
  6. "I miss this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at THQ full-time

    Pros

    Worked with some of the best people in the industry

    Cons

    Management drove the company into the ground

    Continue reading
    THQ2016-05-05
  7. "Video game software publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Product Development in Agoura Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at THQ full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Diverse portfolio of video game software

    Cons

    Unfocused strategy and publishing vision

    THQ2016-05-17
  8. "Great team, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Agoura Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at THQ full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to work with some wonderful professionals, easy to make friends. The games in development were fun. Great communication between departments. Directors are employee advocates, not enemies.

    Cons

    Senior management mishandled the direction of the company. Major decisions were made with the only consideration being the quarterly report, not quality of product.

    Continue reading
    THQ2016-03-31
  9. "Too much office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Vice President 

    I worked at THQ full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great products and titles. Company could have done great things.

    Cons

    People were too busy empire building to actually do their jobs. Eventually, the company went out of business because of this.

    THQ2016-03-23
  10. "Dooooomed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at THQ full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their office in CA was nice

    Cons

    They took on a ton of new studios that they could not handle. They then chopped a lot of them. Then they went bankrupt.

    Continue reading
    THQ2016-02-28
Found 97 reviews
</>Embed