TJ Maxx Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
TJ Maxx President and CEO Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
99 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are also a lot of unrealistic goals set by the company with then enforcement of the credit card system(in 277 reviews)

  • "Over hiring of part time employees which led to a typical schedule of 4-8 hours a week(in 134 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Part-time"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sale Associate in Exton, PA

    I worked at TJ Maxx part-time

    Pros

    Good working environment and the bosses were nice

    Cons

    I did not feel like there were cons

    TJ Maxx2020-05-22
  2. "I enjoy working here as a college student."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TJ Maxx part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many opportunities and great managers. The atmosphere is so good.

    Cons

    quick training, which could have came from being holiday help.

    TJ Maxx2020-05-21
  3. "Overall good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at TJ Maxx full-time

    Pros

    Good starting job and salary

    Cons

    Boring job, pay isnt great

    TJ Maxx2020-05-20
  4. "I love working here!!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Store Associate in Manahawkin, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TJ Maxx part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers and managers are friendly

    Cons

    Starting pay is very low

    TJ Maxx2020-05-20
  5. "its ok"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

    I have been working at TJ Maxx part-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, perfect for students of any level and you don't need to wear a boring uniform

    Cons

    lots of restrictions and your whole experience is fully dependent on the type of managers you're going to get

    Continue reading
    TJ Maxx2020-05-15
  6. "Hard Average"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Viera, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TJ Maxx part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice coworkers, good part time job, weekly pay

    Cons

    hard to get hours, lots of managers to please, hard to get promotions or raises, management gets bonuses for all the employees hard work

    TJ Maxx2020-05-24
  7. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 

    I worked at TJ Maxx part-time

    Pros

    Great place, good people, loved the discounts

    Cons

    Not room for upward mobility

    TJ Maxx2020-05-07
  8. "Fun"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TJ Maxx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and fun to work at

    Cons

    Low pay, high volume of work

    TJ Maxx2020-05-06
  9. "Good place to gain retail experience"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Merchandise Associate in Bakersfield, CA

    I worked at TJ Maxx part-time

    Pros

    - Work was easy - Various breaks - Not difficult

    Cons

    - Lots of standing on your feet - Customers sometimes (but that's a given)

    TJ Maxx2020-05-06
  10. "Not much managing. More doing"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at TJ Maxx full-time

    Pros

    Growing, stable company Job certainty Simple business model: no coupons, sales, etc Closed Thanksgiving

    Cons

    Impossible to maintain standards. Incoming shipments inconsistent. 4 pallets one day, 12 the next

    TJ Maxx2020-05-20
Found 3222 reviews