KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

TIFCO Industries

Is this your company?

TIFCO Industries

Add a Review

TIFCO Industries Employee Reviews about "tifco"

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 64 reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
TIFCO Industries President & CEO Robert Brown (no image)
Robert Brown
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Third generation family owned business(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great training program with unlimited income potential(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I don't see many cons with Tifco(in 12 reviews)

  • "The company is a little bit "old school" but it's not a bad thing(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "tifco"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A Career To Grow In

      Jan 27, 2020 - Sales Manager in Fresno, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel challenged every day in what I do with Tifco. I have worked for multiple sales companies and many of them have the same company culture, they treat you as a number and not part of the family. I personally have spent time with Bob Brown the Owner and Chris his son on many occasions. Having ownership that is willing to drop what their doing to help me succeed is what I was looking for in growing in my career. When I started with Tifco I was told by my manager, "This is the hardest/easiest sales job you will ever have." I did not understand what he meant until six month into Tifco's program. What my manager explained to me is that we as sales reps need to work very hard to build up our own book of business, this will always come with obstacles on the way. Fighting through these is when the easiest part of the job becomes apparent. All great things take work to get there. Tifco is an amazing vehicle to help sales professionals accomplish their goals.

      Cons

      I don't see many cons with Tifco. What many would consider as cons; 1. Using your own car, (Travel allowance provided). 2. I have to make cold calls, (We provide in field training and advanced training). 3. I don't have paid vacation, (Reps can take vacation when ever they want and have a uncapped potential of income. Ownership provides a sales earned FREE VACATION EVERY YEAR).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      “INTEGRITY”

      Jan 25, 2020 - Area Manager/IMS in Des Moines, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’ve been with TIFCO for 8 years and in the industry for 29 years. I wish all 29 years Were with TIFCO!! When you’re with TIFCO you are a member of the family! They Will back you 100% in your day to day sales with support and tools to make you successful! Yes, you will have to use these tools and make the calls with your manager and by yourself but they provide the best training, corporate support and sales tools in the industry! Mr. Brown does not communicate with an email at 5pm on a Friday. He communicates with updates, success stories and even prayer requests by phone message to the entire sales field!! That is unbelievable to me and shows true integrity!!

      Cons

      You can’t make $10 per hour with TIFCO and stand behind a counter. If that’s what you want, this job is not for you.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      My worst job ever!!

      Jul 5, 2019 - Outside Sales Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High quality, but vastly over-priced products.

      Cons

      Pure commission. they give you no accounts, or even a territory, So any decent account within 100 miles of your home already belongs to another rep. Or more than likely, a manager. You see, they hire dozens of new sales people and then terminate them. At that point, the managers take the new accounts instead of doling some out to the new hires. If you have an existing book from a previous job, and some of those accounts sign up with Tifco, they will make you a manager and you can rip-off your own new hires. You even have to pay for your own catalogs and samples. Even logo pens and notepads. There is a culture of scum and absolutely no values!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Must Read if Considering Sales Position

      Sep 26, 2019 - Outside Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great support from the Corporate Staff. Quality products and timely shipping.

      Cons

      There was an incident involving my Manager and I that forced the parting of the ways with this company after only two months on the job. If that incident wouldn't have happened, I still would have left at month's end, given what I learned about Tifco and the Industrial Sales business. You need to read the following if you are considering a sales position with this company or their competitors. It's a commodity business--every company offers the same nuts, bolts, abrasives and other shop supplies, pretty much, and so while Tifco is going to tell you that its niche is in their sales reps providing excellent customer service, know that in reality, the buyers of these things could care less when it comes down to getting the best price. And, if they have established relationships with their current sales reps, they aren't going to give you a "piece at their business" because you are nice and knowledgeable and they want to see "how you can do" with a portion of their account. It's a hassle for them to keep up with two sales reps, that paperwork and tracking, and their current sales rep, knowing that servicing an existing account, properly, is far easier to do than finding a new one to replace it by giving shoddy service. I prospected, and heavily, the counties adjacent to I-45 from Madisonville and Crockett all the way up to Fort Worth, along Highway 287. Tifco mandates that you make 8 in-person sales calls a day, and you should since there is no other way to build a customer base. I knew from the first day aboard that 8 calls wouldn't do it because you really might only see 1-2 actual buyer(s), the whole key to eventually earning business. I averaged 12-15 calls per day, no big deal, and I actually enjoyed the getting out and all that goes with it. However, not one business of the over 360 sales calls I made said they'd ever heard of Tifco. That's a big handicap when starting out in sales in any industry. And, while I would salivate as I walked through all the maintenance shops that I'd call on, seeing that Tifco sold those same items that they were buying, all had either relationships that they were happy with or, and this is where the Industry is going to, year after year, they were just typing in the item they needed on their computers and ordering direct from the lowest-priced vendors for less than what Tifco could ever match, overall. Now, in prospecting those many businesses, I came to learn that there were no "protected" accounts, those that you called on, say, 3-4 times but had never been able to close. Tifco Corporate stated that it took at least five sales calls, in person, to a typical business before a sale could be made. SO, if you called on an account, say, 4 times, but another Tifco rep had decided to call on that business a week after your most recent sales call and that business just happened to finally be ready to buy from Tifco, THAT rep would get full credit for the sale while your time and hard work would have been for nothing. He who primes the pump should get first dibs at the water, I've always heard. That's Tifco's Policy, etched in stone: even if the account is assigned to you, it's open season for any Tifco rep to sell it if you haven't yet gotten a sale from that account, assigned or not. This led to confusion among some of the businesses I called on. This could have led to animosity toward another Tifco sales rep, eventually. And when my Manager intercepted an email sent to me regarding an assigned account of mine who was ready to buy, he immediately contacted another Tifco sales rep to go, ASAP, and sell that account. He then sent me an email telling me to disregard that sure sale although it was MY assigned account. And that's when I called him on the carpet for an explanation that he would never give. Tifco doesn't advertise or market and so those 8 sales calls a day you are required to make is a very cheap way for them to get their name out there seeing that Tifco will pay you $25/day for those 8 sales calls but won't pay you for any more than that. They call it a "gas allowance," but, really, it's just smart marketing on their part and if you happen to land a sale, then all the better for Tifco and somewhat better, for yourself, but the commission on an average order size of $400 isn't much and you need at least 50 accounts who could do this, each month, in order for you to just survive in the Industry. Meanwhile, there is Fastenal in most every industrial district you will call on, more of those, it seems, that 7-11 stores. There is Grainger and Kimball Midwest, most formidable and with a sales force that have established accounts and presence that Tifco just doesn't have. There is the Internet, of course, to bypass the sales rep and to get the lowest price and, yep, free shipping. Tifco can offer "free shipping" but it's simply a discount to their pricing and, of course, the rep eats part of that discount, as well. I loved the Industry and I believed I would do very well at it but the combination of a Manager having turned on me and the fact that most of the buyers are loathe to switch horses makes for a lot of digging in to one's bank account in order to keep going, mine not very deep and now, pretty much, depleted. Add to that that TIME is ALL a sales person has. And if you invest that TIME repeatedly calling on a group of customers in order to, maybe, earn the business from one, then know that if those customers you've invested all of that time (and your own money) in attempting to cultivate haven't yet bought from you, then they are still fair game to any Tifco sales rep. How would you like to dig an oil well to where there is almost pay dirt, only to have someone else stop by one day with a hammer and a stake, take two swings, and "discover" the very oil that you'd been drilling very deep for? And I think this is pretty much the same situation and compensation that you'll see with any other Tifco competitor, as well. I'll also add that the Sales Training at TIFCO involved a few days riding around with your Manager, calling on prospects, and then some material and a Sales Training Manual for you to peruse on your own time. You WILL have "freedom" at Tifco: you'll rarely hear from your Manager. In my case, even LESS so when I began to write and call him to let him know of my lack of progress. If this was Baseball and I was pitching and getting shelled, Tifco would have simply let me stay out there while wearing out my arm and my psyche. It's a brutal business, overall, and not a whole lot of money, really, as pricing will only get more cutthroat and then the free for all among sales reps for new business at most any industrial supply company you choose to work for. Do you recall when a vague thought crossed your mind for a fleeting second about maybe making a career out of being a Teacher? And then you said to yourself, "Naw, you can't make any money doing that." In retrospect, that wasn't such a bad thought.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company. Family Owned

      Oct 26, 2017 - Sales Representative in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule. Working with my kind of people. Extensive product line. American quality. Met lots of new friends. I enjoy being a problem solver for my customers. Technically advanced. Tifco has the best operating system I have ever encountered. So much information at your finger tips. Allows me to be the "go to" supplier for my customers. We sell products that I am proud to sell. As with any other commissioned sales position, you get out of it what you put into it. I have worked for other MRO suppliers and Tifco is by far the best one I have worked with. It means something to me when the owner of the company cares enough to know my name. Tifco is a great company and I can see myself staying until retirement.

      Cons

      As with any other sales position there are some stressful times followed by pure excitement. Cold calling can be challenging but is a necessary part of building a business. Tifco is experiencing some growing pains as with any other company increasing their market share. Working for a growing company gives the security of knowing they will be there tomorrow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I've been with Tifco for over 10 years and a member of Tifco's Million Dollar Club!

      Jul 9, 2014 - Outside Sales Representative in Pleasanton, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tifco is a Family Owned Business, started by the Robert Brown Family in 1961 and they continue to own and operate this ever growing business today. Tifco is a Leader in the MRO Supply Industry, providing Great American Made Products, when possible, to meet the needs and high standards of our customers. We have an outstanding inside support staff, and customer service staff, who supports the outside sales personnel, like myself. Sales personnel have No Territory Restrictions, so we can build our account base, through the many contacts we make on a daily basis.

      Cons

      I wish I had started with Tifco when I was younger! Tifco has many employees with 25-30, or more, years of service. The Reno Warehouse needs to be expanded to keep up with the ever growing demands of the West Coast Sales Volume.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Company to work for in the MRO Industry

      Dec 16, 2016 - Regional Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Freedom to be your own boss, unlimited income potential with protected accounts, the Brown Family cares about their employees, Annual Awards Banquet w/ Spouse, Company Trips, Bonuses, two year starting package for new employees.

      Cons

      Tifco is a sales organization. The harder you work the more you will earn. You have to study hydraulics and learn the complete line to be successful.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Outstanding Opportunity in MRO Consumables Sector

      Jan 10, 2017 - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Integrity and Character from the top down. Quality American Made Products. Tifco's high employee retention rate tells the Tifco story, there is simply no one left in this industry with the tenure levels as high as Tifco. The walls at Tifco headquarters are lined with the pictures of current and former employees based on how many years (or decades) they have been at Tifco. One woman in Tifco's shipping department has been with the company for over 50 years (not a misprint and no, she is not related to the family). 3rd generation family owned but not fragmented among dozens of family members like some other family owned businesses in this industry. Tifco's founder's only son has been running the company for 30+ years and the founders only grandson is working at the company and set to run the company eventually (he has been working at the company since he was in diapers). Unlike other companies in this industry there are no other siblings or legacy family members to deal with. There is zero nepotism because it's just the father and his son. Tifco is a lean organization with a very simple management/support structure for both their customers & sales force to support i.e. pricing is competitive. No greedy shareholders for customers or sales force to support either. Tifco was not content to just distribute manufacturers products, Tifco has developed multiple proprietary & patented products to solve problems for their long term customers so they are actually a manufacturer as well as a distributor. I've worked in the industry for decades and having unique items to sell is a first for me. They are debt free and are willing to make investments that the rest of their competitors are unable or unwilling to make. Private, so there is not that quarterly focus numbers...they make investments based on a generational ROI. Truly a family working environment. Spouses are welcome at events and existing employees are welcoming and friendly to new employees and their spouses. Tifco is thankfully "old school" in valuing the relationship based sales process & I've seen zero micro managing from their district sales managers, probably because any sales rep can pick up the phone and contact the owner at any time. There is minimal sales reporting once a salesrep is self sustaining in their territory and off their draw & training program. The owner is old school and methodical. He identifies top talent in the industry and will follow them for decades looking for an opportunity to hire top talent. Tifco doesn't spend a lot of resources on recruiting and churning through job applicants. If you are fortunate enough to get offered a job, take it, it should be your last job.

      Cons

      Owner is cautious when it comes to any change or new way of doing business. He tends to let his competitors "dive in" first, take notes, adjust, then implement on his own terms. Lack of turnover also results in some resistance to change by various long term employees. Some confirmation bias as a result of their tenure but most are very happy/loyal so change will happen if a strong case can be made/documented. Not enough attention paid to the branding of Tifco. This industry has consolidated and it's amazing how few in the industry understand what a powerhouse Tifco has become.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      This is the best company in the MRO Industry.. I have been with them 25 years and have interviewed many people.

      Jul 10, 2014 - Sales Agent- Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong payroll, Unlimited product line, and the ultimate in customer service. We have unlimited income potential and open territories. For those who don"t like the micro-managing they have now, this is the place to be.

      Cons

      There is nothing wrong with Tifco

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Oct 22, 2017 - Inventory Management Specialist in Columbia, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Shipping and Order Fulfillment is quick and accurate. Sales reps have flexibility on pricing. Full control over earning potential. Flexible schedule with no micro-managing.

      Cons

      Worst decision I ever made becoming a rep for Tifco. I had a steady inside sales position making around $60K to $70K annually when I interviewed. I was looking for the right opportunity to get back into outside sales. Met with the Territory Manager multiple times to discuss pay program and benefits I needed in order to quit my steady job and come to work for Tifco. I was very clear and up front about what my financial requirements were and actually turned down the first two offers. I accepted the third offer based on what the hiring manager told me I could expect and that all my requirements had been "approved by corporate." I signed off on the pay program and the rest of the paperwork and was officially a tifco employee. Next day, after it was final and I no longer had my other job, hiring manager sends me a message informing me that the pay program i signed off on had been changed, not for the better obviously. I knew it right then something wasnt right, but I was stuck and had to keep pushing. As I made it through the first month, working my butt off, nothing that I was promised ever came close to being reality. Im in month three, have been paid 1/4 of what I signed off on, have been lied to and manipulated by manager over and over. I have lost my house, cant afford daycare, cant pay child support, about to lose custody of my son, and have been absolutely ruined by the broken promises and lies this company tricked me with. The hiring manager prayed over every meal we had together during our three interviews and used that as a tactic to build trust. I am speaking with upper management this week to see if they will right the wrongs of their hiring manager that single handily ruined my life the last few months,

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TIFCO Industries Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TIFCO Industries? Share Your Experiences

    TIFCO Industries logo
    or