KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos
Engaged Employer

TJ Maxx

Add a Review

TJ Maxx Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 6,708 of over 6,841 reviews

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
TJ Maxx President and CEO Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
1,111 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flexible hours and you’re able to be rehired if you didn’t leave on bad terms.(in 404 reviews)
  • "Most people are nice and really helpful.(in 339 reviews)
  • "Coworkers are great and helpful(in 318 reviews)
  • "Flexible schedule and 10% discount(in 232 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and if u can make it 5 or 10 years(in 158 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay (It had gone up from $9 to $11 an hour for associates(in 536 reviews)
  • "poor management ( they literally just sit in the office and gossip about everyone even other managers )(in 471 reviews)
  • "If you are not a favorite among the managers do not plan on getting very many hours.(in 274 reviews)
  • "too many people telling you to do the same thing differently no training system or standard(in 75 reviews)
  • "Also the pay is extremely low, even supervisors only make barely above minimum wage.(in 68 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of TJ Maxx and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    What a Wonderful Place

    Nov 8, 2021 - Fitting Room Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I applied for this position for the holidays to help me "Find My Christmas". With the pandemic, I struggled during the holidays last year in getting into the spirit of the holidays. I had lost my Christmas spirit...it made me sad. This year, I decided to apply to my favorite stores for weekend work to help get my Holiday Cheer back. Marshall's reached out right away when I sent in my application online. What a Fantastic Team they have at Pensacola Marshall's!! These wonderful, kindhearted people enjoy each other and what they do. They just make me smile! The store is decked out for Christmas and the sales are so great that the shoppers are happy to be there and visit with the staff as they shop. This team cares about each other and the guests that visit the store. I am proud to be a part of what they offer. There's ALOT of Christmas Magic happening in this store. Found my Christmas! Thank you Marshall's Pensacola, I'll see you at work this weekend.

    Cons

    I haven't found anything negative about this position at all.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Easy job, Okay pay

    May 12, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its a very easy job with a nice work environment. They are crazy about credit cards but not too extreme

    Cons

    Low pay. In PA they just moved the starting hourly up to $12 an hour, but coordinators don't make much more than that. A promotion to coordinator is only a $1 raise.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Oct 2, 2022 - Sales Associate in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Super friendly work environment with lots of on the job training and help from managers and supervisors.

    Cons

    Sometimes, higher ups abuse their power and don't do work which leaves it all on associates.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It's Okay

    Oct 1, 2022 - Retail Sales Associate/Cashier in Sumter, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Food and Snacks on occasion, great work to life balance, easy to learn, meet new people, employee discount.

    Cons

    Can be boring, you probably wont be scheduled enough hours if you're someone who is trying to support themselves. This job is more for high-school students and retired people, everyone gets their days off so don't wait till the last minute to request yours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Pay

    Sep 29, 2022 - Customer Experience Coordinator in Honolulu, HI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good managers Friendly Flexible Welcoming Supportive

    Cons

    None None None None None

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Sep 30, 2022 - Great Place to Work 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work strong community

    Cons

    No bad things. Great time!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great part-time job

    Sep 30, 2022 - Cashier 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The discount is great. They allow time off.

    Cons

    Alot of work and sometimes rude customers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Over worked

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clothing store, who doesn’t love

    Cons

    Not appreciated, over worked stressed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Credit cards

    Sep 30, 2022 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Port Washington, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stocking was fun and the environment was pleasant

    Cons

    The credit cards is what made me leave

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Pretty good work environment

    Sep 28, 2022 - Seasonal Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Diverse team and everyone was willing to help each other

    Cons

    Not enough hours and understaffed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 6,708 Reviews

TJ Maxx Reviews FAQs

TJ Maxx has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 6,841 reviews left anonymously by employees. 61% of employees would recommend working at TJ Maxx to a friend and 47% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, TJ Maxx employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at TJ Maxx. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

61% of TJ Maxx employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated TJ Maxx 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.2 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at TJ Maxx to be benefits, work life balance, coworkers and the cons to be culture, career development, management.

Popular Careers with TJ Maxx Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews