TMP Worldwide UK Reviews | Glassdoor

TMP Worldwide UK Reviews

Updated May 19, 2018
102 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TMP Worldwide UK CEO Andrew Wilkinson
Andrew Wilkinson
52 Ratings

102 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great work life balance for me personally and my managers always help with any situation i may have (in 6 reviews)

  • Some really great people to work with (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • A lot has been said about lack of pay reviews, hiring freezes and low morale, these are all accurate (in 5 reviews)

  • work life balance not great at all (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Senior Managment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Team Leader in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Interesting company. Early 2000's company grew by acquiring 400+ companies that remained an amalgam and not a truly integrated company. Management commented to integrate and continual improvement.

    Cons

    With a history to acquisition, the foot print is all over the US, and locations around the world. Distributed company has many cultures as well as a lot of localized skills that are applicable to local demands. Integration has been challenging however improving.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to integrate all the company activities. There was a growing pains primarily through the 400+ companies the parent company acquired. Happy employees will propel the company in to a successful one.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for leaving a review on Glassdoor. This page is for TMP in the UK - TMP in the US is not the same organisation as us and is run by different management.


  2. "Good for the first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice offices. Friendly environment. High profile clients

    Cons

    Tech stack is outdated . Waterfall process. Not very high salaries

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for leaving us a positive review we're plesaed to hear that yor time with TMP was positive.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great set of work colleagues and interesting clients. The business is happy to listen to your ideas and will allow you to shape your role to suit your strengths. No official flexible working, but managers will grant it in most situations.

    Cons

    No voluntary pay reviews are in place. Also there is more of a focus on the bottom line than investing in up-to-date hardware and software.

    Advice to Management

    Review pay, increase it each year.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive comments, we are pleaseed that your experience of working at TMP was positive. We value your feedback and have passed this on to our Senior Management Team.


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Better than rec agency but run by accountants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Manager in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Business Operations Manager in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good office space with views of Bristol, Free Tea & Coffee and snacks once a week,
    Relaxed, fun environment
    Some very good people to work with
    Great client list

    Cons

    Low salaries with no pay rise unless promoted
    Benefits reduced without upside
    Overtime not paid to everyone even when it's required to complete work
    Staff are treated like children by some management

    Advice to Management

    Focusing on cutting costs isn't helping the business grow
    Pay bonus or provide incentives to staff at all level to encourage performance

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we’re sorry to hear that your time at TMP wasn’t always positive. As a business we believe in the importance of operating in a fair and reasonable way and given your... More


  5. "TMP Worldwide UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very collaborative, innovative space.
    The people are great and really make the work worthwhile.
    Everyone genuinely wants the company to succeed.

    Cons

    Progression can be limited for some.
    Moral can get low and not much is done about it.
    I see that people don't get much recognition for their good work too.

    Advice to Management

    Let everyone know when people have done good work. We used to have a recognition scheme but that seems to have gone away. It's amazing what a "pat on the back" can do to boost moral and confidence in a person.


  6. "Ambitious People Will Thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Partner in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Client Partner in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Incredibly talented and smart colleagues
    A family feel
    When issues arise outside of work, they give you the time and the space to deal with that
    Wide range of clients and projects
    Collaborative working environment

    Cons

    Often change of focus on strategic priorities (resourcing, then tech, then assessment) means lots of initiatives start and then aren't seen through
    A dented morale owing to some great colleagues leaving
    The demise of the entry level talent standalone team
    Lack of awards for great creative
    A strained and under resourced project management function
    Some frustrated senior managers who can dampen the mood

    Advice to Management

    Pick two or three service lines and do them incredibly. If you can re-establish yourselves as heroes of Video's, EVP's and (Pick one other) it's better than trying to sustain the resourcing business or the social practice.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Purely a stepping stone job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resource Coordinator in Bristol, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Resource Coordinator in Bristol, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy - never thought of the job once i left the building
    Transferable skills - never worked in an office before - once i stayed there for 6 months i left.

    Cons

    No progression in the company - they will 'second' you to different departments and expect you to take the workload of that whilst paying you the same.
    Managers will treat everyone different, not a one size fits all HR policy - if your manager likes you you can get away with anything.
    Constant turnover - if it wasn't upper management leaving, it was every possible department, when i was there there was 2-3 emails a week of people leaving the company. luckily there wasn't enough work to go around any way so most people who stayed were there as 'lifers'

    Advice to Management

    Funny for a recruitment company that aims to provide consulting services in aims of retaining companies employees struggles to do just this.
    I was hired with 15 people, 6 months later 3 were there, that screams out a problem that they didn't seem to care about solving.
    Nowadays it seems they hire grads from UWE - only because they know they will stay a year and they can pay them less - if you are a grad steer clear. you will not learn anything valuable from this failing company.

    My advice to management would be just to shut up shop. The end of year results presentation delivered by Andrew Wilkinson was a laughable affair as it was a presentation dripping in red numbers and missing targets, however it was claimed as 'progress'

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that your time at TMP wasn’t a positive one. As a business we believe in the importance of operating in a fair and reasonable way and given your... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice people, poor benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Great team, interesting work - good office atmosphere

    Cons

    Poor benefits e.g. holiday, pension

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    May 22, 2018 – HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with TMP.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Never Deliver Client Results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Business Development in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TMP Worldwide UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some good worker bees, but they don't stay long due to lack of job satisfaction. I left because they were scraping the barrel to get people in sadly.

    Cons

    Each client I worked with for TMP we never delivered any return on their investment, it was embarrassing, so we moved around a lot!
    When we questioned the lack of return from the programmes we delivered they just said don't worry that's how we work and they have paid already!!

    Advice to Management

    Instead of being a Jack of all trades, look at some services you think you can deliver that will actually deliver return for each clients investment.
    Then you may start to keep some clients.

    TMP Worldwide UK Response

    Mar 23, 2018 – CEO

    I always welcome feedback but this review does not seem to fit our business nor reflect the role of Business Development which we have not employed anyone in for a couple of years. We constantly... More


  10. "On balance a good company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TMP Worldwide UK full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good opportunities to learn new skills, management are honest, much better than harder recruitment companies (no cold calls etc), most work contracted hours so work life balance is good

    Cons

    You need to make things happen for yourself so opportunities only come to proactive people, managers have lots of reports, financial reward is not the best

    Advice to Management

    Many people are cogs in a big machine, how do employees know they are making a valid contribution.


Showing 102 of 106 reviews
Reset Filters