TMP Worldwide UK Reviews | Glassdoor

TMP Worldwide UK Reviews

Updated August 28, 2018
108 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TMP Worldwide UK CEO Andrew Wilkinson
Andrew Wilkinson
56 Ratings

108 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Great work life balance for me personally and my managers always help with any situation i may have" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Some really great people to work with" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "They have no formal reward policy so don't expect regular pay reviews or bonus" (in 5 reviews)

  • "Salary and benefits are a bit on the low side compared to other organisations" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Interesting company. Early 2000's company grew by acquiring 400+ companies that remained an amalgam and not a truly integrated company. Management commented to integrate and continual improvement.

    Cons

    With a history to acquisition, the foot print is all over the US, and locations around the world. Distributed company has many cultures as well as a lot of localized skills that are applicable to local demands. Integration has been challenging however improving.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to integrate all the company activities. There was a growing pains primarily through the 400+ companies the parent company acquired. Happy employees will propel the company in to a successful one.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor. This page is for TMP in the UK - TMP in the US is not the same organisation as us and is run by different management.


  2. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Bristol, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Bristol, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible working hours
    Holiday entitment
    Often chances to win day trips/expieriences
    Social atmosphere

    Cons

    Would not trust any member of management
    Training is inadequit
    Minimal benefits
    Hot desking
    Not allowed to personalise own working space.

    Advice to Management

    Allow people to dress up their desks a little. This was allowed, until a client walked arround and then things would have to be removed, binned or hidden because you were overly possessive over the appearance of the office. I understand having coats etc on the racks and not having clutter around desks, but its nice to personalise a desk which is something that was activley discouraged.

  3. "Brilliant Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    - Fantastic supportive & collaborative culture
    - Brilliant people!
    - Lots more opportunities on the way especially as we are now part of Peoplescout
    - Great location
    - You are always learning new skills

    Cons

    - Salaries are below average for the industry and there are no salary reviews or bonuses

    Advice to Management

    - Maybe consider annual salary reviews or maybe a performance related bonus scheme

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you are enjoying your time with TMP. We do value your feedback and have passed this on to our Senior Management Team.


  4. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of variety of work and opportunities to progress if you are ambitious
    Great client list to work with
    Interesting projects
    Fun People

    Cons

    Lack of flexible working
    Low salaries and lack of bonuses
    Less competitive benefits

    Advice to Management

    Create a reward/bonus scheme to recognize high performance and incentivise best behaviours

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you are enjoying your time with TMP. We do value your feedback and have passed this on to our Senior Management Team.


  5. "Smart, supportive people and fulfilling work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Lots of ways to create solutions
    Managers pitch in to support
    People care about doing great work
    People get on well together, no politics
    Part of a global business

    Cons

    There's not anything big enough to bother me

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you are enjoying your time with TMP


  6. "Work hard, play hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, varied work, huge amounts of ownership, great experience

    Cons

    high pressurised, some challenges around resource, not the best with remuneration or reward

    Advice to Management

    doing a good job

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we are really pleased that you are enjoying your time with TMP.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Place to Further Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - TMP Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Former Employee - TMP Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This job will just about cover living expenses in Bristol

    Cons

    I enjoyed TMP when I started working there, it had a nice culture of everyone getting stuck-in to a single goal of recruiting great people for clients.
    However, after time passes in your role it will become apparent why this all hands to the pump approach is adopted; because half the team has left during the project.
    TMP cannot hold on to good recruiters, there are many reasons for this which would be unprofessional to go in to detail over on a public forum, the main issue is that this company's past and success has been founded in branding, marketing and not recruitment.
    If you are looking for a career in marketing, this might not be the worst starting out job, you will get some exposure to some client work and the chance to add to your portfolio, however, you will also be roped into some recruitment work because another batch of recruiters have left the company.

    Advice to Management

    Have some experienced recruiters lead the recruitment side of the business.
    Learn from past mistakes.
    "Good people are your Canaries" When good people leave it puts a huge strain on the rest of the team just to cover the basics of their work, overall quality decreases and the people left are stressed. When good people do leave, consider it a warning that something may be wrong with the environment and not them.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 8, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your honest feedback. We often ask members of our candidate generation team for feedback on their experiences while at the company and I am disappointed we didn’t have the opportunity... More

  8. "Good for the first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice offices. Friendly environment. High profile clients

    Cons

    Tech stack is outdated . Waterfall process. Not very high salaries

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for leaving us a positive review we're plesaed to hear that yor time with TMP was positive.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great set of work colleagues and interesting clients. The business is happy to listen to your ideas and will allow you to shape your role to suit your strengths. No official flexible working, but managers will grant it in most situations.

    Cons

    No voluntary pay reviews are in place. Also there is more of a focus on the bottom line than investing in up-to-date hardware and software.

    Advice to Management

    Review pay, increase it each year.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleaseed that your experience of working at TMP was positive. We value your feedback and have passed this on to our Senior Management Team.


  10. "TMP Worldwide UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very collaborative, innovative space.
    The people are great and really make the work worthwhile.
    Everyone genuinely wants the company to succeed.

    Cons

    Progression can be limited for some.
    Moral can get low and not much is done about it.
    I see that people don't get much recognition for their good work too.

    Advice to Management

    Let everyone know when people have done good work. We used to have a recognition scheme but that seems to have gone away. It's amazing what a "pat on the back" can do to boost moral and confidence in a person.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Aug 7, 2018 – HR Officer

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you are enjoying your time with TMP. We are sorry to hear that you have not had a positive experience with regards to employee recognition, and we... More


Showing 108 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters