KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

TIFCO Industries

Is this your company?

TIFCO Industries

Add a Review

TIFCO Industries Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 of over 64 reviews

3.8
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
TIFCO Industries President & CEO Robert Brown (no image)
Robert Brown
50 Ratings
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run the other direction

    May 29, 2014 - Territory Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Independent environment allows for work life balance, so long as you don't need money. Management is hands off, so at least you don't have to worry about micro-management.

    Cons

    By the recruiter promises you would expect a typical outside sales company... work hard, make money. The reality in this case is that in order to make a living you need to find customers willing to pay 10x going market rate for products identical to the competition in a crowded marketplace. Most of the promises your recruiter makes are complete fantasy. Benefits are non-existent. Getting the correct products sent from the warehouse is practically impossible. Company support is a joke.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers will not answer your phone calls costing you a lot of sales they don't care they make their salary and don't pay for the phone

    Cons

    No gas allowance managers won't support the reps that pay their salary

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Nice company

    Apr 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work hard and you can stand out

    Cons

    Change was slow, a lot of people are really set in their ways

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales

    Oct 22, 2017 - Inventory Management Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Shipping and Order Fulfillment is quick and accurate. Sales reps have flexibility on pricing. Full control over earning potential. Flexible schedule with no micro-managing.

    Cons

    Worst decision I ever made becoming a rep for Tifco. I had a steady inside sales position making around $60K to $70K annually when I interviewed. I was looking for the right opportunity to get back into outside sales. Met with the Territory Manager multiple times to discuss pay program and benefits I needed in order to quit my steady job and come to work for Tifco. I was very clear and up front about what my financial requirements were and actually turned down the first two offers. I accepted the third offer based on what the hiring manager told me I could expect and that all my requirements had been "approved by corporate." I signed off on the pay program and the rest of the paperwork and was officially a tifco employee. Next day, after it was final and I no longer had my other job, hiring manager sends me a message informing me that the pay program i signed off on had been changed, not for the better obviously. I knew it right then something wasnt right, but I was stuck and had to keep pushing. As I made it through the first month, working my butt off, nothing that I was promised ever came close to being reality. Im in month three, have been paid 1/4 of what I signed off on, have been lied to and manipulated by manager over and over. I have lost my house, cant afford daycare, cant pay child support, about to lose custody of my son, and have been absolutely ruined by the broken promises and lies this company tricked me with. The hiring manager prayed over every meal we had together during our three interviews and used that as a tactic to build trust. I am speaking with upper management this week to see if they will right the wrongs of their hiring manager that single handily ruined my life the last few months,

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Keep Looking! It's all lies!

    Aug 2, 2017 - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, you are your own boss, more you put in the more you get out obviously, good work/life balance, small automobile allowance. Trips for achieving goals. Great products, all U.S. made!

    Cons

    The whole thing is a sham! NOTHING of what you are shown or told in the initial interview as far as pay, training, manager support or customer base is true. They lie about everything from the "training" they give you to the way you are paid in your first 30-60 days! You are taxed on your car allowance which in and of itself, is pathetic and nowhere near the federal guidelines, it may be illegal to be taxed on because it's NOT salary! You are expected to pay for ALL of your marketing materials such as hand outs and catalogs (which is printed at corporate in Houston and not sent out to a printer to do!). There all kinds of hidden deductions on your sorry excuse of a paycheck, if you even get one in the first 30 days, such as a $10 "voice mail" charge for using their voice mail system to get your weekly communications through. Everything is accessible on an IPad, that's great except YOU have to own or purchase the IPad and told you will be reimbursed for it, which, you guessed it, you never are! They hire to fill positions in cities they have a hole and throw you out to the wolves with nothing except a "new recruit binder" and some video to watch that is of no help or value to you at all. The "training" consisted of a low level area manager who spent maybe a day and a half at the most with you before going back to work his own territory. I saw him twice no more for a day each and the last time to give him what was given to me as "demo and sales tools" after I quit. (I put in a notice and he retaliated immaturely and then "fired" me effective immediately). The promise of being told they will help you achieve your first 90 day goal is a blatant lie and the pay you are shown on paper is nothing of what and how it is explained! It's nothing but a draw against commission! If you don hit goals, you are either fired or forced out after 90 days or threatened after 60 to get it together with no help or support from anyone who promised you they would do anything and everything make sure you are successful! If you want to starve and lose everything in 3 months based on lies and promises your are told in your initial interview, then this is the job for you! This is not a good company to work for no matter how good they make it sound! It's all cold calling to people you will never get an order from because they first words you hear from them is "Who is Tifco??"

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Warehouse

    Jan 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Cypress, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime to work.

    Cons

    To much family favoritism. No room to move up. Unequal pay for females. Benefits are poor. Have work 2 years to get a week of sick sick time. The insurance has a 3,000 deductible. They say they are family oriented can't afford to put wife or kids on insurance. They truly operate in the good old boy system. Management out of touch with employees.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Inventory Maintenance Specialist

    Sep 15, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is nothing good that I can say about Tifco.

    Cons

    Tifco has the same products as the competition but the prices are 200% higher than the competition. They promise the world and deliver nothing. There are no benefits. There is no car allowance or cell phone allowance. To get the job they tell you that you have to buy an I-Pad and that they will reimburse you for it later but they never keep their promise.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Sales Represen tive

    Jul 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible selling style allows you to start the day as needed.

    Cons

    Let go after 5 weeks due to lack of sales. Nobody can succeed that fast.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    TIFCO Amway

    Jun 23, 2014 - Inventory Management in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Products made by other companies

    Cons

    Will do what ever it takes to get reps- lie sign bogus contracts, etc Then they let you sign up account after account then when they don't pay what they owe you they try to get you to sigh up other sales reps like an Amway set up.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Inventory Management Specialist

    Sep 28, 2018 - Inventory Specialist in Mobile, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None that I can name

    Cons

    Deceptive hiring practices. Misleading pay structure. False promises.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 51 - 60 of 61 Reviews

Popular Careers with TIFCO Industries Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at TIFCO Industries? Share Your Experiences

TIFCO Industries logo
or