Cover image for TIAA
Logo
See All Photos

TIAA

Engaged Employer

TIAA

Add a Review

TIAA Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Oct 9, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,100 of over 3K reviews
4.0
79% Recommend to a Friend
90% Approve of CEO

Found 100 of over 3K reviews

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
TIAA CEO Thasunda Brown Duckett (no image)
Thasunda Brown Duckett
372 Ratings

What people are saying about TIAA

Join the conversation on

Finance

140K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=TIAA~2998
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about TIAA? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with TIAA employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "TIAA offers great benefits and the people that you work with are wonderful.(in 451 reviews)
  • "The only pro I can think of is Work Life Balance is good(in 203 reviews)
  • "Great people and the overall mission of the company to serve those that serve others.(in 169 reviews)
  • "Very good and good pay(in 132 reviews)
  • "Great culture and focus on internal movement(in 107 reviews)
Cons
  • "The management is poor and there is too much dead wood at the company.(in 161 reviews)
  • "Many of the middle managers have been promoted from within by sucking up and are completely uninspired and incompetent leaders.(in 95 reviews)
  • "The technology side of the business does not allow qualified and experienced American minorities to advance into senior leadership roles.(in 49 reviews)
  • "Cronies are brought in by senior management as they believe hey have all the answers.(in 41 reviews)
  • "Poor upper management.(in 32 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of TIAA and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good Flexibility of Working from home/remote location

    Oct 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible in terms of Work from home or remote location Pays for Retirement Onsite health checkup for FTE

    Cons

    No gym/recreation center on site

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Datastage Developer-Associate

    Feb 19, 2018 - Associate in Mumbai
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well, Have been working here since Dec-2016. Yes, its a new Establishment here in India. However its an Old company in USA. 1. Good Medical and LifeInsurance Policy. 2. Got my first appraisal and hike(was satisfied with it). 3. They have work from Home policy and my manager is work focused and doesn't bother much on my office timings. 4. 8 hrs work day(Not Strict,based on amount of work you have you can leave early) 5. Free Drop facility for all Employees. 6. Bouquet of Benefits is good. 7. Workspace is comfortable and ergonomic. 8. People from US are really great and helpfull. 9. (25 annual + 10 sick leaves is good.)

    Cons

    1. Work is very adhoc i.e. not necessarily on the technology you were hired for. But this too depends from project to project. 2. Some managers dont have any idea what work their subordinates are doing. 3. They follow the bell curve for appraisal,so even if youve worked hard might not result in a good rating. 4. Many managerial positions are redundant. They don't need so many managers. 5. Cafeteria is expensive and food quality is average.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the TIAA team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Money but no Direction

    Jan 5, 2015 - Project Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay is good. The benefits are great!. Many location to work from and they like people working from home. If you are a go getter - you will be noticied.

    Cons

    Many System problems, not a team environment. Many people are in the wrong position as thus operate in a silo with no new ideas coming in to create improvement.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mission-driven organization with boundless opportunity but poor HR and heavy bureaucracy

    Jun 6, 2015 - Senior Director in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * The corporate culture is very strong -- people are proud to work here, believe in the mission * Very talented colleagues,much more intellectual and less alpha-male dominated than other financial services organizations * Quickly evolving means lots of opportunities to contribute * Very flexible work arrangements * Outstanding benefits, especially retirement plans * Collaborative, friendly environment * Strong commitment to diversity * Premium on work-life balance

    Cons

    * HR here is a nightmare and that seems to be a fact of life. They are constantly requiring managers to jump through hoops for very basic things, getting new staff on board is a real challenge when you have to work through their bureaucratic processes,there is constant pressure to rein in bonuses and salaries and HR seems obtuse to the realities of the market (and if I am forced to reduce salaries/bonuses to meet revenue targets I will lose some fantastic employees to our competitors). And HR seems completely dense to what the market really would reward, especially in corporate functions * The bureaucracy here for employees can be really grating. Not sure if anyone is trying to cut through the red tape but it's everywhere and enormously frustrating, slows me down all the time in my job. * For the largest owner of commercial real estate in the US, the office space is not attractive. It's embarrassing actually, HQ looks like a government office building (ugly carpets and furniture), not a Fortune 100 financial services company. And they are always pushing people to work from home (getting a desk in NY is a huge challenge for instance).

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Financial Analyst

    Jun 14, 2012 - Financial Analyst in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with TIAA CREF for 14 months. In the time I've been here, I've seen a Senior get promoted to a Manager and a Financial Analyst 2 get promoted to a Senior. I have also seen 4 people in my area apply for and get jobs in other, non-related, areas of the company. So I would say that career advancement, in whatever form you're thinking of, is available. My starting salary was $62k, which is competitive in the marketplace. There is a great benefits package, including great insurance options, FSA Childcare Reimursement, Health Care Savings, 5% automatic infusion into employees 401k plan, and an additional matching of 3% more for a total of 8% annually contributed by the employer. There is an onsite wellness center with doctors and nurses, which only cost $5.00 to visit. TIAA will pay for your 1st Master's Degree as long as it supports the line of work you're in. There are many more benefits as well. Different groups have different abilities to work from home. My group is very flexible and I work from home at least two days every week. However, my next door cube mate at work is in a different group/area, and they are approved to work from home no more than once a month, and even then the management frowns upon it. So different areas are different, and I guess the individual experience all depends on the area. Also, it is very easy to talk to and deal with management. It is more of a friendly co-worker relationship than a hierarchy that is unreachable by the entry level workers. From the bottom to the top, everyone is very approachable and friendly. Very nice atmosphere. Overall, I would say that I am very pleased at TIAA. I feel like I am well compensated, have a good work life balance, the opportunity for advancement, etc.

    Cons

    The only con I have seen so far is that when I was hired, I was told that the yearly bonus was typically 10-20% of salary. However, when my first bonus year rolled around, my bonus was around 5%. I was told that new employees who were not there an entire year were treated differently when allocating the bonus pool, and that the next year should be on track with what I was told when I interviewed.

    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    May 24, 2017 - Compliance Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great work life balance, opportunities to work from home, development opportunities, stellar retirement benefits, good maternity leave program

    Cons

    I honestly do not have any. The company has been so good to me. The only challenge I have is finding networking opportunities if you work from home full time.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Not the same company anymore

    Mar 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool people, team oriented, customer focused.

    Cons

    Poorly executed cancellation of their work from home program which has impacted thousands of employees. Will take many years for leadership to gain the trust back from their employees.

    23 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Ready for a change

    Feb 9, 2013 - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and ability to work from home

    Cons

    Systems still archaic (ex: still using IE6) Clueless middle management Opportunities for advancement/transparency

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Too much change all at once......

    Sep 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large Company Pay Various locations Employees are smart Strong presence in the market place

    Cons

    Limited growth opportunity No longer able to work from home Too many changes in management Inconsistent messaging to employees

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    No longer different, no longer distinct

    Aug 5, 2019 - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. Very nice campus.

    Cons

    Senior management is no longer trustworthy, no longer operating within our 100-year-old values, and no longer different in any material way from other Wall St. firms. These guys just announced new smart windows in the NY City office the same day they admitted more job cuts were coming. They said ending work from home was not a workforce reduction strategy but now have admitted most of those people will not be replaced. AND, by the way, there is a hiring freeze in place. This happens at TIAA about every 18 months now. So if you want a job where you can virtually NEVER stop worrying about being laid-off, TIAA is the place to be. In addition, the criteria for promotions is radically subjective. No rhyme or reason involved.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 100 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with TIAA Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TIAA? Share Your Experiences

TIAA logo
or

Affiliated Companies

TIAA Careers

Cover image for TIAA

Join Our Family As a TIAA associate, you’ll do meaningful work helping clients pursue financial well-being. With top tier benefits, a...More

  • Our Associate Experience & Values
  • Our Community
  • Early Career Opportunities
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

TIAA

172 days ago

Culture
At TIAA, we provide you with comprehensive benefits for your total well-being, so you can find that perfect work-life balance.
Shared image - Careers at TIAA | TIAA jobs
Careers at TIAA | TIAA jobs
careers.tiaa.org
Logo

TIAA

173 days ago

Community
We proudly donated 14,600 school supplies and food items through our nonprofit education partners to students and teachers in our local communities, via YouGiveGoods.
Shared image
See all

TIAA Photos

+ Add Photo
TIAA photo of: TIAA CREF Denver office (Photo thanks to Flickr user Jeffrey Beall, available under by-nd/2.0)
TIAA photo of: BRGs Networking
TIAA photo of: BRGs Networking
TIAA photo of: Denver Garden CSR Efforts
TIAA photo of: Denver CSR Efforts
TIAA photo of: Dallas Tailgate
TIAA photo of: GEMs Panel
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

TIAA Job Seekers Also Viewed

Fidelity Investments Logo
Fidelity Investments

4.3

13,654 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 3,100 TIAA reviews submitted anonymously by TIAA employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if TIAA is right for you.