TJX Companies Merchandise Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

TJX Companies Merchandise Assistant Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
TJX Companies CEO and President  Ernie Herrman
Ernie Herrman
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (19)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing environment, fun team!

    Cons

    There aren’t any, wonderful work environment

    TJX Companies2018-08-15
  2. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Framingham, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at TJX Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, lots of company perks, discount, cheap health insurance, summer fridays,

    Cons

    The buyers can be really condescending

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-09-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandise Assistant, Los Angeles - looks great on a resume, but probably not worth your time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are good. The company culture is fun. Managers are never around so you can do whatever you want.

    Cons

    -They do not give recommendations if you leave the company. You may be able to get 1 or 2 people to, but technically they are not allowed to. -Turnover is so high at the CBO. People are coming in and out. Everyone takes a leave of absence to find a new job. -The managers are not supportive or helpful. They sit in meetings all day long and are MIA when you need them. -The pay is not worth it. You are basically an Assistant Buyer without the pay or recognition. -They do not promote people that deserve it. You can be there for 5 years, know everything, and have amazing relationships and they will still not promote you. -All of the merchandise assistants are miserable and none of management cares.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-09-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Not everyone's experience, but I cried in my car or the bathroom everyday for 1.6 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Framingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    you have a job and therefore are making income. at said job you are able to sit in a chair...they had an ice cream truck come around in the summer....there are lots of bathrooms...ya that its

    Cons

    1. Buyers were incredibly rude, racist, and male buyers were extremely sexist. Also did I enjoy hearing a bunch people talk about how they were gonna vote for trump and that he just needs "a better way of expressing his views" NOT REALLY but that was probably the BEST thing that happened to me there. I would consistently be asked to do things not in my job title, but also got punished for doing said things. I had buyers pretend I actually was invisible...like im not kidding it was like middle school. Im not a weak person but man I cried in the bathroom, at my car during lunch, on the way to work, on the way home from work, and on sunday nights cause i know i had to go back monday morning. My managers did not help me or coach me properly nor did they stand up for me professional when buyers were being UNPROFESSIONAL twoards me. Also thanks for letting a supplier basically become obsessed with me and call me a million times....this supplier also asked me to show them photos of what I looked like because they just "wanted to know who the person on the other side of the phone was and looked like..." that was fun ( it was not fun it was hell). honestly I cant write out all the bad, unprofessional, and hostile thigs that happened to me because Im not JK rowling...I cant write a 7 book series about my long challenging fight for freedom but voldemort and the death eaters of TJX...literally my life was Merchandising Assisant and the Dealthy Buyers. I think they actually split their souls into horcruxes that they put into the supplier samples. Idk It was just a BAD hostile envoirment for me, but it was not that way for everyone. I saw people there who also hated it but I saw people who loved it. Im 100% willing to believe I got a bad batch of Buyers and a not so great category...but also nothing really excuses their actions twoards me it was just nasty and I felt like I was on my own. HR, my managers, other co works couldnt or wouldnt do anything to help. I ended up needing therapy and am writing this review almost 2 years after I have left tjx...because its 11:16pm and im having nightmarish flashbacks and cant stop thinking about the horrible things that happened. I am actually being HAUNTED almost 2 years after leaving TJX...cool...great. If u want to work here thats up to you. I hope it works out. Its not a bad company It just has bad people that i had the unfortunate pleasure of working with for a year a 6 months. Do I suggest it to people, no i dont. Do I think you could work there and have a good experience, sure. Am I still haunted by my time there 100% but such is life. I still remember all my buyers names...I sometimes will spot 1 or 2 of them when im in the mall minding my own buisness and I just walk out because even seeing their faces makes me feel sad. wow thats depressing but its true. Maybe someday ill be over it...but also do people get over being treated like your dumb for being a woman or being treated less than for being black? not sure ill let u know in another 2 years. so...ya...goodluck, you may need it.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-08-27
  5. "entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits, accommodations, supervisors, desk space, vacation

    Cons

    low pay, hard to be promoted

    TJX Companies2019-03-12
  6. Helpful (5)

    "A lot of work for a little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good vacation, cheap health insurance, strong company to be under

    Cons

    Gossip central, low morale, high workload, low pay, takes forever for promotion, always replacing people in this position

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2019-02-12
  7. "Merchandise assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance Flexible hours Great co-workers Development opportunities

    Cons

    Unless you live in downtown, prepare for traffic

    TJX Companies2018-06-19
  8. "Not a positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Merchandise Assistant in Framingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies for less than a year

    Pros

    -good cafeteria food -coffee -friendly security staff -a few nice people I met -lots of parking That’s pretty much it

    Cons

    I have nothing positive to say of my time as a merchandise assistant at TJX for Sierra Trading Post. Was a temp hire and started with 2 other people. Job shadowed for about a week until we got desks seated away from the rest of the staff where we rarely had work given to us. Our supervisor rarely checked in on us and when asking for things to do were often told there wasn’t much to do as it was slow or they just said no. Some days I left work without having done a single thing that day. It was shocking. Not to mention a few of the employees often complained about the job and how unorganized it is. Ultimately I got let go for all the above reasons I mentioned without any notice. They made it out like I didn’t offer to help when almost every time I asked I was denied. Not to mention the staff wasn’t too friendly or welcoming as if they didn’t want us there. Needless to say, I hated it and am happy to not be working there anymore.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2017-12-09
  9. "Merchandising Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandising Assistant in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TJX Companies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The fellow team member of assistants and buyers was the best I ever worked for. The management that you deal with directly daily really cares about their employees and were a total wonder to work under. Overall I loved my job here but had to move on for better opportunities

    Cons

    While the team I worked with were wonderful and good at their jobs I think that TJX at its highest levels is trying to push too many changes. There were random changes in what was expected of us as other positions were folded into the MA role. This counted for double the workload with no raises. Around the holidays expect mandatory overtime.

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2017-10-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandise Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Merchandise Assistant in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TJX Companies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really do believe in flexible hours

    Cons

    The gossip mill is alive and well

    Continue reading
    TJX Companies2017-04-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 37 reviews