TJ Maxx Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
TJ Maxx President and CEO Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
411 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, Variety of work and they feed us(in 232 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, great group of people to work with(in 214 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Have to push for credit card sign ups(in 353 reviews)

  • "Only part time hours are available(in 147 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of TJ Maxx and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Company cares

      May 12, 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule for students Friendly coworkers

      Cons

      Low pay for amount of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good part-time job

      Apr 29, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Pearl City, HI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were flexible with my scheduling and understanding that my school work came first. I met some pretty amazing people and they made me feel very welcoming. Very diverse and accepting company to work for, they even had "dress up" days where different days had a theme like disney, star wars, superheros etc. that made for a fun and comfortable work environment

      Cons

      None dealing with management! You just have to put on a smile and deal with rude customers sometimes, but that's life.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      if Desperate you can work here better for teens not adult

      Apr 24, 2021 - Merchandise Associate in Conyers, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      10% percent discount and at times 20% on certain times, if you want something you can set it aside.

      Cons

      Short staffed so management can be rude, coordinators don't get paid enough, associates don't get paid enough for cross training at $9.00 per hour, due to covid they have to take employees termperature and questionnaire before coming into work Managers can take time coming to check you in and end up being late while managers often come late if you are late 3 times you have to sign paperwork and get counseling, (late meaning if you scheduled at 7:00 and clock in at 7:01a.m you're late. You have to wait for a manager to check your temperature and to clock in is at the back of the store no grace period, often times if you are trained to get on the register they will always call you to assist but get upset if you don't finish what you're doing, dress code is plain clothes no graphic tees, no text on shirts, and no name branding that has its name on the shirt even if you buy it from the store

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 12, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Pocatello, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly management, good people to work with. Safe environment.

      Cons

      Lot of physical work, and customers can be difficult, but overall, so many good things

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      door shift is exhausting

      Jan 15, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Glendale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      food in break room sometimes and extremely flexible in schedule, good managers for the most part

      Cons

      i have just recently started doing door and its very exhausting, all you do is stand there welcome people in and count people in due to covid. its ok and sometimes even nice but after the 3rd or 4th hour i feel like im going crazy just starring outside, yes we do get breaks but sometimes they forget and doing it for your entire shift up to nine hours is a huge part of me quitting. i genuinely did love my job before this but i now all i do is door but one day out of my work week and it just takes a much bigger toll on my mental health standing for so long doing nothing for hours at a time, i talked to my manager asking to switch out with other coworkers halfway or even every other day but nothing has happened . i understand i signed up for this job but if i knew it would turn into this i never would have taken it. im going to miss my coworkers so much but i dread work now and it feels so unnatural. i really hope tjmaxx does something about this because i know im not the only one leaving because of this also (the location isn't accurate i just am to nervous to put mine)

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      TJ MAXX

      May 12, 2021 - Human Resources in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Hours, Diversity, Cultures, Conduct

      Cons

      No Growth, Pay rate, No recognitions, Doesnt like to adapt to changes,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Tj maxx

      May 12, 2021 - Teaching Assistant in New Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get a discounr and yea

      Cons

      There is alot of work to be done

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nice job while in highschool

      May 12, 2021 - Retail Sales Associate in Wylie, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexiable hours while being in school

      Cons

      The most discusting break room

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      GREAT PERKS

      May 12, 2021 - Customer Service Associate in Estero, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      discount, pretty flexible hours, good people

      Cons

      Constantly pushing you to sell credit cards

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to get started

      May 10, 2021 - Sales Associate in San Carlos, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kind coworkers who help you learn the job and forgive simple mistakes.

      Cons

      Multiple bosses at TJ Maxx San Carlos were fired for pedophilia/unacceptable sexual misconduct.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,446 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TJ Maxx Job Seekers

    Merchandise Associate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Experience Coordinator
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Experience Coordinator (CEC)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at TJ Maxx? Share Your Experiences

    or