TJX Companies Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

TJX Companies Cashier Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
55%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
TJX Companies CEO and President  Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
9 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Owensboro, KY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Overall positive feeling at work It is fun to work with young people

    Cons

    short staff sometime when people call out, it can be overwhelming

    TJX Companies2019-01-24
  2. "A new experience everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Oxnard, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tjx company has a variety of jobs to choose from

    Cons

    Not a con but you have to be multitasked

    TJX Companies2020-02-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in East Birmingham, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paycheck every friday. Occasional 20% discount. Dress code was very casual

    Cons

    None of the managers are on the same page about anything and associates stay confused because one manager says one thing while another manager says something totally different. They are very ruthless. They take their stresses of their job out on employees. They like to make up their own rules. Only certain people can get away with doing certain things. They push and push and push for you to get credit card applications and act like it's your fault when there isn't any. It's understandable that it's a goal but it's unrealistic because not everyone wants a credit card, especially though a bank that has horrible consumer ratings, high APRs, and you only save 10% on your first purchase and that is only when you are approved. Many other retail stores credit cards offer much greater benefits. If you are not available to work nights and weekends, they will schedule you to work anyway and tell you it's not their problem while people without kids and families get day shifts and good hours while those with families only get 2-3 days a week, lucky to get 20 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-03-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "There are better places to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Coral Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TJX Companies part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a job & a paycheck if you can't find anything else. Sometimes you have a great customer who makes up for a rude manager. There are lots of stores to work at - TJ Maxx, Marshalls, HomeGoods.

    Cons

    They expect that you'll be a bad employee and treat you like one from the beginning. They don't care about you, even if you work hard and do your job, they only care about profit. Their bathroom and employee lounge is filthy dirty. They expect you to know things they never told you about.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-02-24
  5. "Okay for a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Glen Mills, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    they start at 9 which is more than most places around me

    Cons

    management is all over the place, they seem to all say different things about the same procedures, so you can never do anything right

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2018-08-18
  6. "A good job to start off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Muncie, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TJX Companies part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I got this job in my senior year of high school. My schedule is pretty flexible, and I sometimes have the chance to pick up additional hours. The work environment is good among associates.

    Cons

    My schedule is never the same week to week. There are some local management problems, but our district manager is great and very approachable.

    TJX Companies2018-07-09
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Cashier in Streamwood, IL

    I worked at TJX Companies for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule, Holidays off, and employee discounts.

    Cons

    Pay is too low and can be physically demanding.

    TJX Companies2018-05-23
  8. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hillsborough, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, easy job, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Not enough hours given,

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2018-03-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible do NOT work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent break times Okay, environment Workers individually are nice people but all together not that great. Other than that... yup

    Cons

    They are constantly talking about their store credit card, and tell their cashiers to practically shove it down the customers throat. And it must be pitched no matter how SMALL the purchase. It's ridiculous barely got 20hrs a week and I think they fail to know and understand their employees, because no one can live off of that little pay and pay bills. I get it "good customer service" but the amount they expect us to do an care is not fair for such the low pay. It's a good job for those who want little extra pocket change but that's it. In today's world you need a better paying job that will keep you fed and pay the bills. And that whole transparency, I didn't feel like I could talk openly to some management. There was also so much passive aggressiveness there you could cut the tension with a knife. With the constant different times every week it's hard to have stability in your life if that is what someone needs; you're not going to get it there. The discount (nice that they give it) but it's a joke.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2018-03-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Cash Office in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great environment, lots of rewards, hours to be accumulated during the holiday time, laid back environment

    Cons

    Its hard to get a raise, and even when you do multiple jobs in the store and do coordinator jobs (even though you are not one) you don't get rewarded/

    TJX Companies2018-01-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 91 reviews